We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable price.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Crystal Palace Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Crystal Palace Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Orbitz.com
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Crystal Palace Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2620 Buck Owens Boulevard, Bakersfield, CA 93308   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card
Ranked #22 of 57 hotels in Bakersfield
Nanaimo, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Reasonable price.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This was the poorest BW hotels we stayed in during our trip but for $62 per night I can't complain. The smallish room was partially renovated compared to other BW hotels. The bathroom was redone and clean. The sit down full breakfast include was excellent. There are limited number of eating places within walking distance ( 2 or 3). We were unable to connect with their wi fi and had to use their lobby computer. The reasonable price plus excellent breakfast appealed to me and compensated for the short comings

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    81
    63
    38
    37
See reviews for
82
79
19
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Ca
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I stayed one night. Clean. Comfortable. Friendly. Good Prices. Free WiFi and lots of free parking.

A safe area at night. 24 hour food nearby. A Arco gas station and 24 hour mini mart next door.

When in Bakersfield. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay up front. Quite rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I stayed here last night, and was shocked by what I was greeted with as I walked into my room. Water stains and sagging on the ceiling from water damage, huge chunks of peeling wall paper, and dirt and crumbs under the bedside table, on top of the baseboards in the bathroom and well... it needs a lot of work. As others have said the beds are not in great shape, and the towels are less than soft.

I gave it a second star because of the help I got from the Front Desk staff, or at least the compensation for a problem we had AND, the outdoor pool area looked extremely nice. The breakfast was hot and the service was good. All in all, it was rather quiet, but I wasn't about to stay there a minute longer than I needed before I was on my way.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed in this hotel twice, in February and in March, 2013. February was and I like to rate it as good: friendly staff, good room, $10 for the dog, good experience overall. In March however, lobby lady was definitely not friendly, we were given a poor room, probably because we had a dog with us. The room was very far away from everyhing; the door was dingy, and surprise, the dog fee was suddenly $15.
On the other hand, the inside garden of the hotel is very nice and the hotel is nicely situated, not far from the 99, but also not right next to it, so quiet.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the garden are nicest. The dog rooms tend to be not so great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California, Usa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel is going downhill. There are too many 'patch jobs' rather than fixes. The shower is impossible to set to a comfortable temperature. It wanders all over from hot to cold and bacj again. The towels are worn beyond use. Light bulbs are out and never replaced. Someone is trying to cut too many corners.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I needed a place to rest my head for the night on my way to Las Vegas and the fact that I am a loyal Best Western customer. I chose this location. The outside of the hotel tricks you.

The room need major updates. Shower had to be one of the worst I have ever had. No power and tub would flood while you were in it. Carpets look like they haven't been replaced in years. Repairs done sloppy. Caulking doesn't fix everything.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I would have given at least a four star rating to this hotel, for the perfect quiet of the room, its cleanliness and the general pleasantness of personnel.
However, the fifth star is due to their perfect customer service: after leaving I realized I had left in the bathroom a set of expensive dental retainers. I called and they were recovered and promptly sent to me, courtesy of Mr. Philip.
This kind of service is what makes a difference and what will keep me going there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Crystal Palace Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Crystal Palace Inn & Suites

Also Known As:
Best Western Crystal Palace Hotel Bakersfield
Best Western Crystal Palace Hotel
Best Western Bakersfield
Bakersfield Best Western
Address: 2620 Buck Owens Boulevard, Bakersfield, CA 93308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 57 hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Crystal Palace Inn & Suites 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Best Western, Priceline, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Crystal Palace Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Crystal Palace Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.