We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent facility, but old” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Garden Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Palm Garden Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Palm Garden Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2620 Buck Owens Blvd, Bakersfield, CA 93308 (Formerly Crystal Palace Inn & Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 59 Hotels in Bakersfield
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    119
    87
    55
    46
See reviews for
118
130
22
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Nice clean room with clean remote control. Being a bit of a ' germaphobic ' things like this are important to me.
Nice full hot breakfast in the morning.
Downside 'no elevator'. For folks like us it is an important part of picking a place to stay after a long day of driving. The last thing you want to do is haul your luggage up a flight of stairs. No help was offered at the time of check in even when they watched us struggle.
So if you reserve and have this difficulty ask for a bottom floor.

Room Tip: Situated close to all amenities. Food and gas are real handy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We selected to stay at the Best Western Crystal Place Inn & Suites due to its easy access to the 99 Freeway. After check-in we located our room and it was facing the frontage road on the ground floor. I considered going back to the desk and asking for a room facing off the road, but was tired from an all-day drive and I did not hear any traffic noise so considered it not worth the effort to make a move.

The front facing ground floor rooms are very spacious as it looks like originally these rooms had a porch which has been enclosed. Be aware that the floor is uneven at this transition and slopes downward toward the window a bit. The room was clean, neat and all accessories were functional. As it worked our room was very quiet, no traffic noise, nor did we hear any noise from the occupied rooms on either side or from overhead.

The free breakfast is provided in a restaurant next door. Available from 06:00 AM, a real plus. This is a sit down breakfast with full service from a menu of five selections. The service was cheerful and prompt and the food very good, a nice way to start the day.

For your information this is a large hotel built around a very large swimming pool with mature tropical landscaping. The rooms facing this area offer the feeling of a resort. Upper floor rooms have balconies and ground floor room a porch. This area as well as the hotel is well maintained.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the interior court yard / swimming pool have a nice tropical landscape view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The room selled moldy. It killed my allergies due to the mold. It was worn and shabby. And to top it off the lights are on a motion sensor switch that can't be turned off, so they came on every time you roll over. If I had wanted to stay at a Hotel 6 quality hotel I would have called hotel 6 and not paid Best Western prices. I won't be back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This was the poorest BW hotels we stayed in during our trip but for $62 per night I can't complain. The smallish room was partially renovated compared to other BW hotels. The bathroom was redone and clean. The sit down full breakfast include was excellent. There are limited number of eating places within walking distance ( 2 or 3). We were unable to connect with their wi fi and had to use their lobby computer. The reasonable price plus excellent breakfast appealed to me and compensated for the short comings

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Ca
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I stayed one night. Clean. Comfortable. Friendly. Good Prices. Free WiFi and lots of free parking.

A safe area at night. 24 hour food nearby. A Arco gas station and 24 hour mini mart next door.

When in Bakersfield. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay up front. Quite rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I stayed here last night, and was shocked by what I was greeted with as I walked into my room. Water stains and sagging on the ceiling from water damage, huge chunks of peeling wall paper, and dirt and crumbs under the bedside table, on top of the baseboards in the bathroom and well... it needs a lot of work. As others have said the beds are not in great shape, and the towels are less than soft.

I gave it a second star because of the help I got from the Front Desk staff, or at least the compensation for a problem we had AND, the outdoor pool area looked extremely nice. The breakfast was hot and the service was good. All in all, it was rather quiet, but I wasn't about to stay there a minute longer than I needed before I was on my way.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Palm Garden Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Garden Inn & Suites

Address: 2620 Buck Owens Blvd, Bakersfield, CA 93308 (Formerly Crystal Palace Inn & Suites)
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 59 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Palm Garden Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Palm Garden Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Crystal Palace Hotel Bakersfield
Best Western Bakersfield
Bakersfield Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Garden Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.