We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It Takes Courage To Stay Here” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Crystal Palace Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Crystal Palace Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Crystal Palace Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2620 Buck Owens Boulevard, Bakersfield, CA 93308   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #20 of 57 Hotels in Bakersfield
Modesto
Top Contributor
356 reviews 356 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
219 helpful votes 219 helpful votes
“It Takes Courage To Stay Here”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I don't like to write negative reviews, but I feel obligated to provide a report about what I saw.
I found the room to be clean and comfortable. My bed was comfortable and I slept well. The grounds were beautiful, immaculately maintained. There's also a nice swimming pool in the courtyard. Normally, the facility would be good enough for me to say that I would gladly stay here again.
Two major problems were encountered during my stay: security and cleanliness in the restaurant that provided the "free" breakfast.
The area around the motel does not appear to be safe. I visited the nearby businesses on foot and felt uneasy. The uneasiness was confirmed when at check out, a woman reported to the front desk that two men had tried to break into her room while she was in it. I also noted individuals on the premises that did not appear to have any reason to be there. The motel appears to need a uniformed security person to patrol the grounds even if it means charging guests more for a room.
The other problem was a cockroach that walked across the counter while I was dining.
The staff response to the report of the woman and my report about the cockroach was inadequate.
I have notified Best Western of my experience. Whether I stay at this facility again will depend upon the response of the management, including upgrade of security.

Room Tip: Bottom floor rooms may hear footsteps from rooms on the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    115
    83
    53
    45
See reviews for
114
126
22
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Oregon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here because we ended up in beautiful downtown Bakersfield at the end of a long drive and this motel was conveniently located just off Hwy 99. Adequate room at a very decent price, but the good breakfast included was the only factor that exceeded an average rating.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California, Usa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

While this hotel is centrally located and reasonably priced, we found the rooms lacking in respect to comfort. The mattresses were hard, worn and uneven, the beds came with only a blanket and a sheet. The towels were paper thin and while we booked a room for two people, we were only provided with one towel and had to ask for extras. The pool and spa were not working.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed here for business and the first time I stayed, I was in a room that was a little dirty & the fridge didn't work but other than that - looked like a decent place to stay so I decided to give it another try on another trip. The second time I stayed I was placed in a clean room facing the pool/hot tub area which is really pretty (hot tub was heavenly). The hotel is down the street from Rosedale Ave/Rd which is close to plenty of restaurants (also one onsite) and about a 7 minute drive to downtown Bakersfield (where the real fun is). They also offer free internet in the lobby, free breakfast and all in all - it's a good value for what you pay. I will be staying here again on future business trips because of the good service & value.

Room Tip: Try to get a room downstairs since they don't have elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We had a booking with confirmation in September 2012. Arriving at the hotel with 28 guests the man at the front desk told us he couldn´t find the reservation in his system although we had a printout with us to show him. However he did not have any rooms for us. What´s more he was not at all helpfull in finding another hotel in Bakersfield. So we went to the next hotel in the neighbourhood and were successfull.- And we found a better hotel with very helpfull people in their staff, who managed to check in 28 guests of our group in 10 minutes: The La Quinta Inn
Bakersfield South right next to the B.W. Chrystal Palace.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The check-in was quick.
Room was comfortable, very spacious and clean.
Beds and pillows were very comfortable.
Full American breakfast was included - a great deal! Waitress is to be commended for the excellent and so polite service.
Pleased to be able to use the guest laundry.
Excellent location!
This was one of the best hotels we stayed in during this three week trip.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the main floor near an entrance and near the laundry room. Check bill though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California, Usa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Very nice place, would return for future stays. Only thing not real happy with was the Breakfast, Like to eat a "little of this and that for breakfast" this Best Western sends you to their restaurant where you select form 5 choices for breakfast with NO substitutions.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Crystal Palace Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Crystal Palace Inn & Suites

Address: 2620 Buck Owens Boulevard, Bakersfield, CA 93308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 57 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Crystal Palace Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Crystal Palace Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Crystal Palace Hotel Bakersfield
Best Western Bakersfield
Bakersfield Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Crystal Palace Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.