We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At least nothing got stolen” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Bakersfield Airport

Save Saved
You added Motel 6 Bakersfield Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Booking.com
and 2 more sites!
Motel 6 Bakersfield Airport
5241 Olive Tree Court, Bakersfield, CA 93308   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 57 hotels in Bakersfield
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“At least nothing got stolen”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I agree with with Justin_DBC, one of the worst Motel 6's I've stayed at. Except my room had no carpet. The bathroom was rundown and the sink drain leaked out all over the floor. Yes the parking lot had shady characters hanging out. Yes the hot beverage machine in the lobby was a plus. And yes the fridge and microwave were a plus. And the ice machine actually worked, I've been to many places it didn't.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabondinnsouth, Owner at Motel 6 Bakersfield Airport, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your Input. We are constantly working on our product to better serve our valued guests. We are under new ownership and we are in the middle of renovations, We are going to be changing out the sinks and remodel the bathrooms . The wood floor is part of the new motel 6 Phoenix room scheme. We have had plenty of good rsponse to that upgrade. Although we have never had theft issues we also have security on site. We are glad you took the time to review our hotel and we will take your information to make adjustments and better serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    9
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
6
7
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

You get what you pay. This is a no-frills motel with everything you can need to rest. They offered free coffee which was a plus, free wi-fi and the room was clean, although a little old.
I used the washing machine /drying machine even though it closes during at night. The staff was correct.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabondinnsouth, Owner at Motel 6 Bakersfield Airport, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your pictures and review we will use all your information and make the adjustments to better serve you and all future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Average Hotel, Very clean and friendly staff. After driving and being tired im glad I stayed here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

I don't know how this place is getting even average reviews. I've stayed at plenty of Motel 6 locations (unfortunately my company has a corporate account) and this is the worst. Apparently it's worse than the one that the rest of the guys stayed at last time a few miles south on the 5. Gum, body fluid stains, and other assorted nastiness all over the carpet to a point where I needed to wear socks at a minimum while walking around. The parking lot looked like a frickin' tweaker convention and I highly doubt any of the tools that are in the truck right now are going to be there in the morning. I've lived in some pretty bad conditions in random war-torn countries throughout the world and I still wouldn't voluntarilly put myself in a place like this again. The only reason it gets even a poor rating is that the room had a working air conditioner and a fridge/microwave. It may be on par for what is around here and plenty cheap, but do yourself a favor.... If you're on a road trip and have a choice to stop in Bakersfield or keep driving another couple hours, KEEP DRIVING!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

Hey, it's Motel Seis, and for under $35 a night it's hard to beat. Sure, it's worn and some stuff is broken, but it clean and the staff is accommodating. It's set away from the freeway, so it relativity quiet. A lot of working guys staying for a few weeks, some truckers, senors on a budget and assorted whack jobs. The beds are reasonably comfortable and all the ACs are new and work great. I stayed because of work for about three weeks. Here's some tips: check out your room before you get settled. See that the TV & remote works, the shower has water pressure, the toilet seat is on tight and the door lock works. Check your WiFi connection if that's important to you, it's iffy. Also, bring a nice, soft bath towel. The ones provided are like sandpaper. And the most important item, EAR PLUGS. Count on somebody in the next room keeping the TV on all night, or doing the horizontal bop above you at 3am. All in all, for the money, a good place.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

we stayed at this hotel for almost three weeks due to business. It worked very well-the price was right, the accomodations were adequate, and the staff was pleasant and friendly. It is a Motel 6 so you know going it that it is not a luxury hotel. However, they do better than a lot of Motel 6--they are updated, there was a semi load of new mattresses and springs unloaded while we were there, I suspect in time, this will be a lot nicer hotel when all the improvements are made. The air conditioning is all new, and worked great. The staff couldnt have been nicer, they were helpful and kind and patient. We have dogs so to find a hotel so pleasant and receptive to them means a lot.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingman, Arizona
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Traveling with my brother. Arrived after dark and was greeted by a friendly staff member. Had not made reservations and rooms were available. Fast and easy. Facility appeared a little older and worn but the grounds were clean and well lit. Local area felt reasonably safe. Located close to restaurants. The room was very basic and what I expect of the standard Motel 6. It appeared worn but not unpleasant. Carpet was not completely clean but it was not unpleasant. Found an empty package for box cutters behind a cabinet and a blade with it. Did not utilize the internet. Bathroom area had new, modern fixtures, and it was clean. Basic amenities. The bed was worn but acceptable. The air conditioner appeared new and it thoroughly froze us out ;-)

Overall, this is only a very basic place to crash out for the night. I would stay there anytime. As for my own family traveling without me, I would not have them stay at this facility as it is too basic.

Cleanliness was lacking. As for that box cutter box and blade I could see how it would've been missed. Kids find that sort of thing and that is unacceptable.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Motel 6 Bakersfield Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Bakersfield Airport

Also Known As:
Motel 6 Bakersfield Airport Hotel Bakersfield
Motel 6 Bakersfield Airport Hotel
Motel 6 Bakersfield
Motel Six Bakersfield
Bakersfield Motel Six
Bakersfield Motel 6
Address: 5241 Olive Tree Court, Bakersfield, CA 93308
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 57 hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Bakersfield Airport California is located off of SR 99 at Olive Drive, in the Southern end of the San Joaquin Valley. Meadows Field Airport is only 1 mile away. Enjoy our outdoor pool. Free Wi-Fi is available in all guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Motel 6 Bakersfield Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Bakersfield Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.