We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price, good room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Bakersfield Airport

Save Saved
You added Motel 6 Bakersfield Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Motel 6 Bakersfield Airport
5241 Olive Tree Court, Bakersfield, CA 93308   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 57 Hotels in Bakersfield
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good price, good room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

You get what you pay. This is a no-frills motel with everything you can need to rest. They offered free coffee which was a plus, free wi-fi and the room was clean, although a little old.
I used the washing machine /drying machine even though it closes during at night. The staff was correct.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabondinnsouth, Owner at Motel 6 Bakersfield Airport, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your pictures and review we will use all your information and make the adjustments to better serve you and all future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    9
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
6
8
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Average Hotel, Very clean and friendly staff. After driving and being tired im glad I stayed here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

Hey, it's Motel Seis, and for under $35 a night it's hard to beat. Sure, it's worn and some stuff is broken, but it clean and the staff is accommodating. It's set away from the freeway, so it relativity quiet. A lot of working guys staying for a few weeks, some truckers, senors on a budget and assorted whack jobs. The beds are reasonably comfortable and all the ACs are new and work great. I stayed because of work for about three weeks. Here's some tips: check out your room before you get settled. See that the TV & remote works, the shower has water pressure, the toilet seat is on tight and the door lock works. Check your WiFi connection if that's important to you, it's iffy. Also, bring a nice, soft bath towel. The ones provided are like sandpaper. And the most important item, EAR PLUGS. Count on somebody in the next room keeping the TV on all night, or doing the horizontal bop above you at 3am. All in all, for the money, a good place.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

we stayed at this hotel for almost three weeks due to business. It worked very well-the price was right, the accomodations were adequate, and the staff was pleasant and friendly. It is a Motel 6 so you know going it that it is not a luxury hotel. However, they do better than a lot of Motel 6--they are updated, there was a semi load of new mattresses and springs unloaded while we were there, I suspect in time, this will be a lot nicer hotel when all the improvements are made. The air conditioning is all new, and worked great. The staff couldnt have been nicer, they were helpful and kind and patient. We have dogs so to find a hotel so pleasant and receptive to them means a lot.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingman, Arizona
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Traveling with my brother. Arrived after dark and was greeted by a friendly staff member. Had not made reservations and rooms were available. Fast and easy. Facility appeared a little older and worn but the grounds were clean and well lit. Local area felt reasonably safe. Located close to restaurants. The room was very basic and what I expect of the standard Motel 6. It appeared worn but not unpleasant. Carpet was not completely clean but it was not unpleasant. Found an empty package for box cutters behind a cabinet and a blade with it. Did not utilize the internet. Bathroom area had new, modern fixtures, and it was clean. Basic amenities. The bed was worn but acceptable. The air conditioner appeared new and it thoroughly froze us out ;-)

Overall, this is only a very basic place to crash out for the night. I would stay there anytime. As for my own family traveling without me, I would not have them stay at this facility as it is too basic.

Cleanliness was lacking. As for that box cutter box and blade I could see how it would've been missed. Kids find that sort of thing and that is unacceptable.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bruno, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

Great AC, very clean rooms, and I couldn't find a better rate (and I looked.) All in all I found it a nice and comfortable motel. The ladies at the front desk were very helpfull with providing me directions aswell.

The wifi is only in certain rooms though, so you have to ask for wifi at check in, which I did not. A simple phone call though and the desk lady moved me to another room.

I'll be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2010

This was my first time in CA, and I admit, I'm a bumpkin from the Midwest and proud of it. But the people around this place were crazy. The hotel was nice, they had just cleaned our room and it smelled great! The room was typical, small, outdoor corridors, but it was cheap and they allow dogs, (we had one). The pool is beautiful, it was nice weather for us, in the 60's and we loved the green grass and palm trees. The place was easy to find, the staff was a little spacey. The girl at the front desk couldn't get the amount of nights were were staying correct, and we had a resvervation for only ONE night! She was weird. My daughter paid for the WiFi and she got that wrong, too. The room was typical, small, but like I said it was very clean. We thought we'd have a pleasant night before hitting the road and then the neighbors checked in. OMG. There were FIVE adults, THREE kids and a dog next door in that tiny room! And it was party time. The only woman there had green hair, and three of the four "gentlemen" looked like Kid Rock wannbees. The fourth guy kept going outside and standing in front of OUR room to smoke and talk on the phone, which was okay until he started yelling at people on his phone. He also spent a lot of time sitting on the stairs right outside our room with Miss Greenhair drinking and smoking. Later a woman from the room on the other side of us came running out screaming she was going to call the sheriff and some guy ran down the stairs and headed to the office. That same woman then grabbed her overnight bag with belongings falling out and got into her car and took off. Another man dressed in what looked like a Security uniform then walked around the place completely missing the area where all the "activity" was going on! In the morning an extremely heavy young woman was outside our door yelling to her friend in another room while she stood there in a bra/bustier and jeans. Needless to say, we left CA first thing in the morning without shedding a tear. Goodbye CA.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Bakersfield Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Bakersfield Airport

Address: 5241 Olive Tree Court, Bakersfield, CA 93308
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 57 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Bakersfield Airport California is located off of SR 99 at Olive Drive, in the Southern end of the San Joaquin Valley. Meadows Field Airport is only 1 mile away. Enjoy our outdoor pool. Free Wi-Fi is available in all guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Motel 6 Bakersfield Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Bakersfield Airport Hotel Bakersfield
Motel Six Bakersfield
Bakersfield Motel Six
Bakersfield Motel 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Bakersfield Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.