We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable, for and Economy Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Bakersfield Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Motel 6 Bakersfield Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel 6 Bakersfield Convention Center
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1350 Easton Drive, Bakersfield, CA 93309   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 57 hotels in Bakersfield
Bishop, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Reasonable, for and Economy Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed on February 14th as a pit stop on a trip to the Monterey area. We arrived around 9:00 p.m. and left fairly early.

The hotel was clean. Check-in was at the night desk, and other then feeling she could have hurried more or been a bit more friendly, it was fine. Parking, etc. felt a bit exposed, but this is a busy part of Bakersfield, near the freeway....hard to complain about it being loud and active.

The biggest negative was the thinness of the walls, particularly the exterior wall. We were on the second floor (would advise trying for first floor, but we knew we'd probably be out of luck with our late arrival). We were right at the top of the stairs. People coming up were amazingly loud and rude....but that isn't really Motel 6's fault. But what was amazing is how the movements on the stairs and balcony transferred into our room. It felt almost literally like we were on the other side of a trampoline from a bouncing child.

If this had kept us from sleeping well, I would have lowered to 2 stars (as it is, this is probably like 2.5 stars). But we slept well, which probably means the beds were decent (and yes, we were tired).

And now a general complaint.....its kind of a bummer that clocks and kleenex seem to be going away in motel rooms.

Coffee available in the lobby in the morning was a plus. I think we will try something else in this class, or, if we have any extra money, upgrade a bit, before we stay here again as we pass through Bakersfield.

Room Tip: Stay on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    9
    6
    0
    5
See reviews for
4
3
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Typical nice Motel 6. Staff was friendly. Neighborhood seems nice- right off highway so easy to get to. Rooms and grounds nice and clean. Grass for dog to go in. Places to eat near by. We would come back!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This was our 2nd time staying here; once again, traveling between cities. This time, we were not able to reserve the room before arrival and so we did not get the $45.99 price, however, $50+tax for a clean room with amenities, working TV, clean sheets & towels is still a great value for the money. Once again, one can get the morning coffee before going to the restaurant for their breakfast. This is a very good place to stay while driving between cities and get tired and need a place to crash before continuing the next morning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We were traveling through, got tired of driving and stopped by this Motel 6. The location is very convenient, close to the main highway. The room was very clean with basic amenities, working television and no-smoke smelling room. In the morning, you can get your first cup of coffee in the office until you get your breakfast at one of the lcoal restaurants in the surrounding area. Making a reservation 20-30 minutes before arrival we were able to get the $45.99+tax rate for a room with two Queen beds.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I stayed here earlier this week and found it to be a really good value with a great location near downtown. Like most Motel 6s the room was very spartan. So, make sure you bring your own shampoo, for instance. However, the room was extremely clean and had all the basics. The staff was also very friendly and helpful. For example, on the second night my door key stopped working and they were able to fix it in seconds.

There are also a lot of places to eat within walking distances and a nice Barnes & Noble across the street, which has a Starbucks Cafe and really good free Wi-Fi.

Overall, I had a good stay. However, I have a few minor complaints. Number 1, there were no Kleenexes in the room. (I had to make do with toilet paper.) Second, the Wi-Fi was so weak it was basically useless. What's worse, they charge $2.99 a day for it. Third, I was propositioned by a hooker in the parking lot. (Fortunately, I told her I wasn't interested and she left me alone.)

Still, I can definitely recommend them due to the location near the freeway and downtown, the price, the quality of the room, and the excellent staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

WE stopped off here for one night when travelling through the area on the way to Yosemite. The location is perfect very close to the main highway and yet pretty quiet. The hotel offered reasonable basic accommodation for a very good price. This included free wi fi. A couple of reasonable earting houses close by and a great Barnes and NOble store with a coffee shop if you wnat to spend a few minutes browsing. This is not a swanky place (that is not what Motel 6 offer) but the welcome was warm anf the rooms perfectly adequate for a quick stop pver.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zillah, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012 via mobile

We live out of state & My mom had surgery. We stayed here for 6 nights @ $42 total a night & recieved excellent friendly service, the front desk & house keepers were amazing & so kind & friendly!
We stayed in the handi-cap room which was very convenient, also, Carrows was in the parking lot across the street which is pretty much like a Dennys & open 24hrs, Del Taco, El Pollo Loco, Java Detour, Mcdonalds & Sizzlers were all walking distance!!
And the StarPlex Theatre where they show $1.00 movies & serve $1.00 hotdogs was conveniently located one block away:)

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Motel 6 Bakersfield Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Bakersfield Convention Center

Address: 1350 Easton Drive, Bakersfield, CA 93309
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 57 hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Bakersfield Convention Center 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Motel 6 Bakersfield Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Six Bakersfield
Bakersfield Motel 6
Bakersfield Motel Six

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Bakersfield Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.