We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stop.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3001 Buck Owens Blvd, Bakersfield, CA 93308 (Formerly W Garden Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 57 hotels in Bakersfield
Campinas, SP
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Stop.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Cleam and equiped rooms, good (and free) breakfast, very kind and helpfull people on frontdesk. I used this hotel as a estrategic stop to break the long travel from Vegas to San Francisco and it was really a good experience. The way from Bakersfield to SFO was also really beutifull with lot of fruit trees and other plants.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    33
    12
    5
    6
See reviews for
28
43
17
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento,
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Paid $60/nt through Priceline.They upgraded me to a suite. A business hotel, weekends and holidays are slow. Professional staff. Modern and first class rooms.Good location, very safe. Great showers. Free paper delivered to your room Several eating establishments in the area. Would stay there again. They stop serving breakfast in the restaurant at 10:30 am.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL (suburbs)
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Booked this hotel in August for an overnight stay in October to see a concert in the downtown area. When I booked the room, the rate was $85.00 and when I reconfirmed the rate four days before my arrival, the rate somehow jumped up to $130. I contacted Holiday Inn corporate and they told me they were unable to change the rate and I should contact the hotel directly, which I subsequently did and was told by the desk agent I would have to speak with the hotel manager directly ( who was not there ). I called back the next day and explained the situation to a different person, as the manager was still not on location. I was told, "Well Sir, that's a car show weekend and those rooms are going for $280.00" I advised the desk agent that I had a rate of $85.00, booked back in August and I was merely trying to clear this problem up BEFORE I arrived so I wouldn't have to cause a scene. The employee sounded less than enthused to help me and told me the message, "would be passed along" . Luckily upon my arrival, the rate had been adjusted but there was no explanation as to who, or why it was initially increased.

The hotel is situated on a major roadway on one side and an expressway on the other so the likelihood of noise is high, but it was tolerable. The room was nice and clean and even had ceiling fans.The bedding was excellent. The hotel grounds were clean and there was plenty of lighted parking available. We were there on a Friday night and it wasn't until we were exiting the hotel to go to our show that we were made aware of some sort of barbeque taking place near the pool. I wasn't advised anything about this upon check in, as it would have been nice to know in advance and we could have planned accordingly.

The staff was friendly and even offered to take pictures of us while we posed upstairs near the chandelier. The breakfast bar was well stocked. If I had reason to be in Bakersfield again, I would stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is for the Buck Owens hotel...

Stop #2 from BC to California. Had booked over the phone, the day before arrival, a family suite (for five). Arrived just before 9pm to find that 90 German accordion players were in town and our room wasn't actually available. No big deal as they had popped us into two separate rooms at same rate (which I thought was a bit high for a suite but we couldn't afford to be choosy at the time of calling, but rate for two rooms was a deal) which worked well. Front desk fellow had tried to call numerous times to advise (but we had given him a home number as we had a traveling sim and didn't think to give that instead).

Their attempt at 'making it good' for us was great and appreciated. Front desk man, despite having to ready for the German visitors about to arrive minutes after us, did a great job at making us feel welcome. His hospitality was very appreciated.

Rooms were clean and spacious, quiet, and in good repair and obviously newly renovated, and well appointed. Hotel had the bland look outside like 'those type' often do, but it was a nice touch to see the dual curving staircases... added a touch of grandeur.

Exterior pool which was nice and cold after a good hot tub. But it is right beside the highway so not a quiet venue but for one night it was fine.

Breakfast was free and so-so, but can't complain about free, ever! Free wifi, which is always appreciated, especially when it works.

On a non-hotel note: Rusty's pizza delivery was great.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I spent 3 nights there recently an the staff was very courteous and the rooms were very nice and clean. Breakfast Bar is really easy and refreshing. Workout room is not the best. Very elegant decorations with Chandelier and furniture was a nice touch.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The property is 7 years old, but still looks like new. Complimentary upgrade to suite with in-room hot tub. Location is very good; only 10 minutes to the airport and many restaurants nearby.
Bedding was excellent. Room had mini fridge, coffee maker, iron & board, wireless, flat screen T.V. Bathroom had deluxe shower setting with body spray nozzles as well as standard overhead nozzle. Decent breakfast w/ hot & cold food. No bar in the hotel. I will stay here again. Walking distance to famous country western Buck Owens Palace.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodway, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The architecture, grounds, interior design, hospitality and cleanliness of this hotel meet or exceed my expectations of Holiday Inn Express. I travel frequently for work and stay in many IHG brands across the country, but I always look forward to staying at this particular hotel. Rooms have ceiling fans (which I LOVE and have seen nowhere else). TV's are HDTV and have many channels to choose from. Breakfast is always hot, with lots of choices, well stocked and prepared, and opens earlier than most (5:00 am). Showers have "body wash" nozzles and well working exhaust fans. Owner often has complimentary meals in the evening for great pizza, BBQ, cookouts by the pool, etc. that really contribute to a welcome atmosphere. It's kinda like "Cheers", after you check in you're always greeted when you return and everybody knows your name. Wow! Who could ask for more when having to be in a "home away from home"?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central

Address: 3001 Buck Owens Blvd, Bakersfield, CA 93308 (Formerly W Garden Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Bakersfield
#9 Family Hotel in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the brand new Legacy Suites Hotel Bakersfield, CA. Offering 90 all suite accommodations featuring 37" plasma TVs, complimentary wired and wireless T1 internet access in all rooms. At the end of a long day relax in our full body massage showers, standard in all guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central Hotel Bakersfield
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Bakersfield Central
Wyndham Bakersfield
Bakersfield Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.