We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good "overnighter" for us......” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Bakersfield

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Bakersfield to your Saves list
Courtyard Bakersfield
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3601 Marriott Drive, Bakersfield, CA 93308   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 20%!
Ranked #19 of 60 Hotels in Bakersfield
Long Beach
Level Contributor
174 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Good "overnighter" for us......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Wife and I wrapped up a week long trip here after picking up our college freshman son in Merced on way down, so we could attend a Darius Rucker concert playing here at the Fox theater. This property is in the middle of a renovation, so be advised there is construction going on in some of the areas. Our room was newly renovated and quite nice for the 3 of us....a courtyard balcony overlooked the pool and courtyard. There were some access issues due to the work going on, and some of the hallways were blocked off to thru traffic, so we'd have to find ways around to get where we needed to go. They have an indoor hot tub, which we enjoyed the morning before we left. The lobby is all newly done, as is the patio area, with nice furniture to sit and enjoy a drink with friends. There is a bistro where you can purchase food/breakfast. They do offer great coffee in the lobby at no charge. We got a great nights sleep here, and would return as the need arises. We do love all Marriott products at all levels they offer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BFLCHGM, General Manager at Courtyard Bakersfield, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you Kenneth Q for your recent stay at the Bakersfield Courtyard. I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit to Bakersfield, and were able to experience one of our new rooms.

Best Wishes,
Jenny Gatlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
199 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed there as a platinum member of Marriott rewards. Could tell at check-in they had not reviewed our preferences. Tried to put us in ground floor when account asks for top floor. No extra towels or paper. The other issue was the noise. Adjoining room door caused noise from the room next door and the people were not talking that loud.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room that does not have an adjoining inside door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BFLCHGM, General Manager at Courtyard Bakersfield, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you Michael B for your most recent stay at the Bakersfield Courtyard. I apologize for a not so perfect stay and thank you for your honest feedback. I will be looking into the items listed for future training with staff members.

Sincerely,
Jenny Gatlin
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

First,let me say that we enjoyed our stay at this Courtyard. It's close and convenient to our activities and the property was neat, clean and well-kept. We stayed two nights, and despite some rude neighbors, had a very pleasant stay. We had a first floor room, off the main courtyard, with very comfortable beds and plenty of room. Our one complaint was that the towels were unusually rough and somewhat uncomfortable to use.

However, we did have one other issue. When I booked the room on the Marriott website, it indicated that breakfast was included. When we checked in on Friday afternoon, we confirmed this again with the front desk clerk, who said that she had checked our reservation and that it was indeed included. We did not have an opportunity to eat breakfast on Saturday morning, opting instead to join friends, but did visit the Bistro on Sunday morning. After ordering and giving our room number, we were advised that breakfast was not included with our room.

We asked to speak to the manager, and the lady on duty, who's name unfortunately I can't recall, came over, listened to our problem, and after checking our reservation again advised that unfortunately breakfast was not included. Where she really stepped up, and one reason why this review is so positive, is she accepted that the clerk on Friday made an error and, in order to make it right, gave us the complimentary breakfasts we had expected. Throughout, she was thoughtful, professional, and extremely customer oriented. She fixed a problem and kept two very satisfied customers as a result. It annoys me that I can't find her business card because I really like to recognize people for their standout service, and she certainly deserves it!

Room Tip: rooms on the courtyard side seem to be much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BFLCHGM, General Manager at Courtyard Bakersfield, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you Jerry P for your most recent post regarding the Bakersfield Courtyard. The manager's name was Terri, and she does an amazing job for us here at the property. Thank you for your feedback and your praises of Terri.

Best Wishes,
Jenny Gatlin
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I love the lobby. I do like the hotel location as it is just near the expressway and other places to eat.

But unfortunately, I will not come back nor recommend to any of my colleagues at work to stay here. The receipt that I need for the food I ordered was not provided for my trip expense. Too bad. It's to painful to explain to my Manager how I didn't have it.

For just a night I could recommend, but for more than that, good luck.

Wish i could have met their manager and my 4days would have been better and I would have a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thesymmetrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BFLCHGM, General Manager at Courtyard Bakersfield, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you thesymmetrix for updating us on your most recent stay at the Bakersfield Courtyard. I am sorry to hear that you were not given a receipt you could use, but if you will contact Terri at the property, 661-324-6660, I'm she can arrange to get you a receipt. Thanks for your help.

Sincerely,
Jenny Gatlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This was a very nice suite hotel. The living area had a bar/refrigerator setup and the bedroom was well appointed for our brief stay. The mourning breakfast offering was very good and with a number of options of hot/cold items.

Room Tip: choose a high floor to get view and rduction of road/lobby noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BFLCHGM, General Manager at Courtyard Bakersfield, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you Kathryn L for your nice comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and welcome you back soon. We will begin our renovation very soon, therefore you will see our great new transformation to our new look.

Jenny Gatlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed here for three nights and will go back. Bed and pillows were very good but towels are rough. Room is nicely appointed with refrig, work table and good lighting as well as free wifi. Staff and service were wonderful. Very close to resturants and town. Nice to haveBistro in hotel to get meals and snacks. My only complaint is the loud and annoying humming sound coming from the bathroom light fixture.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BFLCHGM, General Manager at Courtyard Bakersfield, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you Linda G for staying at the Courtyard Bakersfield. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Please come again if in the area.

Jenny Gatlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

clean and acceptable...it's just a shame that those standards cost what they do these days but if these courtyards don't start stepping it up there are much nicer options for a fraction more that will be an easier choice to make...it's time for a sprucing up around there. cracked floor in elevator, improperly marked/unmarked fire escape plan in room, old shower tile with aging grout and caulk. desk/furniture kind of worn, scratched up...this lack of attention to detail is starting to become more than just detail and it is starting to become a theme with many of the courtyards I visit.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank travelnowandagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BFLCHGM, General Manager at Courtyard Bakersfield, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you Travelnowandagain for staying at the Bakersfield Courtyard. We are excited to announce we will be getting the much needed "spruce up" you're referring to starting this month. As with the lobby and Bistro area, our rooms will have a complete make over that I think you will enjoy.

Thanks Again,

Jenny Gatlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
#9 of 60 in Bakersfield
4.0 of 5 stars 376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Bakersfield
Comfort Suites Bakersfield
#8 of 60 in Bakersfield
4.5 of 5 stars 151 reviews
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Bakersfield
SpringHill Suites Bakersfield
#17 of 60 in Bakersfield
4.0 of 5 stars 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Padre Hotel
Padre Hotel
#1 of 60 in Bakersfield
4.5 of 5 stars 662 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Bakersfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Bakersfield

Address: 3601 Marriott Drive, Bakersfield, CA 93308
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 60 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Bakersfield 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When searching for Bakersfield hotels, look no further than our Courtyard Bakersfield Hotel and conduct business with ease. As a guest of our Bakersfield hotel, you'll enjoy a new state-of-the-art lobby with flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout, a 24-hour business center and easy access to the latest news, weather & airport conditions via the GoBoard(R). Grab a bite at The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.™, which provides guests with a variety of breakfast offerings, including Starbucks(R) beverages in the morning and dinner service with cocktails. Take a break from your travels at our Bakersfield hotel and relax beside our outdoor pool, soak in the whirlpool or get a brisk workout in at our 24-hour fitness center. Inside your spacious, newly-renovated guest room, you'll find large workspaces, an ergonomic chair and complimentary high-speed internet so you can stay connected. Conveniently situated near Bakersfield airport and near Highway 99, experience the best in Bakersfield accommodations and see how we strive to be your favorite hotel in Bakersfield, CA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Bakersfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Bakersfield Hotel Bakersfield
Bakersfield Courtyard
Bakersfield Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing