We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look here first” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   801 Truxtun Ave., Bakersfield, CA 93301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #15 of 57 Hotels in Bakersfield
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Look here first”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My third stay at this property in 12 months, and I can call it 'consistent', and a really good thing !! The front desk staff, the lounge/bar area staff and the concierge lounge attendants were all familiar faces. This bodes extremely well for management, and the property exudes a warm friendly atmosphere despite being called a convention center property. Full service at its best, this property must be on your list if staying in Bakersfield. The rooms are clean, but showing a little wear, not noticeable to the casual observer - beds are comfortable, a good night sleeps awaits you.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    73
    35
    13
    13
See reviews for
32
35
10
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This Marriott has a lot to offer, and is a great choice for business travelers in Bakersfield. The lobbies and hallways have obviously been renovated since this hotel opened, since they have the new look of the Marriott hotels. The rooms were good sized, and have free wi-fi for all guests (higher speed is available for additional costs). The bed was very comfortable, with the good Marriott linens. The bathroom was a bit small, but not bad for a single traveler. The one downside was that there was quite a bit of noise that came into the room from the hallway, and I could hear conversation and other noise quiet clearly through the connection door to the room beside mine.

The conceirge lounge had good hot and cold options for breakfast, including eggs, bacon, fresh fruit and various muffins and rolls. The evenings had a nice selection of appetizers, and some very tasty desserts later in the night. I also had a great turkey club sandwich from room service one night. It had nice slices of turkey and bacon on fresh toasted sourdough bread, and it left me so full even though I took one of the three pieces of bread out of each piece of sandwich.

While the hotel was supposedly pretty much sold out for 3 of the nights I was there, it never felt like the hotel was overrun. The last day, there was a church group meeting in the Convention Center next door, and the lobby was packed with visitors attending that meeting, but that was the exception.

Room Tip: As some other reviews have noted, there is a rail line adjacent to the parking lot on the south side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

For business, this is your best choice in Bakersfield. The hotel is centrally located in the downtown area and provides easy access to all ends of the city. The rooms were clean and well-appointed and the front desk staff were friendly and helpful as always. The bar provides a lovely area for lounging and libations and the bar staff is professional and conversational. I requested an item that is not on the menu and the restaurant staff made it happen. Great customer service all around. I won't stay anywhere else on my Bakersfield business trips.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stopped off in Bakersfield on the way from Vegas to the coast. Paid $115 for a very nice room. Decent bathroom, big comfortable beds, tea and coffee making facilities. Staff very friendly. The hotel is 3 or 4 blocks from some apparently decent bars but we just chilled in the hotel bar and had a meal at their restaurant. Food was OK, but nothing special.

Big plus for us was the fact that it had a laundry for guests. We we're running low on clean gear after a few days on the road. Bit frustrating that they didn't sell any washing powder (other places with laudries do) so had to drive a few blocks to get some. It would be no problem for them to supply it and a huge plus for guests.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Okie dokie, this is a very good place to put your head after a long or short day. Price is reasonable, bar is good and people are nice. I don't eat in hotel restaurants as a matter of policy so I can't help you there.

The Marriott is a nice place and is my one place to go when doing business in Bakersfield. Now, Bakersfield is something else to discuss....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I have stayed on business at the Marriot in Bakersfield several times. It is very convenient and modern. The hotel staff are some of the best that I've ever had the pleasure of dealing with, from the staff at reception, to the café and bar, they are all top notch people. With that said, I have noticed a slight downturn in the overall condition of the hotel property. This includes carpeting and the room interiors....I'm hoping this is just a minor staff adjustment or perhaps some oversight in management, but it appears to have gotten worse since my initial stay. I hope that with a few adjustments to maintenance and overall pride of ownership this fine hotel can continue to set the standard for rooming in Bakersfield.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I travel to Bakersfield on business regularly and the Marriott is my favorite place to stay. The property is clean, modern, up to date, and conveniently located in downtown, which is good for my business appointments. My rooms are always clean and very well maintained. Sometimes I get a mini refrigerator in my room which is very convenient.

I am at Marriott Gold member and have access to the executive lounge. The personnel there are very friendly and accommodating. I just wish the prices on their wine and beers were more reasonable for their loyal customers. The prices during the happy hour in the lobby bar is cheaper than the executive lounge, so what gives? That makes no sense. Still, it is nice to have the hot appetizers in the afternoon and a nice breakfast in the morning in the lounge.

I would recommend this hotel for business travelers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center

Address: 801 Truxtun Ave., Bakersfield, CA 93301
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center is located in the heart of beautiful downtown Bakersfield. Unique amongst hotels in Bakersfield, we are a full-service Bakersfield convention center hotel that is connected to the Rabobank Arena, Theatre & Convention Center complex. Featuring eight meeting rooms and 9,136 sq ft of total meeting space, our Bakersfield, CA hotel is ideal for meetings, training, and conferences. Enjoy our hotel's high-tech guest rooms and suites featuring 32" HD TVs, high-speed wireless internet access, luxurious bedding package and luxurious amenities. Concierge level rooms and suites offer an added level of sophistication unrivaled by other Bakersfield hotels. After work, guests can enjoy the endless options for shopping, dining, or simply enjoy an evening at our hotel's restaurant - The Nines, featuring fresh, American cuisine in a contemporary, upscale setting. Stay in the heart of it all at the luxuriously appointed Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bakersfield Marriott At The Hotel Bakersfield
Bakersfield Marriott At Hotel
Holiday Inn Bakersfield
Bakersfield Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.