We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Upscale Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center to your Saves list
Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   801 Truxtun Ave., Bakersfield, CA 93301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #12 of 59 Hotels in Bakersfield
Stockton, California, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice Upscale Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We attended a wedding that had its reception at this hotel. The room was ready when we arrived. It was clean with comfortable beds and good towels. The free wifi worked great. The price seemed reasonable for a Marriott.

The only down side was that parking can be a challenge if there is a couple of big gathering scheduled, which there was when we were there. Also, which is no fault of the hotel, we had some noisy neighbors that let the kids run wild.

I do recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    103
    48
    16
    15
See reviews for
44
49
16
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Our room was very nice - on the 6th or 7th floor of the building - and spacious The bed and pillows were very comfortable and the room itself was impeccably clean. The staff at the front desk were VERY NICE and accommodating! The only reasons I did not give this hotel 5 stars is because 1) the jacuzzi had a pebble finish that made it very uncomfortable and 2) Partiers that were VERY loud right down the hall. I didn't call security to deal with them - just went down the hall and knocked on the door. When the girl opened the door and I asked if they could "keep the noise down as it was 4 a.m. in the morning," she laughed and said, "it's a hotel." So I told her I would just take the matter up with security and walked back to my room. We didn't hear a peep from them the rest of the night (morning actually)! -( So I guess , the girl got the message - Hee hee!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mykonos
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stopped off at Bakersfield for a break from our trip from San Diego to San Francisco on I5.

We were warned that Bakersfield is not a great town, but it really isn't that bad.

The Marriott at the Convention Center is an excellent hotel. The rooms are clean and big and quiet.

But the WIFI connection is atrocious. You'll be lucky if you can check your email. We were on the sixth floor, of course, but that shouldn't make a difference.

There are plenty of stores within a 1-mile radius and there are plenty of places that will deliver pizza or Chinese to your room.

Parking for hotel guests is free.

All in all, we were very satisfied with the hotel.

Room Tip: You might want to pick a room next on a lower floor, so you're closer to the lobby if you need a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I've stayed here twice in the last year. Both trips were for business. You'll have a difficult time finding a cleaner more accommodating hotel - anywhere.

However...

If you are staying here for business and need reliable Internet service, I suggest you bring a sleeping bag and camp out in the lobby. Because that is the only place you can expect a stable connection. I've experienced this issue both times I've stayed. I figured the first was a fluke, and even mentioned it to the desk clerk.

They have to get this fixed. I cannot stay there again.

- Marriott Platinum Travler

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott_BFL, General Manager at Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Hello Greg D.
Thank you for taking the time to comment on the issues you experienced.
We appreciate your feedback as it is crucial in our efforts to improve and make your stay more enjoyable.
I'm pleased to announce we have begun our internet upgrade to the facility, due to contractual obligations we were unable to make changes to our previous internet service, however we have begun the process to install new equipment and we are anticipating speeds up to 30mbps, the project will be completed by June 28th, 2013.

Please feel free contact me directly at carlos.navarro@bakersfieldmarriott.com if you would like to discuss any more details. I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences encountered and I thank you for the opportunity to be of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, Ca
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I just stayed at the Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center in Bakersfield. My wife and I stayed here for one night when we went to see a Juanes concert and will return anytime we have a need to stay in
Bakersfield again. Every staff member, and I mean EVERY staff member, was friendly and accommodating. The truly made our staff homey, relaxing and pleasant.

The location is perfect for the convention or an event at the center next door.just walk over to the event. The hotel parking is free and you don't have to worry about paying for parking in order to attend the concert.

The room rate was excellent. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rewards club members get extra perks and upgrades.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Great business hotel; great location, bar and restaurant. It is located downtown near the convention center.

Because this is a business hotel, I have rated them average since the internet signal is very weak on most floors, unless you are on the 2 executive floors (7th & 8th). The internet coverage is excellent in the business office in the lobby.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We were driving from Vegas on the way to the Sequoia National Park and had booked online for a one night stop over to rest. We had booked based on the price and considering it was a Marriott which are normally quite good. Let me just say that we were glad we only stayed one night. It was not terrible but it was just ok. We had a slight problem at check in because we had requested a quiet room away from the train tracks (having been warned by fellow Trip advisor reviewers!) and in fact we were given one on the opposite side however it was on the fourth floor (the hotel has 9 floors so not really a very high floor) and it was right over the huge air conditioning units situated outside the windows. The noise was terrible even during the day, I can only imagine what it would be like during the night when all is quiet. So we instantly asked to be moved. The very helpful bell boy who brought up our luggage was very kind and was able to contact reception without us having to go back downstairs. We were traveling with another couple and had asked to be on the same floor however we would have to move to the 5th floor as they had no other rooms on the 4th that did not have noise. So...the options were...a room right above the one we had been given, meaning we would probably still hear the noise or the air conditioning units or a room on the 5th floor facing the train tracks! Exactly what I had wanted to avoid. Once we were in the room and looked outside the window we decided to keep the room facing the tracks as the view was a little better and we would rather risk a few whistles than having a constant very annoying sound all night. Next morning we decided it had been a good choice as my husband never heard the trains and I only heard one train whistle early in the morning. The room was a good size, the bed was comfortable and there were coffee and tea making facilities. The free Internet access was very slow. The bathroom was quite small and needed some remodeling and we had a dripping toilet. We just closed the door so as not to hear it. We decided to have dinner in the hotel restaurant as we wanted to have an early night. Dinner was ok, nothing special. The staff was friendly. Once we finished dinner and went back up to the room it smelt a little strange, sort of like someone had eaten in there. We were also woken in the middle of the night by a phone call! I guess someone got the room number wrong. All in all it was not a great experience but considering we were only passing by it was bearable. We did not have breakfast included in the room rate and decided not to eat in the hotel. We had a great breakfast at Coco's. If you are looking for a place to stay in Bakersfield shop around before committing, there are plenty of options.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the air conditioning units
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
0.6 mi away
Padre Hotel
Padre Hotel
#1 of 59 in Bakersfield
4.5 of 5 stars 607 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill House
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill House
#13 of 59 in Bakersfield
4.0 of 5 stars 522 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
#9 of 59 in Bakersfield
4.0 of 5 stars 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
5.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bakersfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center

Address: 801 Truxtun Ave., Bakersfield, CA 93301
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center is located in the heart of beautiful downtown Bakersfield. Unique amongst hotels in Bakersfield, we are a full-service Bakersfield convention center hotel that is connected to the Rabobank Arena, Theatre & Convention Center complex. Featuring eight meeting rooms and 9,136 sq ft of total meeting space, our Bakersfield, CA hotel is ideal for meetings, training, and conferences. Enjoy our hotel's high-tech guest rooms and suites featuring 32" HD TVs, high-speed wireless internet access, luxurious bedding package and luxurious amenities. Concierge level rooms and suites offer an added level of sophistication unrivaled by other Bakersfield hotels. After work, guests can enjoy the endless options for shopping, dining, or simply enjoy an evening at our hotel's restaurant - The Nines, featuring fresh, American cuisine in a contemporary, upscale setting. Stay in the heart of it all at the luxuriously appointed Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bakersfield Marriott At The Hotel Bakersfield
Bakersfield Marriott At Hotel
Holiday Inn Bakersfield
Bakersfield Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.