We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“showed wrong room!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Bakersfield

Save Saved
You added Travelodge Bakersfield to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Bakersfield
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1011 Oak St, Bakersfield, CA 93304 (Formerly Quality Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 1000 Points
Ranked #41 of 57 hotels in Bakersfield
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“showed wrong room!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We visited this hotel earlier in the day and asked to see the room offered on the coupon. Check in wasn't until 3pm and when we went back we were told that the room shown to us was not the room offered on the coupon! We wasted a day waiting for a room that had been incorrectly shown to us....and there wasn't even an apology! We have spent 2 months touring the USA and this is the first time we have received such careless service! One has to question the integrity of the staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    29
    24
    16
    32
See reviews for
43
17
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, Ca.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We were traveling north & decided to break the trip up into two days. Chose this spot to simply get some sleep and then hit the road the next morning. That sort of travel suits this place well. It's not a Bad hotel, just not impressive. Yet of course, we were looking for a cheap nights stay & the price was right.

The room was sorely in need of upgrades, though clean. We didn't notice until the morning the lovely view from our balcony of the parking lot. The complimentary breakfast consisted exclusively of carbs. No protein anywhere to be found, I would have settled for a hard boiled egg - if there'd been one. Walking in & out the door to the breakfast area, you had to pass a large trash bin swarming with LOTS of bees... this was unacceptable. While "dining" in the patio, the bees were persistent in hovering around us. This is a Problem that should be addressed.

The woman working the breakfast area (standing there) seemed irritated with us for placing our trays on the trash bin, instead of bringing them inside. Would a sign be helpful?

Overall a VERY average stay & good for a nights rest.
It's the old thing of: ya get what ya pay for....

Room Tip: a room near the pool would have at least had a nicer view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelodge010, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Bakersfield, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We take all comments from your guests seriously and use these comments to make improvements wherever needed. We hope you will return to see all the improvements and upgrades we have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artesia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I found Travelodge was easy to get to, right off the highway and restaurants walking distance and it was very quiet and clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Man, I didn't see the reviews before I reserved this room! I had a very long drive and decided I just needed a place!

This place is old, very seedy, looks dangerous, parking is dark, stains on the covers. I had to use disinfectant spray on all the sheets and pillows. NOT GOOD! I had enough internet to write this review!

Front desk guy was nice but...OMG just look at the pictures! I almost left but, I think I can survive for a few hours. Just enough rest to keep driving.

This is my second BAD experience with Travelodge in 3 days! I am threw with this chain!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Travelodge Bakersfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Bakersfield

Also Known As:
Travelodge Bakersfield Hotel
Travelodge Bakersfield Hotel Bakersfield
Address: 1011 Oak St, Bakersfield, CA 93304 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 57 hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Bakersfield 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Travelodge Bakersfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Bakersfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.