We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lobby but that's about it.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center to your Saves list
Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   801 Truxtun Ave., Bakersfield, CA 93301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #15 of 57 Hotels in Bakersfield
Saint Augustine, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice lobby but that's about it.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This hotel has a very nice lobby and free parking. That's about where the positives end. The WiFi here is actually worse than 1990s era dial up. I went to the front desk to ask about it and I got the same look that people give you when they don't speak English. It is UNACCEPTABLE for any hotel of this stature not to have good WiFi.

The walls and windows also must be made of paper. It is the noisiest hotel that I have ever stayed at. Sirens blaring all night, loud people in the hallways. You can actually hear chatter from the bar area from a 3rd floor room.

This is one of the worst hotel experiences that I have ever had and I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    82
    37
    14
    13
See reviews for
33
40
12
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chico, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed one night and were towing a trailer so I chose this establishment because it had a restaurant on site. It was a ways off of the freeway but well worth it. All of the staff we encountered were happy and helpful. There was a great hotel bar and we chose to eat there. The food was very good. We will return if we ever have to stay in Bakersfield again. The only hiccup was that our breakfast order that I hung on the door was lost. Once I phoned the front desk they were very apologetic and our food arrived in a short while. I think that it was a great value and even though it is an older building Marriott is doing a good job keeping it up to date.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgecrest, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We hadn't stayed at this hotel since it was reopened as a Marriott. It was a Holiday Inn before. It was great. We stayed on the ninth floor for three days. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. The room was very nice. The room was clean and the beds were great. The exercise room is bright and modern.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

If this same hotel were located in a big city, you'd pay a lot more. For a reasonable rate, I received a bright and pleasantly appointed room, which was clean and comfortable, with a plush bed. The lobby has a lovely fireplace and is very appealing overall, as are the other public spaces, including the restaurant. I enjoyed lunch in the restaurant, The Nines, which is casual but smart enough for a business meeting. This hotel is within walking distance (if you don't have heavy luggage) of an Amtrak station, a bonus if you're arriving or departing by train. It's nice to be able to stay in an upscale hotel without breaking the bank, so take advantage of it if you're in Bakersfield.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed at the Bakersfield Marriott Convention Center location for a business event. When you walk in the lobby looks very chic with comfortable chairs and lounge areas with a bar area which is nice for after event conversations. The service at the front desk and room service were professional and nice. The rooms are what needs the renovation. The bed is very comfortable. The set up is nice. As a business traveler a sink that drains and a shower/tub that drains is critical. Both were clogged. I made do, by turning on the water and turning it off to let it drain slowly. Disgusting. There is also a foul sewage smell in the room and through the halls. I always bring air freshener for this reason. There was no noise issue which helped, but the light from under the door is so bright, and you would think that would be test #1. Also, the AC is so loud. You are supposed to relax in your room. I turned it off regardless of needing the cool air as the AC was ridiculously loud. Fix it. I would not recommend this Marriott if you are in Bakersfield which I never am.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, bring air freshener, sanitizer wipes, and liquid plumber.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Page Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as an intermediate destination point when on a holiday road trip. Advance reservation was made after seeking Trip Advisor reviews. Immediately after arriving, we ate at the hotel restaurant which had excellent food and excellent service. The room was nice - nothing to complain about. Until about 2am when the a/c stopped working. The fan was blowing but the air was warm. We opened a window (about 2 inches is all that it can open) and tolerated the constant every 20 minute train screeching which wouldn't have been heard with the window closed. Sleep was fitful - room temp rose to 77 degrees.

At 6:45am, after a lousy night of off and on sleeping, I contacted the front desk to report the problem. They sent maintenance who arrived 30 minutes later - no problem. This was a Sunday and he confirmed the compressor wasn't working. Came back 15 minutes later with a part. Installed it, air started to come out cool again, problem solved. There was no way we would be getting ready for a full day of driving with a hot room. Minutes later, the front desk called to ask if things were resolved. Nice to have. Only.....1/2 hour later, the a/c stopped working yet again. To say this was frustrating is an understatement. AT this point, the room was uncomfortable and we rushed the showering so as not to stay even more uncomfortable. 81 degrees was the last temp as we left.

At the front desk, I asked for a manager to report our experience. The manager immediately asked "what can I do for you?". I told her under the circumstances, the stay wasn't good, no sleep, not relaxing, and the problem has been proven. Clear the bill and I'll be satisfied. No - she would offer a 20% discount. This after advising we should have simply SWITCHED ROOMS. I then asked her if she expected all guests to participate in maintenance issues at 2am in this hotel. The room wasn't a furnace, was doable enough NOT to bother with packing bags, collecting personal things (laptop, business paperwork etc etc etc), and going through the interruption hassle only to try to seek rest yet again. Her response?

"You used the room".

I give the benefit of doubt to any lodging establishment with solid reasoning. We are in the lodging business. A customer is first priority. We had bad sleep, a hot room, attempted repair and then had to get ready in complete discomfort. All of this was documented. When asking for her business card, she swiftly walked around the counter and gave it to me. "Is there anything else you need?" Meanwhile, other hotel guest were watching this. I wonder if they had hoped I'd lose my temper?

This was attitude, nothing warranted this ridiculous behavior. As a customer, we have credit card protection. It's called DISPUTING THE CHARGE. I advised she was giving me no choice but to dispute the bill. "I'll alert accounting you're disputing the charge". No other words. The cost of the room was small enough. We would have been happy enough if the a/c worked after maintenance attended to it. But it didn't.

We found out just who the people in charge really are. Our credit card charge was disputed and we won. Clearly obvious as to why. It takes a fool not to respond to a lousy lodging experience followed by a manager furthering it with stinging unwarranted attitude. We'll be avoiding this place in the future if only because of the front desk management that takes ownership into her own hands instead of what you'd hope Marriott wouldn't promote. We'll also be ensuring our own guests seek to avoid this establishment as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott_BFL, General Manager at Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on the issues you experienced.
We appreciate your feedback as it is crucial in our efforts to improve and make your stay more enjoyable.
I sincerely apologize for the trouble this may have caused you and we thank you for taking the time to assist us in personalizing not only your experience but every guest to come
as I'm making sure that situations like this do not repeat themselves.

Please feel free contact me directly at carlos.navarro@bakersfieldmarriott.com if you would like to discuss any details of your stay. Again I truly apologize for the inconveniences encountered and I thank you for the opportunity to be of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My wife and college aged son stayed here for an overnighter on way to Merced on a Saturday night. We got a room on the 9th floor which has a business lounge on it, which during the week provides beverges, snacks, breakfast for those on the floor. Weekends it is closed, so our room rate included breakfast for us at their restaurant on Sunday morning. Since the hotel is right next to the convention center and Amtrak station, there are some down sides to staying here. You will hear trains, and in our case, heavy trucks and equipment hauling dirt for a "monster truck" event that night. In the morning the hotel was overrun by hundreds of young people dressed in "animae" costumes.....they had a convention there.....we ate breakfast with all these strange folks milling about.....it was "breakfast and a show". They were well behaved, but the crowds created some mobility issues for hotel guests. Overall we had a decent stay here and will return if the need arises.....though maybe request a room not on the "parking lot" side of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center

Address: 801 Truxtun Ave., Bakersfield, CA 93301
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center is located in the heart of beautiful downtown Bakersfield. Unique amongst hotels in Bakersfield, we are a full-service Bakersfield convention center hotel that is connected to the Rabobank Arena, Theatre & Convention Center complex. Featuring eight meeting rooms and 9,136 sq ft of total meeting space, our Bakersfield, CA hotel is ideal for meetings, training, and conferences. Enjoy our hotel's high-tech guest rooms and suites featuring 32" HD TVs, high-speed wireless internet access, luxurious bedding package and luxurious amenities. Concierge level rooms and suites offer an added level of sophistication unrivaled by other Bakersfield hotels. After work, guests can enjoy the endless options for shopping, dining, or simply enjoy an evening at our hotel's restaurant - The Nines, featuring fresh, American cuisine in a contemporary, upscale setting. Stay in the heart of it all at the luxuriously appointed Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bakersfield Marriott At The Hotel Bakersfield
Bakersfield Marriott At Hotel
Holiday Inn Bakersfield
Bakersfield Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.