We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of California Best Inn

Save Saved
You added California Best Inn to your Saves list
California Best Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
California Best Inn
1030 Wible Road, Bakersfield, CA 93304 (Formerly Travelodge Plaza Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 57 hotels in Bakersfield
Milpitas, California, United States
1 review
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

All Pros:
- Location is nice
- Peaceful and nice venue
- Food is very good.
- Price is affordable.
- Service is excellent.
- Cannot be deceiving.

The manager was very nice and made sure we liked the rooms that he gave us. Room was clean and kinda what you would expect for a medium priced motel. Location was great for easy on & off the freeway. We found a great Indian restaurant/store right around the corner and a real nice cafe for breakfast right down the street with a mall for all amenties
:)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    4
    5
    0
    12
See reviews for
6
8
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Shifty managment, we went to the window to tell the inn keeper that the hot water wasnt working he blew up and punched the window. We then asked for a refund he refused we called the cops they came out while we were talking to the police the manager goes into the service room comes out and says if there is no hot water he will refund us he came in and whatta know the hot water works. We will never come here again room is not clean walls are dirty ,wires hanging out of the wall , room needed to be put out of service bathroom felt and looks lile a gas station bathroom very dissappointed the only reason we stayed we paid cash and he wouldnt give us a refund

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Found this motel thru Hotel.com and they gave me the rate and booked the room. After reading the reviews I was concerned over the reports on the manager, etc. Since rooms were hard to locate that weekend we took a chance and checked in. The manager was super nice and made sure we liked the rooms that he gave us. He did complain about the rate we got but we all laughed in the end. Room was clean and kinda what you would expect for a medium priced motel. Location was great foe easy on & off the freeway. We found a great Mexican restaurant right around the corner and a real nice cafe for breakfast right down the street. Room was suppose to come with breakfast but we left before it was served. We go to Bakersfield twice a year and would have no problem staying there again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

At Check in the manager told us a rate of 50 US Dollar.
After we gave the credit card, we should signature 68,50 including Tax.
We asked why we should pay now 10 Dollar more? He was very rude and said "We can not buy the Hotel for 50 Bucks"
We travel since over 30 years through the USA, but no one fraud us in that way.
We thought about leaving the Hotel, but he don't give us the money back.
In the room the refridgerator didn't work and he said "We can use the Ice-Machine"
He told us, that he has a very good breakfast, but it was more than poor: Some slices of Toast with a big cup of Spread and Jam for everyone.
The Bed was very hard and the room was dirty. It smelled outside very strong.
Stay away from this terrible Hotel with the very rude manager with no behaviour!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

Family oreinted, safe an convient location, clean quite area very pleased!!!!. Very clean rooms excited services motel manager/owner along wit his family are very professional respectful an nice buisness owners out of the others I've stayed. Near the mall food shopping gas restaurants and freeway for travelng!! Very happy staying here in this quite safe motel community they make u feel like family! Home sweet sweet!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I was reading the reveiws and was honestly tooken back by the negative ones.I have stayed at the California Best Inn numerious times as well as many other hotels in Bakersfield CA,this place of ALL is the only i would recommend for anyone!I have never came accross one problem staying here,I have always felt 100% comfortable,100% safe,and left 100% pleased.This place is family owned,and family oriented.How anybody came up with drugs and prostatution boggles my mind.I personally dont know how this place would come accross as such only thing i could think of is if you are involved in doing so,along with the owner having to kick you out i gaurenty there is a reason behind that as well.I would much rather stay in a place with management who is hands on and willing to ask other costumers to leave if needed its nice to have managemnt there to manage!oposed to managemnt that does nothing at all and could care less if your staying in a room next to a rowdy bunch.The rooms are very nice,clean and spacious.The beds are alwaaays clean rather big and real comfertable ,Bathrooms are nice and clean.The fridgerator and microwave both spotless clean!I love the pool area CLEAN POOL AND SPA a nice place for you and the family to enjoy exspecially summer time. All and all this place is the BEST STAY FOR THE PRICE.

Room Tip: The rooms closer to the front are nicer,or on the side of the pool if you are staying a few days or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

For the price this place is very very nice. The owner is a nice guy and takes pride in his place. Pool and spa were clean. Convienent location. Nice beds. I came for work and will definitely stay here again. Staff were all very nice and very professional. Did I mention great value? Not sure what else to say... Yes sir! You betcha!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to California Best Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about California Best Inn

Address: 1030 Wible Road, Bakersfield, CA 93304 (Formerly Travelodge Plaza Inn)
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 57 hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your California Best Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Best Hotel Bakersfield
Best Inn Bakersfield
Bakersfield Best Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage California Best Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.