We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value in Bakersfield” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Bakersfield

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Bakersfield to your Saves list
Courtyard Bakersfield
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3601 Marriott Drive, Bakersfield, CA 93308   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Wifi & Bonus Points
Ranked #18 of 57 Hotels in Bakersfield
Arroyo Grande, California, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Value in Bakersfield”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This was a very nice suite hotel. The living area had a bar/refrigerator setup and the bedroom was well appointed for our brief stay. The mourning breakfast offering was very good and with a number of options of hot/cold items.

Room Tip: choose a high floor to get view and rduction of road/lobby noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BFLCHGM, General Manager at Courtyard Bakersfield, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you Kathryn L for your nice comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and welcome you back soon. We will begin our renovation very soon, therefore you will see our great new transformation to our new look.

Jenny Gatlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    49
    29
    10
    3
See reviews for
26
27
4
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Marcos, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed here for three nights and will go back. Bed and pillows were very good but towels are rough. Room is nicely appointed with refrig, work table and good lighting as well as free wifi. Staff and service were wonderful. Very close to resturants and town. Nice to haveBistro in hotel to get meals and snacks. My only complaint is the loud and annoying humming sound coming from the bathroom light fixture.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BFLCHGM, General Manager at Courtyard Bakersfield, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you Linda G for staying at the Courtyard Bakersfield. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Please come again if in the area.

Jenny Gatlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

clean and acceptable...it's just a shame that those standards cost what they do these days but if these courtyards don't start stepping it up there are much nicer options for a fraction more that will be an easier choice to make...it's time for a sprucing up around there. cracked floor in elevator, improperly marked/unmarked fire escape plan in room, old shower tile with aging grout and caulk. desk/furniture kind of worn, scratched up...this lack of attention to detail is starting to become more than just detail and it is starting to become a theme with many of the courtyards I visit.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BFLCHGM, General Manager at Courtyard Bakersfield, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you Travelnowandagain for staying at the Bakersfield Courtyard. We are excited to announce we will be getting the much needed "spruce up" you're referring to starting this month. As with the lobby and Bistro area, our rooms will have a complete make over that I think you will enjoy.

Thanks Again,

Jenny Gatlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is near freeways and nestled among other hotels. This hotel is good for a quick stop through town. Clean rooms. Some rooms have a small balcony and a view of the pool. Great customer service. Front desk staff was very courteous.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BFLCHGM, General Manager at Courtyard Bakersfield, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Claud34 thank you for choosing the Courtyard Bakersfield for your quick stop through the area. We look forward to taking care of you on your next visit through Bakersfield.

Regard,

Jenny Gatlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agoura Hills, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed here this past weekend for the AYSO Section Playoffs. The public areas and lobby were very nice, the rooms were ok, nothing great. The service is what sets this Courtyard apart from any other hotel of this class that I have stayed at. The staff was incredibly accommodating especially given the chaos and rowdiness of the soccer teams that were there. The front office staff was always smiling and more than willing to help us find anything we needed in town or on property. The Bistro was, as expected, a bit pricey, but the food was pretty good. The Bistro staff went way above and beyond. On our last night there, we bought In N Out and also brought in our own alcohol. Being that I work in hotels and have a bachelor's in hotel management, I know that most hotels will tell you to leave the lobby if you want to do that and go back to your room. The staff here embraced our byob and food decision. We did not ask, but they brought us ice buckets for our beers and made sure we were taken care of. They even had one member of the staff going around to our tables and such making sure our bottles were open and were clearing our "dishes" without us saying anything. For this class of hotel, this is unheard of!! We were all incredibly impressed!! The next morning one of the people we were traveling with woke up at 430am with a migraine and asked the front office for Excedrin. They did not have any, but that did not stop the front desk agent. She offered to go to a local store and purchase some right away! That offer was declined and the front desk agent then offered to check her purse to see if she had any. She found some and without any hesitation gave some to the person with the migraine.

Mr. Marriott should be very proud of the staff at this property. They truly embody the meaning of hospitality and made our stay in Bakersfield a very memorable one.

The only reason I am not giving this property 5 stars is because of the rooms being rather "cheesy" and the pillows being flat. Other than that, this is an excellent property and if you are in Bakersfield, you should definitely stay here.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BFLCHGM, General Manager at Courtyard Bakersfield, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you so much Kendall for your kind words. Our staff truly loves their job and wants to please. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, and we welcome you back again next year during your soccer tournament.

Regards,

Jenny Gatlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We have stayed here twice now while traveling on business and like this property. The second time we got a room on the inside courtyard with a slider door to a patio which was by the pool. There was nice outdoor seating scattered around, including some comfortable couches. Kids were having a great time in the pool and we enjoyed watching them. The fitness room is ok with two treadmills, an elliptical, and some free weights. No free breakfast which is ok with me as I'm not a big fan of those. They do have a coffee bar with Starbucks coffee and light fare. The coffee was great.

Front desk staff was very pleasant and we took advantage of our AARP membership and got a nice discount on the room. There are a few restaurants within walking distance which is always great after a day of driving. We ate at Black Angus for dinner and it was good.

Our double queen room was big and comfortable with a small fridge. Plenty of electrical outlets for electronics. The internet here is free, which is as it should be and we do book places based on that.

We have stayed in many motels and hotels in Bakersfield and this is one of our favorites. We will return.

Room Tip: Ask for inside next to the Courtyard. Nicer than the parking lot side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BFLCHGM, General Manager at Courtyard Bakersfield, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you Thoosa for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit to Bakersfield.

Sincerely,

Jenny Gatlin
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, CA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed here 1 night while passing through. Conveniently located off freeway 99. New, updated lobby with "Bistro" restaurant/bar. Our room was OK. Probably needs updating as it was pretty bland. Bed was OK, although the comfortable was on the flimsy side. Convenient to a few restaurants and Costco was across the street. Did not have breakfast at the hotel; instead drove 1/2 a mile to an IHOP. Staff was friendly. I would recommend a room away from 99 as there was some road noise.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Bakersfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Bakersfield

Address: 3601 Marriott Drive, Bakersfield, CA 93308
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 57 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Bakersfield 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When searching for Bakersfield hotels, look no further than our Courtyard Bakersfield Hotel and conduct business with ease. As a guest of our Bakersfield hotel, you'll enjoy a new state-of-the-art lobby with flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout, a 24-hour business center and easy access to the latest news, weather & airport conditions via the GoBoard(R). Grab a bite at The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.™, which provides guests with a variety of breakfast offerings, including Starbucks(R) beverages in the morning and dinner service with cocktails. Take a break from your travels at our Bakersfield hotel and relax beside our outdoor pool, soak in the whirlpool or get a brisk workout in at our 24-hour fitness center. Inside your spacious, newly-renovated guest room, you'll find large workspaces, an ergonomic chair and complimentary high-speed internet so you can stay connected. Conveniently situated near Bakersfield airport and near Highway 99, experience the best in Bakersfield accommodations and see how we strive to be your favorite hotel in Bakersfield, CA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Bakersfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Bakersfield Hotel Bakersfield
Bakersfield Courtyard
Bakersfield Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Bakersfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.