We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miserable experience!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Bakersfield

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Bakersfield to your Saves list
Travelodge Bakersfield
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1011 Oak St, Bakersfield, CA 93304 (Formerly Quality Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #41 of 57 Hotels in Bakersfield
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Miserable experience!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

I stayed one night, woke up itching with bites all over my body. Went to take a shower and there was no water pressure. The water coming out of the shower head was literally dripping. I later found out they were bedbugs. I told the front desk immediately. I checked out. It is day seven since my stay there and I am finally starting to get over the bites. They are very noticeable, red, some blistered up and I have had to wear long sleeve shirts, long pants, etc...to cover up in 100 degree weather. Miserable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelodge010, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Bakersfield, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
The hotel is sprayed for insects on a regular basis. We do not have bedbugs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    34
    36
    25
    39
See reviews for
56
24
17
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

You dont want to stay here. Rooms are a mess, I think there are sex stains on my chair, carpets are so stained that you are afraid to walk around in bare feet. Breakfast??? NO. "Continental breakfast" the host said. Last time I stayed here several years ago, there was a hot tub...a hot breakfast with ok food...now crap. Stay somewhere else not here. The owner puts more into his Mercedes parked out front then the rooms. Wyndham would and should pull this off their lists. Nasty and itch after staying here.

Room Tip: Just dont stay here, bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011 via mobile

It was a cheap Internet booking, the rooms were cheap and nasty and the tables at breakfast were a delight of icky sticky yuck. The owner has stopped all but the minimum of cereal and coffee.The front desk barely looked at you when you checked in. A truly horrible place.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

We got this room through Travelocity. I don't intend on using them again. When we went to the lobby to get the room it seemed like an OK hotel. But I had been driving for a long time and visited with family - so I can say I was tired and probably had a lapse in judgment because I just wanted to relax.

Immediately upon entering the room I was disgusted and started dry heaving.

The carpet was exactly as another reviewer in 2008 described "The room carpet was dark blue and, looking at in full daylight, had clearly hidden many, many sins over the decades. The darkness was more a function of deeply embedded dirt and stains rather than a purposeful attempt at color." Still blue, still nasty, three years later.

I was afraid to walk in there without shoes on. I stayed in room 125. The room stank, the halls stank, and nothing was good.

I called the desk not even 10 minutes into my stay and asked for a clean room. The receptionist said "all of our rooms are equally dirty." I repeated what she said to me to be sure I heard what she said and yes she said that.

I left the hotel, half in denial and half hoping that if I went away they'd make an attempt to clean it. But no. When I got back 3 hours later it was still scandalous.

I called Travelocity, since that's who we booked through. They called the manager Sanjay Saha. Mr. Saha was absolutely unreasonable and eventually hung up on Travelocity and me. Travelocity called them back to get his name and he gave it to them but that was all. He refused to fix the problem.

It was about 11 pm by then so we wound up staying overnight since I had no where else to go and it was memorial day weekend - all of the surrounding hotels were booked.

I didn't risk eating the free breakfast.

This experience was not only disappointing but slightly traumatic. I will not stay at another travelodge or use travelocity to get my hotels ever again.

Please stay away from this hotel. There is absolutely nothing they can do, short of demolition, that would make this hotel worth acknowledging let alone staying at.

I didn't even mention the high drug trafficking going on, the police search helicopters flying around and the Air Conditioning not working!!! Oh it was plugged in, but it did not work. If you've been to Bakersfield, you know how important air conditioner is.

I stayed there on May 27, 2011.

Room Tip: To get the best room, go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

This was by far the worst place I have ever been. Upon arriving, the main lobby smelled of urine, walking by the pool reminded me of a pond and once we got to our room I just about vomitted from the smell and disgust. There were water stains on the ceiling with black mold. Instead of purchasing new mattresses for the customer they simply tried to cover the urine stained mattress with a mattress pad. Because of this experience I will no longer stay at any Travel Lodge. No wonder they accept animals here. They try to justify how filthy the rooms are by allowing animals to stay.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra $ stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

Do not stay here. Repeat do NOT stay here. It is a dirty, disguisting, outdated DUMP!! We arrived late in the evening. Upon inspection of the building we asked for a refund but were not granted one. Because we were so tired we decided to give the hotel the benefit of the doubt and stay the night. Big mistake! The mattresses were terrible - you know the kind where you roll right into the middle of the bed. There were shady characters everywhere. We packed up the kids and left at 2AM. We contacted the hotel the next day for a refund and got a the run around from the lady at the counter. How can you be an employee and not know who the manager is? Waste of money.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

place was so dirty should be shutdown by health department. Apparently newly painted room (#104) was pretty much just as bad !

Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Bakersfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Bakersfield

Address: 1011 Oak St, Bakersfield, CA 93304 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 57 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Bakersfield 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Wyndham, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge Bakersfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Bakersfield Hotel Bakersfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Bakersfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.