We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel just a few small things to make it better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Bakersfield

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Bakersfield to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Bakersfield
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3601 Marriott Drive, Bakersfield, CA 93308   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast + WiFi
Ranked #20 of 57 Hotels in Bakersfield
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel just a few small things to make it better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My Husband and I stayed at the Courtyard Marriott Bakersfield for one night as part of our trip around the US. The service from the person on check in was very good and she was friendly and polite. We have gold status with Marriott rewards and expected breakfast to be included as part of our stay. At this particular hotel it is not the case but the check in employee explained this to us politely and handled all our other enquiries in the same way.
Our room was on the ground floor with a sliding door opening the the car park. The screen was a little broken and didn't seem to close properly. It was very hot anyway so we had the aircon and the door closed. The room was very nice and spacious with a comfortable king bed and nice TV. The bar fridge was welcome as we have found many hotels in the US don't seem to have them as standard. I have milk in my coffee and would have liked some complementary UHT portions to go with the sugar etc. However I was able to buy a small milk from the bistro.
The bathroom was clean and adequate in size and design. I was disappointed in the complimentary toiletries that were offered. We travel light and rely on the soap, shampoo and conditioner in the hotels where we stay. This particular Marriott only had a tiny bottle of shampoo and conditioner for the two of us to share and two bars of soap. There was no shower cap or shower wash or moisturizer/body lotion.
So overall a very nice place to spend the night but could supply more complimentary toiletries.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BFLCHGM, General Manager at Courtyard Bakersfield, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you so much for the kind words and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at the Bakersfield Courtyard. Unlike the full service Marriott's, the Select Service Brands do not offer as many amenties in the room, but many can be gotten at the front desk, such as lotion and shower caps. Again, thank you and please think of us the next time you travel through Bakersfield.

Jenny Gatlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    43
    27
    10
    3
See reviews for
24
23
4
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Novato, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

Had a bad experience on a previous night so we went with a sure thing by staying at a Marriott. They did not disappoint. Clean property centrally located and comfortable bed. The only suggestion is that they have complimentary good coffee and some light breakfast for guests. It seems most others do provide that and Marriott commands a fair price for their room.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BFLCHGM, General Manager at Courtyard Bakersfield, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you TL Girl for staying with us on your way to Vegas. We are a great stop for travelers such as yourself. I know it can be a bit confusing, but Courtyard and Full Service properties are the only brands that do not have complimentary breakfast, rather offer a great Bistro and coffee in your room.

Regards,

Jenny Gatlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Gabriel, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Stayed here because the Hilton Garden Inn couldn't help me. Carlos the night concierge was very helpful and accomodating. The room was very nice, clean and spacious. The free breakfast was woderfull. the beds and pillows were very comfortable. Oh and it was about 20.00 cheaper than the Hilton Garden Inn. I would definitely recommend for anyone coming to the bakersfield area

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BFLCHGM, General Manager at Courtyard Bakersfield, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you Pat L for the kind remarks and I'm so glad you enjoyed our hotel. Please think of us the next time you are in town, and hopefully we swayed you for all future stays.

Jenny Gatlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

There were a few changes that need to be made to this hotel. One, the TV goes in and out like your watching satellite TV. This was experiences in other rooms as well with my coworkers. Two the shower could use a little more pressure. I know they like to conserve water but, it's hard to wash your hair when it's kinda low. Other than those 2 things. The hotel was great, friendly workers and located in a great area with lots of restaurants to choose from.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BFLCHGM, General Manager at Courtyard Bakersfield, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Bakersfield Courtyard and the suggestions you made regarding the room. Our staff loves what they do and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.

Regards,

Jenny Gatlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Stayed here for one night on our way to Las Vegas. Great value for money, room was excellent. Best part was the free breakfast the next morning eggs, fruit, pastries, toast, cereal etc was a great inclusion to our stay. Would definitely recommend to anyone coming to Bakersfield.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BFLCHGM, General Manager at Courtyard Bakersfield, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Glad we were able to accommodate you while coming through Bakersfield and you were able to participate in the Breakfast included rates.

Best Wishes,
Jenny Gatlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City West, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We have stayed here several times. It is a midway stop when we travel to Sacramento. Nice rooms, great courtyard area, friendly staff. Try to get a room that is on the courtyard, it is a nice place to sit and have a glass of wine. It has easy access from the freeway but far enough from it so there is no noise.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BFLCHGM, General Manager at Courtyard Bakersfield, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Bakersfield Courtyard. Many guests love the patio's and I'm glad you were able to enjoy a nice glass of wine.

Regards,
Jenny Gatlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

From arrival, my check in was attentive and helpful. The room was clean and inviting. Everything worked. Dinner food in the lounge was great and so was the morning breakfast in the dinning room. Large parking lot that is well lit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BFLCHGM, General Manager at Courtyard Bakersfield, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you for the great remarks. I'm so glad you enjoyed our hotel in Bakersfield. When traveling through again, I hope you think of us.

Best Wishes,

Jenny Gatlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Bakersfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Bakersfield

Address: 3601 Marriott Drive, Bakersfield, CA 93308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 57 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Bakersfield 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When searching for Bakersfield hotels, look no further than our Courtyard Bakersfield Hotel and conduct business with ease. As a guest of our Bakersfield hotel, you'll enjoy a new state-of-the-art lobby with flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout, a 24-hour business center and easy access to the latest news, weather & airport conditions via the GoBoard(R). Grab a bite at The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.™, which provides guests with a variety of breakfast offerings, including Starbucks(R) beverages in the morning and dinner service with cocktails. Take a break from your travels at our Bakersfield hotel and relax beside our outdoor pool, soak in the whirlpool or get a brisk workout in at our 24-hour fitness center. Inside your spacious, newly-renovated guest room, you'll find large workspaces, an ergonomic chair and complimentary high-speed internet so you can stay connected. Conveniently situated near Bakersfield airport and near Highway 99, experience the best in Bakersfield accommodations and see how we strive to be your favorite hotel in Bakersfield, CA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Courtyard Bakersfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Bakersfield Hotel Bakersfield
Bakersfield Courtyard
Bakersfield Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Bakersfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.