We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was a good place to stay.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Bakersfield Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Bakersfield Airport to your Saves list
Motel 6 Bakersfield Airport
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   5241 Olive Tree Court, Bakersfield, CA 93308   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 59 Hotels in Bakersfield
Kingman, Arizona
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“This was a good place to stay.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Traveling with my brother. Arrived after dark and was greeted by a friendly staff member. Had not made reservations and rooms were available. Fast and easy. Facility appeared a little older and worn but the grounds were clean and well lit. Local area felt reasonably safe. Located close to restaurants. The room was very basic and what I expect of the standard Motel 6. It appeared worn but not unpleasant. Carpet was not completely clean but it was not unpleasant. Found an empty package for box cutters behind a cabinet and a blade with it. Did not utilize the internet. Bathroom area had new, modern fixtures, and it was clean. Basic amenities. The bed was worn but acceptable. The air conditioner appeared new and it thoroughly froze us out ;-)

Overall, this is only a very basic place to crash out for the night. I would stay there anytime. As for my own family traveling without me, I would not have them stay at this facility as it is too basic.

Cleanliness was lacking. As for that box cutter box and blade I could see how it would've been missed. Kids find that sort of thing and that is unacceptable.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    8
    4
    6
See reviews for
7
9
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Bruno, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

Great AC, very clean rooms, and I couldn't find a better rate (and I looked.) All in all I found it a nice and comfortable motel. The ladies at the front desk were very helpfull with providing me directions aswell.

The wifi is only in certain rooms though, so you have to ask for wifi at check in, which I did not. A simple phone call though and the desk lady moved me to another room.

I'll be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2010

This was my first time in CA, and I admit, I'm a bumpkin from the Midwest and proud of it. But the people around this place were crazy. The hotel was nice, they had just cleaned our room and it smelled great! The room was typical, small, outdoor corridors, but it was cheap and they allow dogs, (we had one). The pool is beautiful, it was nice weather for us, in the 60's and we loved the green grass and palm trees. The place was easy to find, the staff was a little spacey. The girl at the front desk couldn't get the amount of nights were were staying correct, and we had a resvervation for only ONE night! She was weird. My daughter paid for the WiFi and she got that wrong, too. The room was typical, small, but like I said it was very clean. We thought we'd have a pleasant night before hitting the road and then the neighbors checked in. OMG. There were FIVE adults, THREE kids and a dog next door in that tiny room! And it was party time. The only woman there had green hair, and three of the four "gentlemen" looked like Kid Rock wannbees. The fourth guy kept going outside and standing in front of OUR room to smoke and talk on the phone, which was okay until he started yelling at people on his phone. He also spent a lot of time sitting on the stairs right outside our room with Miss Greenhair drinking and smoking. Later a woman from the room on the other side of us came running out screaming she was going to call the sheriff and some guy ran down the stairs and headed to the office. That same woman then grabbed her overnight bag with belongings falling out and got into her car and took off. Another man dressed in what looked like a Security uniform then walked around the place completely missing the area where all the "activity" was going on! In the morning an extremely heavy young woman was outside our door yelling to her friend in another room while she stood there in a bra/bustier and jeans. Needless to say, we left CA first thing in the morning without shedding a tear. Goodbye CA.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

This was my least favorite place to stay on my entire trip. I could not get the air conditioner to work. The shower just was not up to par and even leaked. If you have another option, try it.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quintana Roo, Mexico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

The room was very clean and the motel looks either newly remodeled or kept up VERY well. Room for pets to pee and pool for the kids (outdoor). Ice machine at the office. Carpet was very clean but maybe the room condition might have been so good as we were on the 2nd floor. Took a wet towel and stepped on it on the carpet - no dirt. Which was good, as we had 4 kids in the room with us. :) Very happy with our stay here. We've driven from the Caribbean to California and are on our way to Wisconsin, then back to Mexico. This is one of the cleanest motels we've been in - especially for the price. Single was $39 and our double (2 adults, 2 beds) was $40 including tax.

Only problem was the wifi - we paid for a card but it can only be used by ONE computer. Even if you log off the connection, no other computer can use that code. Really sucks with 2 teenagers and 2 adults. I had asked the front staff about that before paying for Wifi but she didn't know if more than one computer could access at the same time. Now we know. Not too many channels on the TV either (well the little ones wanted Animal Planet).

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
119 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

It's what you would expect. Cheap, fairly clean, minimal broken stuff in the room, and decent service. We just stopped for the night on our way through town and it worked fine for that.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2009

Lots of competition in this clump of hotels = a great rate - $32 for this stay. My expectations were adjusted for a Motel 6 and this place was a nice one. Room was basic but quiet and comfortable. Grocery store and restaraunts nearby and within walking distance. There was a pool and deck area in the center of the property. All was very acceptable and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
0.2 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bakersfield North
Vagabond Inn Bakersfield North
#35 of 59 in Bakersfield
3.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
8.5 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South
Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South
#22 of 59 in Bakersfield
4.0 of 5 stars 240 reviews
15.8 mi away
Vagabond Inn Buttonwillow I-5
Vagabond Inn Buttonwillow I-5
#24 of 59 in Bakersfield
3.5 of 5 stars 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Historic Downtowner Inn
Historic Downtowner Inn
#34 of 59 in Bakersfield
3.5 of 5 stars 85 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North
6.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Bakersfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Bakersfield Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Bakersfield Airport

Address: 5241 Olive Tree Court, Bakersfield, CA 93308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 59 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Bakersfield Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Bakersfield Airport California is located off of SR 99 at Olive Drive, in the Southern end of the San Joaquin Valley. Meadows Field Airport is only 1 mile away. Enjoy our outdoor pool. Free Wi-Fi is available in all guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Motel-6, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Motel 6 Bakersfield Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Bakersfield Airport Hotel Bakersfield
Motel Six Bakersfield
Bakersfield Motel 6
Bakersfield Motel Six

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Bakersfield Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.