We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was Probably Really Nice When New ...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2620 Buck Owens Blvd, Bakersfield, CA 93308 (Formerly Crystal Palace Inn & Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 59 Hotels in Bakersfield
Copperhill, Tennessee
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Was Probably Really Nice When New ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Pros: The grounds here are very pretty & appear to be kept up well. The private balcony was my favorite part of the room, overlooking the gazebo & pool. The bed was comfortable & had nice, soft sheets. Cons: Unpleasant smell in room, & sometimes a sewer-type smell at bottom of outside stairs. Small toilet. (Glad I'm not a big person.) No elevator. The breakfast is definitely more than what you get at most hotels, but missing quality.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    124
    88
    56
    47
See reviews for
121
133
22
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, Usa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

When we first arrived, there was broken car glass in the parking lot - a bit disconcerting! It was simply moved to the curb away from the parking area, but not removed. The pool wasn't very clean, with bugs and leaves floating in the water, but it was a nice pool and hot tub. We really appreciated and enjoyed the daily breakfast that was available at the restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakley, California, Usa
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The hotel is old and in need of repair. When you walk into the room there is a heavy musty smell, needs paint, and is poorly lit. The bathroom door has rot spots on the bottom and rusty hinges. Any traffic "hallway/service road" is loud. But overall the room is clean, but feels unclean. The pool and Spa are good and well kept, The free breakfast is from a menu and served by waitress, food quality was good.
Before leaving on our trip we were thinking of returning to this hotel on our return from Vegas, But after the stay we decided not to. Instead we stayed at the comfort inn around the corner.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, Usa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013


This was the only room I saw with a crooked entry door. Tapering gaps at top and side. Room was fine until I took a shower. There was no outer curtain,. the soap dispenser was empty. The tub didn't drain properly. Very difficult to adjust temperature. The good news was that a paper gift type bag with some semi important items that I forgot to take when I left my room three days earlier, was being held for me when I checked in for the current stay,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Unimpressed! The screen was coming off the window - readily visible from the parking lot; the shower was abysmal - couldn't adjust the water temperature and the pressure through the showerhead was less than adequate. Asked for additional towels and was brought one. Highly doubtful that we will ever stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This best western is in dire need of a huge overhaul. The grounds are nice, the pool is good sized, but the rooms and interior are extremely outdated and old. The staff is courteous and friendly, the neighboring restaurant is average with a simple but tasty menu. The price was not out of line for an average hotel. I would stay again if ever in Bakersfield.

Room Tip: I was near the pool which was quiet even with the activity from other guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Lets first start off that we stayed here yesterday a 107 degree day. We walked in our room and the room was at least 100 and AC broken. We asked to switch rooms and so that's what they did to another room with poor AC unit. At least it worked a little bit. Today as we were packing up our stuff there was a huge roach in the room and so I put it in the toilet as it was wiggling around. My husband was fed up with this hotel by this point and scooped the roach up from the toilet in a bag and walked it down to the office. They gave us 30 % off of our night stay. Breakfast was the only positive about this hotel. We will never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill House
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill House
#13 of 59 in Bakersfield
4.0 of 5 stars 518 reviews
1.3 mi away
Padre Hotel
Padre Hotel
#1 of 59 in Bakersfield
4.5 of 5 stars 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Bakersfield
Comfort Suites Bakersfield
#8 of 59 in Bakersfield
4.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Bakersfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield

Address: 2620 Buck Owens Blvd, Bakersfield, CA 93308 (Formerly Crystal Palace Inn & Suites)
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 59 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical Bakersfield, CA Hotel Near Downtown Welcome to a tropical oasis in the heart of Bakersfield. Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield is set amidst lush landscaping with an Olympic-sized swimming pool, soothing hot tub and relaxing courtyard, among other unique features. Suitable for business trips, family vacations, special events and groups, our Bakersfield, CA hotel is conveniently located within easy access of the vibrant downtown area, where guests will find a variety of shops, restaurants and attractions. Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield features 198 spacious and well-appointed guest rooms with amenities like 42" flat screen TVs with HBO and free Wi-Fi. Just outside your door, our hotel in Bakersfield, CA offers complimentary made-to-order breakfast every morning, a modern fitness center and 4,000 square feet of flexible meeting space. Centrally located to Freeway 99 and Highways 58 and 178, our Bakersfield hotel offers guests premier access to such attractions as the Kern County Fairgrounds, the Buck Owens Crystal Palace, Camelot Park and the Fox Theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Crystal Palace Hotel Bakersfield
Best Western Bakersfield
Bakersfield Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.