We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Management with poor attitude” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   801 Truxtun Ave., Bakersfield, CA 93301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #16 of 57 hotels in Bakersfield
Page Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Management with poor attitude”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as an intermediate destination point when on a holiday road trip. Advance reservation was made after seeking Trip Advisor reviews. Immediately after arriving, we ate at the hotel restaurant which had excellent food and excellent service. The room was nice - nothing to complain about. Until about 2am when the a/c stopped working. The fan was blowing but the air was warm. We opened a window (about 2 inches is all that it can open) and tolerated the constant every 20 minute train screeching which wouldn't have been heard with the window closed. Sleep was fitful - room temp rose to 77 degrees.

At 6:45am, after a lousy night of off and on sleeping, I contacted the front desk to report the problem. They sent maintenance who arrived 30 minutes later - no problem. This was a Sunday and he confirmed the compressor wasn't working. Came back 15 minutes later with a part. Installed it, air started to come out cool again, problem solved. There was no way we would be getting ready for a full day of driving with a hot room. Minutes later, the front desk called to ask if things were resolved. Nice to have. Only.....1/2 hour later, the a/c stopped working yet again. To say this was frustrating is an understatement. AT this point, the room was uncomfortable and we rushed the showering so as not to stay even more uncomfortable. 81 degrees was the last temp as we left.

At the front desk, I asked for a manager to report our experience. The manager immediately asked "what can I do for you?". I told her under the circumstances, the stay wasn't good, no sleep, not relaxing, and the problem has been proven. Clear the bill and I'll be satisfied. No - she would offer a 20% discount. This after advising we should have simply SWITCHED ROOMS. I then asked her if she expected all guests to participate in maintenance issues at 2am in this hotel. The room wasn't a furnace, was doable enough NOT to bother with packing bags, collecting personal things (laptop, business paperwork etc etc etc), and going through the interruption hassle only to try to seek rest yet again. Her response?

"You used the room".

I give the benefit of doubt to any lodging establishment with solid reasoning. We are in the lodging business. A customer is first priority. We had bad sleep, a hot room, attempted repair and then had to get ready in complete discomfort. All of this was documented. When asking for her business card, she swiftly walked around the counter and gave it to me. "Is there anything else you need?" Meanwhile, other hotel guest were watching this. I wonder if they had hoped I'd lose my temper?

This was attitude, nothing warranted this ridiculous behavior. As a customer, we have credit card protection. It's called DISPUTING THE CHARGE. I advised she was giving me no choice but to dispute the bill. "I'll alert accounting you're disputing the charge". No other words. The cost of the room was small enough. We would have been happy enough if the a/c worked after maintenance attended to it. But it didn't.

We found out just who the people in charge really are. Our credit card charge was disputed and we won. Clearly obvious as to why. It takes a fool not to respond to a lousy lodging experience followed by a manager furthering it with stinging unwarranted attitude. We'll be avoiding this place in the future if only because of the front desk management that takes ownership into her own hands instead of what you'd hope Marriott wouldn't promote. We'll also be ensuring our own guests seek to avoid this establishment as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott_BFL, General Manager at Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on the issues you experienced.
We appreciate your feedback as it is crucial in our efforts to improve and make your stay more enjoyable.
I sincerely apologize for the trouble this may have caused you and we thank you for taking the time to assist us in personalizing not only your experience but every guest to come
as I'm making sure that situations like this do not repeat themselves.

Please feel free contact me directly at carlos.navarro@bakersfieldmarriott.com if you would like to discuss any details of your stay. Again I truly apologize for the inconveniences encountered and I thank you for the opportunity to be of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    71
    34
    13
    13
See reviews for
32
35
10
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My wife and college aged son stayed here for an overnighter on way to Merced on a Saturday night. We got a room on the 9th floor which has a business lounge on it, which during the week provides beverges, snacks, breakfast for those on the floor. Weekends it is closed, so our room rate included breakfast for us at their restaurant on Sunday morning. Since the hotel is right next to the convention center and Amtrak station, there are some down sides to staying here. You will hear trains, and in our case, heavy trucks and equipment hauling dirt for a "monster truck" event that night. In the morning the hotel was overrun by hundreds of young people dressed in "animae" costumes.....they had a convention there.....we ate breakfast with all these strange folks milling about.....it was "breakfast and a show". They were well behaved, but the crowds created some mobility issues for hotel guests. Overall we had a decent stay here and will return if the need arises.....though maybe request a room not on the "parking lot" side of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

When I go to Bakersfield to visit family I prefer to stay in a hotel and the Bakersfield Marriott is wonderful! The rooms are very nice - clean and the decor is up to date. There's only one thing that bothers me - there isn't a mini bar. But the rooms have all other amenities. The staff is very courteous and always come through right away when you have a request. There is a great restaurant inside the hotel and a very nice bar/lounge.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shandon, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This was a great room, about 2 blocks from a large cinema complex. We took in two movies the night we stayed in this hotel. Our room was huge, and the bed was very comfortable and cozy; lots of pillows, and thick towels in the bathroom. The bathroom was very large as well, and everything was new looking and clean. We would definitely stay there again. The dining room had a nice breakfast menu, and very efficient waiters. It was an overall excellent experience.

Room Tip: We were on the fifth floor in room 505. The outside wall was all windows, overlooking the area behi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed there while driving through. Although there was an icehockey game next door - the parking was still fine.
Hotel was clean, rooms well kept. Bed was very comfortable. Heating/cooling worked well (was very cold out side)

Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This property was partially re-modelled. They really did a great job in the lobby. The rest if Marriott average...poor rooms ( Marriott standard bedding etc..) - outdated bathroom ( Marriott corporate shampoo - > "instant hair-loss" ) etc..AC not working the way it should and rude staff. I give it 3 stars because of the great lobby. If you are not picky about the room , this is a goo place to stay. If you are gold/platinum they have pretty good free food as well.

Room Tip: not sure if they have any re-modelled rooms..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Very nice clean hotel..with good gym & nice pool & seating area. Next to convention centre but nothing else within walking distance. Used hotel as a stop over from Yosemite to Las Vegas. Nice restaurant & decently priced.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center

Address: 801 Truxtun Ave., Bakersfield, CA 93301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center is located in the heart of beautiful downtown Bakersfield. Unique amongst hotels in Bakersfield, we are a full-service Bakersfield convention center hotel that is connected to the Rabobank Arena, Theatre & Convention Center complex. Featuring eight meeting rooms and 9,136 sq ft of total meeting space, our Bakersfield, CA hotel is ideal for meetings, training, and conferences. Enjoy our hotel's high-tech guest rooms and suites featuring 32" HD TVs, high-speed wireless internet access, luxurious bedding package and luxurious amenities. Concierge level rooms and suites offer an added level of sophistication unrivaled by other Bakersfield hotels. After work, guests can enjoy the endless options for shopping, dining, or simply enjoy an evening at our hotel's restaurant - The Nines, featuring fresh, American cuisine in a contemporary, upscale setting. Stay in the heart of it all at the luxuriously appointed Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bakersfield Marriott At The Hotel Bakersfield
Bakersfield Marriott At Hotel
Holiday Inn Bakersfield
Bakersfield Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.