We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet and very pleasant location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill House to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Truxton Avenue, Bakersfield, CA 93301-4817   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #13 of 57 Hotels in Bakersfield
Sunland, California
1 review
“A quiet and very pleasant location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I have been staying here for the last 6 or 7 years after coming to Bakersfield for the last 20 and I have finally found a place to come back to after trying several other hotels. Not only is there the usual quality I expect in a Best Western but the staff here is very friendly and helpful. There is also a good Mexican Seafood restaurant next door. Compared with other locations including the other BW in town, this one is very quiet and peaceful and I find that to be exactly what I need.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    152
    64
    28
    24
See reviews for
90
139
35
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This Best Western is in the heart of the Mill District in Bakersfield. It looks like the city has done some work to spruce up what would be an otherwise dicey neighborhood. The motel is very nice, though old, the rooms are very well appointed, clean, and quiet, it was warm so we used the air conditioner which was quite loud. The front desk staff was friendly and recognized that I was a Best Western rewards member, which was nice. The expanded continental breakfast can use some work...the oatmeal was in a crock pot and was not warm. Scrambled eggs were watery, there were three choices of cereal, apples and bananas, sausages, and one waffle maker, which people were waiting in line for. All in all, it was good value for the money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stay was all we have come to expect from a BW plus. The friendliness and helpfulness of the front desk was beyond expectations. The BW central reservations office had messed up my reservation and the customer service office was closed. NO ONE at the 800 number seemed willing to help. The front desk here went ahead and helped us, even though it was in no way their fault. They were also the friendliest staff that we have encountered in our travels. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is a hidden gem. This property is very clean and the rooms are very comfortable. The management takes great care and pride to keep the facilities and grounds very clean and well maintained, and are the perfect example of professionalism and hospitality, treating guests with great respect! One of the nicest Best Westerns I've stayed at and will continue to.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Our stay at this Best Western was our third on this trip. We have found all of them to be very nice. This Best Western was located right across from the Beale Library, which has Genealogy and California History rooms. Since I was doing family research, this was a perfect location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, California, Usa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Whomever the manager is should get more involved with the customer expereience. I recieved numerous calls to confirm and reconfirm my reservation "each night" to a point where I was receiveing calls by family members saying they want to give our room to someone else that needs a room. Why note write notes in a file that says "late check in confirmed" and how about combining one reservation with another for the same person, when they are for back to back nights. A most unpleasant experience dealing with the staff at the Bakersfield Plus Hill House.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tripresponse, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill House, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
We are very sorry to hear that you felt this way, It was very large event in town, CIF Wrestling tournament and we want to making sure and reconfirming your reservation.

You had two rooms under your name and one of the room checked in and when we ask them about second room they do not know anything about second room therefor we had called you

Also your online reservation, one arriving on 02/28/13 and checking our on 03/01/13 and another two reservation arriving on 03/01/13 and checking out on March 02, 2013 and different guest Mr. Baker and Mr. Applegate were checking in on behalf of you.

We want to make sure and need your approval so we can give your room to Mr. Baker and Mr. Applegat on behalf of you since it was very busy weekend.

There might be some confusion because rooms were under your name and Mr. Baker and Mr. Applegate wants to check in for those rooms.

We are always here to help our each and every guest.

G J Zala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Located in Bakersfield in close proximity to Rabobank Arena and downtown this hotel has a friendly staff and secure feeling. The rooms are clean, the area is centrally located to everything I needed, including some great restaurants. Will definitely stay again-KN

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill House

Address: 700 Truxton Avenue, Bakersfield, CA 93301-4817
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Bakersfield
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bakersfield
#12 Business Hotel in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill House 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hill House Hotel Bakersfield
Best Western Hill Hotel
Best Western Bakersfield
Bakersfield Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.