We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Bakersfield

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Bakersfield to your Saves list
Residence Inn Bakersfield
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4241 Chester Lane, Bakersfield, CA 93309   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Wifi & Bonus Points
Ranked #17 of 57 Hotels in Bakersfield
Lancaster, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Still a great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Nice bed and bedding, pleasant decor, kitchenette with everything but an oven, big flat screen TV, good breakfast in the morning, even nice soft towels. Quiet even on the ground floor, good location right off the freeway but no freeway noise. Pleasant staff. Very clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich F, General Manager at Residence Inn Bakersfield, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thanks for your thoughts Denelle! We appreciate you helping us stay on top of doing a good job and thank you for your business. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    17
    6
    9
    3
See reviews for
20
9
2
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surprise, AZ
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

As our mid-way stop for our trip to a family wedding, this hotel was absolutely great. Even though it is geared as a longer stay hotel our one night visit was very enjoyable and the staff were lovely, caring hosts. The room was terrific and the early morning free breakfast was complete and well-prepared.
One future trips to visit our family, this will be our preferred stop unless we are taking our pet (unfortunately not allowed).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich F, General Manager at Residence Inn Bakersfield, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Hi Joseph! It makes me happy to hear your experience was exceptional. The staff and I look forward to your next visit when you are in the area. Some good news for you, is we are pet friendly, so inquire about those accommodations for next time, too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is the second time that I have had the pleasure to stay at this Residence Inn. The hotel is convient to a variety of restaurants, many are walking distance. I went for a walk Friday evening at about 8pm (alone) and never felt threatened by the area. The manager special (event in the lobby) was enjoyable; however the hamburgers were alittle under cooked for my liking (medium when I prefer more towards the well done side). I did not participate in the breakfast offerings. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I really had no idea that the Residence Inn was this great. It's not fancy by any means, however they give you everything you need. I was here visiting family, so there were 8 of us split up into 3 rooms. We stayed in the double suites, the rooms were clean and very comfortable. Of course the room had a few dings here and there, but that's normal. We took advantage of all the amenities. The FREE breakfast was wonderful, it was not just a cereal and milk deal, there were sausage patties, eggs, fruit, etc. The BBQ grill and pool area was awesome. If I had to come back to the area, I would not hesitate to stay here. Friendly and helpful staff. Oh, you may hear the train noise, but it's really not THAT bad.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the train tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We went to Bakersfield for my sisters' wedding. Whenever I go to Bakersfield, I usually stay at my sisters but since it was her wedding, all the guests stayed at hotels. I hadn't stayed at a Marriott Hotel before. The rooms were spacious with kitchen facilities. The pool was nice for the grandsons and we played a little in the basketball court. I was sorry that the jacuzzi wasn't working but really didn't have time to use it anyway since there were so many festivities going on for the wedding.The free breakfast was good and it had a lot of food choices. The grandsons chowed down.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The rooms were great. we had our 5 week old baby with us - we were in town for a family wedding - and I would not feel comfortable walking around in the area. The hotel itself was fine and the extra space and kitchen were perfect for our needs with the baby.
I would stay here again for something like a wedding, but it's not really a 'vacation' destination type of place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The Marriott family seems to be running a special on broken hot tubs; we have had very poor luck of late in locating a facility with availability and a functioning jacuzzi.

The breakfasts were good, and not the same things every day. Very, very comfortable room with a good ice maker in the freezer. The overall layout of the property encourages walking with convenient parking. They gave us a AAA discount!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Bakersfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Bakersfield

Address: 4241 Chester Lane, Bakersfield, CA 93309
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 57 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Bakersfield 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Bakersfield CA Hotel near I-5 is an ideal lodging choice near Kern River. We provide just what you need to maintain your normal pace when planning an extended stay in Bakersfield. You'll enjoy a modern lobby designed with a variety of comfortable spaces offering free WiFi and various options for refueling at The Market. Our Bakersfield CA hotel's spacious guest suites each feature a sectional sofa, an ergonomic desk and updated bathrooms. Choose from studio, one-, or two-bedroom suites. Contemporary color schemes complement the suite's separate spaces for eating, sleeping and working. When you choose us for your extended stay hotel in Bakersfield, take advantage of your fully equipped kitchen when you so choose, but don't miss our free hot breakfast featuring a variety of healthy and freshly made selections. Finish the day right at our evening Social Hour, where you can relax and recharge with complimentary drinks and light fare. At our Residence Inn Bakersfield CA Hotel, we give you everything you need to maintain your balance and thrive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Bakersfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bakersfield Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Bakersfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.