We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best 4 day stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   801 Truxtun Ave., Bakersfield, CA 93301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #14 of 57 hotels in Bakersfield
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best 4 day stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This hotel was so convenient to my function next door.
Nice pool, great restaurant, try the pizza...
Would definitely look forward to staying here again next year
There was an issue at hotel, some guest got loud and dumb, and the hotel staff quickly and tactfully removed them from the area...
Overall really nice, hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott_BFL, General Manager at Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your visit and for your wonderful comments. We strive to exceed our guests’ expectations so I am happy to learn our mission was accomplished. we strive for our guests to have a comfortable and peaceful nights rest and for this reason we do have a noise policy in place for the hotel. You can rest assured that I will personally follow up with our security team to ensure they are following through with our procedures. I will be sure to share your nice comments with our team. we look forward to your next visit to Bakersfield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    70
    31
    14
    13
See reviews for
31
34
10
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clovis, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I have been staying at this Marriott for years and found the service to be very friendly, the rooms are clean, and the the food is excellent. I love having a quality full service restaurant in the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side of the property are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I love this hotel, every time I'm in town I stay here. The rooms are always clean, nice tile in the entry way and nice big flat screen tv, Staff is always polite and professional. Restaurant is good Bar is great and it's not that far from the freeway.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset, Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Location was very convenient to the downtown area. Not far from shopping and nearby dinning.

Right next to convention center. Ample free parking.

King room fairly good size. Rooms clean, plenty of towels.

Small but nice pool area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My third stay at this property in 12 months, and I can call it 'consistent', and a really good thing !! The front desk staff, the lounge/bar area staff and the concierge lounge attendants were all familiar faces. This bodes extremely well for management, and the property exudes a warm friendly atmosphere despite being called a convention center property. Full service at its best, this property must be on your list if staying in Bakersfield. The rooms are clean, but showing a little wear, not noticeable to the casual observer - beds are comfortable, a good night sleeps awaits you.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This Marriott has a lot to offer, and is a great choice for business travelers in Bakersfield. The lobbies and hallways have obviously been renovated since this hotel opened, since they have the new look of the Marriott hotels. The rooms were good sized, and have free wi-fi for all guests (higher speed is available for additional costs). The bed was very comfortable, with the good Marriott linens. The bathroom was a bit small, but not bad for a single traveler. The one downside was that there was quite a bit of noise that came into the room from the hallway, and I could hear conversation and other noise quiet clearly through the connection door to the room beside mine.

The conceirge lounge had good hot and cold options for breakfast, including eggs, bacon, fresh fruit and various muffins and rolls. The evenings had a nice selection of appetizers, and some very tasty desserts later in the night. I also had a great turkey club sandwich from room service one night. It had nice slices of turkey and bacon on fresh toasted sourdough bread, and it left me so full even though I took one of the three pieces of bread out of each piece of sandwich.

While the hotel was supposedly pretty much sold out for 3 of the nights I was there, it never felt like the hotel was overrun. The last day, there was a church group meeting in the Convention Center next door, and the lobby was packed with visitors attending that meeting, but that was the exception.

Room Tip: As some other reviews have noted, there is a rail line adjacent to the parking lot on the south side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

For business, this is your best choice in Bakersfield. The hotel is centrally located in the downtown area and provides easy access to all ends of the city. The rooms were clean and well-appointed and the front desk staff were friendly and helpful as always. The bar provides a lovely area for lounging and libations and the bar staff is professional and conversational. I requested an item that is not on the menu and the restaurant staff made it happen. Great customer service all around. I won't stay anywhere else on my Bakersfield business trips.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center

Address: 801 Truxtun Ave., Bakersfield, CA 93301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center is located in the heart of beautiful downtown Bakersfield. Unique amongst hotels in Bakersfield, we are a full-service Bakersfield convention center hotel that is connected to the Rabobank Arena, Theatre & Convention Center complex. Featuring eight meeting rooms and 9,136 sq ft of total meeting space, our Bakersfield, CA hotel is ideal for meetings, training, and conferences. Enjoy our hotel's high-tech guest rooms and suites featuring 32" HD TVs, high-speed wireless internet access, luxurious bedding package and luxurious amenities. Concierge level rooms and suites offer an added level of sophistication unrivaled by other Bakersfield hotels. After work, guests can enjoy the endless options for shopping, dining, or simply enjoy an evening at our hotel's restaurant - The Nines, featuring fresh, American cuisine in a contemporary, upscale setting. Stay in the heart of it all at the luxuriously appointed Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bakersfield Marriott At The Hotel Bakersfield
Bakersfield Marriott At Hotel
Holiday Inn Bakersfield
Bakersfield Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.