We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“room great, but location a little sketchy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Bakersfield

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Bakersfield to your Saves list
Residence Inn Bakersfield
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4241 Chester Lane, Bakersfield, CA 93309   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Wifi & Bonus Points
Ranked #17 of 57 Hotels in Bakersfield
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“room great, but location a little sketchy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The rooms were great. we had our 5 week old baby with us - we were in town for a family wedding - and I would not feel comfortable walking around in the area. The hotel itself was fine and the extra space and kitchen were perfect for our needs with the baby.
I would stay here again for something like a wedding, but it's not really a 'vacation' destination type of place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    17
    6
    9
    3
See reviews for
20
9
2
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The Marriott family seems to be running a special on broken hot tubs; we have had very poor luck of late in locating a facility with availability and a functioning jacuzzi.

The breakfasts were good, and not the same things every day. Very, very comfortable room with a good ice maker in the freezer. The overall layout of the property encourages walking with convenient parking. They gave us a AAA discount!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We booked the Residence Inn By Marriott in Bakersfield to break up our drive from the SF Bay Area to Las Vegas. The winter months do not provide lots of sun, and we do not like to drive I-15 in the dark. We chose this hotel because they allow pets ( with no limits on the amount of pets, nor size of pets). This place is truly a gem for a stayover. The rooms are like modern small apartments. We had a studio which had a full and very modern kitchen, large flat screen tv, king bed and sofa bed. The room was very nice. If you are bringing pets there is a large dog walk area. There is a free and very good breakfast. Lots of shopping and restaurants close by and easy access to interstate. We liked it so much we booked it on our return. I highly recommend this hotel for an overnight in Bakersfield.

Room Tip: Mimi's Cafe is across the street. You can order online. They have good value family meals whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California City, California
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We have stayed at this Inn 3 times over the past 5 years. There were 4 adults and one teenager in our party so we stayed in a 2 room suite. The bedrooms were small but very comfortable. This inn is becoming a little dated so could use some work. The drapes in one bedroom did not close at the top so a lot of light came in very early in the morning. The TVs in the bedrooms & living room worked well - all flat screen with HD. The wireless Wi-Fi was excellent & very fast. In fact we had a suite at the far end of the property & the connectivity was still excellent. Beds were comfortable & the thermostat functioned accurately and was easy to adjust. Kitchen was well appointed with all items to include a large refrigerator, M/W, Coffee Pot (coffee & tea provided). A few pots and pans and eating utensils. Nice counter with stools. The breakfast was very good & was kept well stocked during eating hours. USA today provided free for pickup at the front desk. Check-in and out was very easy & the front desk personnel were very friendly & seemed to enjoy their jobs. Parking is free and plentiful. We will stay again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carpinteria, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I am writing this as I sit in this hotel.
I have been in Bakersfield on business for the past 2 months. I usually stay at the Courtyard on Rosedale (fantastic place) however this time I thought I would try the Residence Inn do to the fact that it had a kitchen. Upon arrival we pulled up to the office and were immediately approached by someone asking us for money. We then checked in to our room 1313. At first glance it seemed clean, but as the time passed things became apparent. To list a few... The ceiling in the kitchen was splattered with what I hope was pasta sauce. The coffee maker had used coffee grounds from the previous occupant. the desk had some sticky substance on it , door handle on bathroom was loose and had a brown stain. in the bathroom the towel rack was bent and the shower curtain had a mysterious brown stain on it as well. To top it off room service never came in. When I called the office and made mention that we our room was not cleaned , they said that we must have had the do not disturb sign on the door. We did have the sign on until 11 am. The TV was nice flat HD screen but most of the HD channels had no signal. To top it off, my fiancé wakes up with a bug crawling on the bed. That was the last straw. We canceled the last day and are moving back to Courtyard.. I know this review is harsh and may seem like I was trying to find things wrong with the hotel, I assure you I am not. Positive notes... Good breakfast. Close to shopping.
I took pictures of all the things mentioned. Please feel free to contact me if you want them. I will try to post here.

Thomas W Stretz
Marriot Rewards # 092333988

Room Tip: Ask for room away from train tracks
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camarillo
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We booked a 1 night stay at this great place to attend a soccer tournament.

The check in was fast and efficient, the staff is friendly, the lobby is cozy and the breakfast is great!

We had a 2 bedroom suite, really a condo, as it has everything you could possible need! Full size kitchen, living room and two bedrooms one on each side of the living room, so privacy is a +. The rooms are immaculate, you can tell they take pride in their hotel.

I will now be looking for a Residence Inn for all of my future travel! Really, you cannot beat the price and the convienience when travling with kids!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in a private location, away from streets. We did and we received!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 3 weeks. I checked out and travelled to TX but somehow forgot to pick my i-pad from the room. I called the hotel and told them about it and it was sent to me by express mail in 2 days. I received a box and there few other things I left in the room besides the I-pad. Very friendly and professional ladies at the front desk.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Bakersfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Bakersfield

Address: 4241 Chester Lane, Bakersfield, CA 93309
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 57 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Bakersfield 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Bakersfield CA Hotel near I-5 is an ideal lodging choice near Kern River. We provide just what you need to maintain your normal pace when planning an extended stay in Bakersfield. You'll enjoy a modern lobby designed with a variety of comfortable spaces offering free WiFi and various options for refueling at The Market. Our Bakersfield CA hotel's spacious guest suites each feature a sectional sofa, an ergonomic desk and updated bathrooms. Choose from studio, one-, or two-bedroom suites. Contemporary color schemes complement the suite's separate spaces for eating, sleeping and working. When you choose us for your extended stay hotel in Bakersfield, take advantage of your fully equipped kitchen when you so choose, but don't miss our free hot breakfast featuring a variety of healthy and freshly made selections. Finish the day right at our evening Social Hour, where you can relax and recharge with complimentary drinks and light fare. At our Residence Inn Bakersfield CA Hotel, we give you everything you need to maintain your balance and thrive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Bakersfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bakersfield Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Bakersfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.