We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay her” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Bakersfield

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Bakersfield to your Saves list
Travelodge Bakersfield
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1011 Oak St, Bakersfield, CA 93304 (Formerly Quality Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #40 of 59 Hotels in Bakersfield
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Don't stay her”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

This is no place to take the kid. The rooms at ok but thin pillows and worse towels on This must be a meeting place for the local druggies and drinkers. The police responded to a altercation in the next room and a all night party in the room above really noisy place. I would have left and aske for a refund but was too tired. I will never stay here again. What a joke and would be comical except for the fact that the whole place is pretty frightening after dark. I'm sure the police show up here pretty often.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    42
    39
    27
    44
See reviews for
62
30
17
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I had 4 lobby interactions, and each time the person behind the desk was very rude and abrupt. The back parking lot is so dark and concealed that I was afraid to leave my car. The front parking lot spaces are so small my Jetta barely fit and I got a door ding. The rooms are so close to the 99 freeway that you hear each car. The walls are so thin you can understand your neighbors conversations. Do yourself a favor and drop $10 more per night and stay someplace safe and friendly. There are a dozen hotels in this area that aren't nearly as scary or rude.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelodge010, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Bakersfield, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to respond with your comments. We do all we can to make sure our guests are comfortable and enjoy their stay. We are sorry you did not have a pleasant stay. We have recently installed new brighter lights in our rear parking lot, making it much brighter in that area. Also, please know we will use your comments to make our service even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The Travellodge Bakersfield costs about 40% of a 3.5 Star hotel in the city, and provides in my estimate about 80% of the value. In my book, that's a good deal. It's conveniently located for travelers going either East/West (Hwy 58) or North/South (Hwy 99). it's clean, has reasonably good accomodations, and free internet (where the 3.5 Star hotels i've stayed at charge for internet). The modest but adequate Continental breakfast saves $8-$12 compared to stopping for coffee and breakfast at a typical fast food place. Again, the 3.5 Star hotels don't offer free breakfast. I've dealt with 3 people at the desk. The two gentlemen I've dealt with at the desk are friendly, helpful, and accomodating. There are a number of good-to-reasonable restaurants and convenience stores that are walking distance from the hotel. I don't want to stay in all parts of Bakersfield, but the Travelodge is in a fairly good part of town. I stay there on a regular basis on my way to and from from Las Vegas to Monterey.

Room Tip: I think they're all about the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelodge010, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Bakersfield, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to respond with your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I booked on Hotels.com, took the family, only stayed one night...THANK GOODNESS! The pictures aren't up to date. I mentioned that to the manager and he stated that they are scheduling a new set of photo's soon. They say they provide Cribs, the Manager told me they don't have any, but will be ordering one. ONE!! My daughter took her shoes off and within 20 minutes her feet were black and I mean BLACK from the dirt on the carpet. I can't speak for all bathrooms but our shoes were sticking to the floor in ours so I went and got some cleaners and cleaned the floor and the tub before any showers were taken. The staff is nice and they are very quick to please. Yet they can only work with what they have. We also had a private deck that I would say hadn't been cleaned in at least a year!! I wish I had taken pictures of the chairs out there it was so disgusting.

Room Tip: Even though we booked with Hotels.com and trusted that the hotel would have a crib...call the Hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Travelodge Bakersfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Bakersfield

Address: 1011 Oak St, Bakersfield, CA 93304 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 59 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Bakersfield 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Wyndham, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Travelodge Bakersfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Bakersfield Hotel Bakersfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Bakersfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.