We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best shower EVER!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3001 Buck Owens Blvd, Bakersfield, CA 93308 (Formerly W Garden Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 25%
Ranked #6 of 57 hotels in Bakersfield
Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best shower EVER!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Driving back from Yosemite to Ventura County, husband and I had three tired children in the car. As we approached Bakersfield (10:30 pm) decided we needed to give up on moving forward and find a hotel. Pulled over at the first off-ramp and found ourselves in a seedy neighborhood with questionable quality hotels. Decided we'd plug in our favorite - Holiday Inn Express - and find one.

Bingo!

Arrived to find a beautiful lobby - flanked by staircases worthy of an antebellum mansion. I was so tired I darn near crawled to the front desk where the man obviously noticed my exhaustion. Told him I needed non-smoking with two beds because we had three children.

"I will make sure you have a nice large room" he said with sympathy.

We dragged ourselves to the room, and found it to be expansive! Two incredibly comfortable queen size beds, a large soft and comfy loveseat, a kitchenette. With the kids tucked in, hubby goes to shower and exclaims with joy!

The shower was a full size vertical massaging shower with rotatable jets along its entire surface. You can control the water temperature as the gauge shows temps, but it has a safety feature so that children don't scald themselves. Hubby was in there so long I thought he had drowned. But when it was my turn, I understood the reason for the lengthy session.

It was, by far, the best shower I EVER EVER had! I contemplated sleeping in the shower - standing up.

Of course, like all HIE, this property served free hot breakfast. It was just enough for us to fuel our bodies for the next leg of the car trip (where we were subject to hours of "he's touching me! SHE's touching me!"

The shower was therapy. The staff - so incredibly understanding!

If you need a nice, clean and safe place to stay at a reasonable price, with a friendly and very sympathetic staff . . . Holiday Inn Express and Suites in Bakersfield Central is THE PLACE!

The ONLY reason I didn't rate the value at 5, is because I usually pay government rates and am a little spoiled by this. I didn't rate room service because we were not there long enough to experience it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    28
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
27
38
16
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel with large rooms, complete with ceiling fans. One of the best night's sleep I've had. Kal, the General Manager, was welcoming and most helpful. My husband's wheelchair needed fixing and he provided wrenches and someone to help fix it. Not only that, he found the phone number for the wheelchair company. Above and beyond.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We pulled in and the property was very clean.
The staircases are beautiful. Room was spacious, central air and two fans on the ceiling. Coolness!
Bathroom shower apparatus? Yeah, you'll see it. LOL
Pool was clean.
Overall a great stay. Will stay again.
Janet was very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

After a long drive, stayed one night, very quiet, clean and modern! Close to 99 freeway, but not close enough to disrupt your sleep, lots of restaurants in the area. Will definitely stay here again.
No worth paying $10.0 less and staying in a dump

Room Tip: New building, heavy doors, quiet air conditioner. No noise transfer from other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The service was phenomenal! All the staff greeted me and made me feel like I was their only guest. The rooms (I stayed twice at this hotel) were comfortable, cozy and inviting. The fans were a great addition! This was a business trip, yet it also felt like a pleasure trip. The only thing missing was guest laundry (it's not set up yet). However, the manager understood my dilemma in needing to wash my uniforms and arranged to have them washed for me! YAY! Thank you for an extremely enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: Try to get a room not on the highway side. If you are on the highway side, the ceiling fans on low...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

If you have business in this part of Bakersfield, this is the place to stay. Within the H.i.E. Brand, this ranks as one of the nicer properties. There is street noise from the highway (99) and Buck Owens. drive, but that is minor and mitigated by the pleasantness of the hotel. Walk to the Crystal Palace, the Heart Hospital, Zingo's, Valley Cycle and Motorsports, and more. I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

One of the nicest Holiday Inn Expresses I have ever stayed at. I checked in after a following my moving truck from Las Vegas to Santa Rosa. Told the Hotel Staff I has a 26ft truck, and he arranged a parking spot and gave us a room with a view of the parking spot. The Standard room was a well appointed mini suite. The comfort and warmth of the room decor was inviting. The lobby was appointed with crystal chandeliers, marble flooring and grand staircase. The elevator was a little slow, but have found that the case with most of this class of hotel. The free breakfast was a little better than average. The rooms were well insulated for sound.

Room Tip: Stay on the front side, as the back side faces Hwy 99
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Bakersfield Central
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central Hotel
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central Hotel Bakersfield
Wyndham Bakersfield
Bakersfield Wyndham
Address: 3001 Buck Owens Blvd, Bakersfield, CA 93308 (Formerly W Garden Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Bakersfield
#10 Family Hotel in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the brand new Legacy Suites Hotel Bakersfield, CA. Offering 90 all suite accommodations featuring 37" plasma TVs, complimentary wired and wireless T1 internet access in all rooms. At the end of a long day relax in our full body massage showers, standard in all guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.