We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Bakersfield

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Bakersfield to your Saves list
Residence Inn Bakersfield
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4241 Chester Lane, Bakersfield, CA 93309   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Wifi & Bonus Points
Ranked #17 of 57 Hotels in Bakersfield
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed here for a weekend and brought our Bassett Hound, they charge a $100 no refundable pet sanitation fee.
The suite was clean, with a fully stocked kitchen and a REAL 12 cup coffee maker! If coffee is important to you, I would recommend bringing your own coffee filters and coffee because all they have are those premeasured packets which just aren't strong enough in my opinion.
The bed was firm and comfortable, with crisp "bleachy smelling" linens. The bath towels were crisp and smelled of bleach as well..
They only give you a tiny bar of soap and a single use Paul Mitchell shampoo and conditioner, no lotion or shower cap.
They serve a modest buffet style breakfast of scrambled eggs, biscuits &gravy, bagels,toast waffles etc...
There is a lot of trees and a large grassy area for your dog.
There is no smoking in the suites ,so smokers stand outside and puff away, so our windows had to stay closed the entire time.
The surrounding area is quiet with restaurants a short walk or drive away.
I will definitely stay here again when I have the displeasure of returning to Bakersfield.

Room Tip: Bring your own coffee and coffee filters, creamer . Soap, shampoo lotion
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich F, General Manager at Residence Inn Bakersfield, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Hi Kristee! Thanks for sharing your impressions. It's given me an idea about the coffee offering. I appreciate it. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    17
    6
    9
    3
See reviews for
20
9
2
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

I was on my way to Las Vegas with my wife and we passed through Bakersfield and we decided to stay at the residence inn.. we always stay at a Marriott whenever we travel. the rooms where of course very clean and fully stocked.But i have to say that when i walked in through the door a young lady greeted me and my wife with a warm hearted smile.I travel all the time but i have not seen such and honest smile ever. When she checked us in she was very polite and she asked if we had any preferences on our room, i told her what i wanted and she got it for me. We needed to go get some stuff at the store as well as grab something on the go she gave us personal recommendations as well as a map from the hotel to all our destinations. i have never seen anyone so determined to make my stay so easy. and i will always remember her because she wore a flower in her right ear and also very sociable she told me breakfast is going to be good because she is not going to be cooking that made me laugh and put me at ease hopping our stay wont be as bad as the rest. Because we have had awful experiences int he past but not at THE RESIDENCE INN IN BAKERSFIEL. I believe her name was Lanet. so please if she is checking you in I can assure you that you will not be disappointed

Room Tip: rooms in the gatehouse are very cozy!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich F, General Manager at Residence Inn Bakersfield, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Wow! Thanks for such a nice review. I will be sure to let Lannette know how she made you feel. Although it is important that the product is to your expectations, it is the people and service that make the most memorable impression. To be honest, it's also the most fun to do. We appreciate you making our day, too! See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I quickly booked this hotel online and then read a few reviews. Initially I was worried, but really, our family could not be happier with this hotel. The hotel had two bedrooms and two comfy beds with lounge area and kitchen. The fold out , admittedly was not so comfy, but it was only for one night. Breakfast was basic, but filling and there was something for everyone in our family. We liked it!

Room Tip: Maybe not the end closest to the rail line , but in saying that , it's not too bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich F, General Manager at Residence Inn Bakersfield, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thanks for writing Maxine! I'm glad to hear the hotel was comfortable for you and your family. You're visiting from Melbourne? That's great! Enjoy your entire trip to the United States! We're glad you're here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Nice bed and bedding, pleasant decor, kitchenette with everything but an oven, big flat screen TV, good breakfast in the morning, even nice soft towels. Quiet even on the ground floor, good location right off the freeway but no freeway noise. Pleasant staff. Very clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich F, General Manager at Residence Inn Bakersfield, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thanks for your thoughts Denelle! We appreciate you helping us stay on top of doing a good job and thank you for your business. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, AZ
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

As our mid-way stop for our trip to a family wedding, this hotel was absolutely great. Even though it is geared as a longer stay hotel our one night visit was very enjoyable and the staff were lovely, caring hosts. The room was terrific and the early morning free breakfast was complete and well-prepared.
One future trips to visit our family, this will be our preferred stop unless we are taking our pet (unfortunately not allowed).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich F, General Manager at Residence Inn Bakersfield, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Hi Joseph! It makes me happy to hear your experience was exceptional. The staff and I look forward to your next visit when you are in the area. Some good news for you, is we are pet friendly, so inquire about those accommodations for next time, too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is the second time that I have had the pleasure to stay at this Residence Inn. The hotel is convient to a variety of restaurants, many are walking distance. I went for a walk Friday evening at about 8pm (alone) and never felt threatened by the area. The manager special (event in the lobby) was enjoyable; however the hamburgers were alittle under cooked for my liking (medium when I prefer more towards the well done side). I did not participate in the breakfast offerings. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I really had no idea that the Residence Inn was this great. It's not fancy by any means, however they give you everything you need. I was here visiting family, so there were 8 of us split up into 3 rooms. We stayed in the double suites, the rooms were clean and very comfortable. Of course the room had a few dings here and there, but that's normal. We took advantage of all the amenities. The FREE breakfast was wonderful, it was not just a cereal and milk deal, there were sausage patties, eggs, fruit, etc. The BBQ grill and pool area was awesome. If I had to come back to the area, I would not hesitate to stay here. Friendly and helpful staff. Oh, you may hear the train noise, but it's really not THAT bad.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the train tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Bakersfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Bakersfield

Address: 4241 Chester Lane, Bakersfield, CA 93309
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 57 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Bakersfield 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Bakersfield CA Hotel near I-5 is an ideal lodging choice near Kern River. We provide just what you need to maintain your normal pace when planning an extended stay in Bakersfield. You'll enjoy a modern lobby designed with a variety of comfortable spaces offering free WiFi and various options for refueling at The Market. Our Bakersfield CA hotel's spacious guest suites each feature a sectional sofa, an ergonomic desk and updated bathrooms. Choose from studio, one-, or two-bedroom suites. Contemporary color schemes complement the suite's separate spaces for eating, sleeping and working. When you choose us for your extended stay hotel in Bakersfield, take advantage of your fully equipped kitchen when you so choose, but don't miss our free hot breakfast featuring a variety of healthy and freshly made selections. Finish the day right at our evening Social Hour, where you can relax and recharge with complimentary drinks and light fare. At our Residence Inn Bakersfield CA Hotel, we give you everything you need to maintain your balance and thrive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Bakersfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bakersfield Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Bakersfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.