We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Bakersfield

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Bakersfield to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Bakersfield
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3801 Marriott Drive, Bakersfield, CA 93308   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #18 of 59 Hotels in Bakersfield
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We were so thankful to find a room in Bakersfield (everywhere seemed to be sold out) on our way to Monterey, especially at a fair price. The location is convenient and private, tucked away in a quiet, appealing setting. The lobby is okay. Upon arrival, there were lots of kids running all around and what seemed to be a couple large parties going on in/around the lobby area. We were sure the halls and walls were going to reflect the noise. But surprisingly, the room was very quiet and really nice. It was quite spacious, extremely clean, comfortable (loved the bedding..fluffy white down alternative comforter, and excellent pillows), refrigerator, microwave, and free wifi. Not a fan of the sink/counter area outside of the toilet area but not a deal breaker. Free breakfast was very good, variety was better than most. A definite do over.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    69
    30
    8
    6
See reviews for
62
43
12
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We had a chance to stay at the Springhill Suites in Bakersfield for one night, weight to the Bay area. This hotel is nicely tucked away at the corner of the Marriott drive in Bakersfield right between the Hilton and the Holiday Inn. The hotel was very clean and the room was very spacious and clean too. There was a little bit of a leftover maintenance work going on for which we were compensated by the staff but complimentary cookies :-). The beds were very comfortable to sleep on. Free Wi-Fi wasvery welcome and useful. Breakfast was served in the lobby area and was very well prepared with a lot of choices. There was ample parking space around the hotel.Over all a very excellent stay in Bakersfield. I would recommend this hotel to anyone in the area. Very friendly staff added to the good experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gresham, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

My husband, our three tween/teen daughters and I stopped to stay at this hotel on our drive from Oregon to Disneyland in December 2013. There was plenty of room for our family to sleep comfortably, we were in a two room suite with two full beds and a pull out couch.

We hit holiday traffic on our way so it was very late when we arrived, check in was quick and easy the staff was very friendly. It was very quit and we all slept well. We woke up early the next day and were surprised by the breakfast that was offered, something for everyone.

We had a great stay and will be staying again on our next trip!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

The staff is very nice. I was here in Bakersfield for a month and was assigned to stay in this hotel. It appeared clean, never had any major problems. The toilet is very close to the shower so I always had to push the shower curtain to the opposite side. The walls are thin and you can hear everything in the halls.

The carpets need to be cleaned through the entire hotel. I used shower shoes in the shower and they would leave black residue in the tub and no I did not wear the shoes outside, just only in my hotel room. It was manageable to stay here to me but my coworkers checked out after a few weeks and moved next door to the Holiday Inn Express and said that hotel was much better.

I am set to check out 5/24, been here since 4/20 and discovered the condition of the mattress I have been sleeping on 5/21...not to mention the towels are very very hard and dingy. The pillows were not that great and the mattress was just hard. Not to mention, the hotel was going through pipe renovations that were going on before I arrived and after I leave. The hotel did apologize for the inconvenience.

Room Tip: Check the room first before unpacking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy S, Front Desk at SpringHill Suites Bakersfield, responded to this review, October 4, 2014
Hello EAL1527, Thank you for taking out the time to share your experience and feedback in regards to our hotel. Also, I would like to thank you for your feedback about the friendly staff, we work hard to provide a memorable experience with every guest.

I am disappointed that we did not exceed your expectations at the hotel. The cleanliness and overall condition of the suite was understandably unacceptable and we have taken immediate actions to investigate this oversight.

I apologize on behalf of everyone here at the hotel, our goal and expectations are to meet and exceed the needs of our guests – and our own. I hope that you will visit again so we can improve your perception of the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Mandy S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed overnight on the way to San Francisco........very good for one night, no complaints about anything, good breakfast, helpful staff, good pool but v small. business type hotel. Eat out at Black Angus down the road.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We stayed here during a competitive cheerleading weekend event, and it was everything one would expect from a "value hotel," which emphasizes amenities that are affordable. It's clean, the staff is friendly and attentive, though the suites are noticeably smaller, and corners have been cut---sometimes in the wrong places in my humble opinion.

I found that the king suite was barely big enough to comfortably fit two adults and a teenager. This property is better suited for younger families, especially considering the thin walls and noise level. I do understand that the staff is placed in an awkward position of wanting their guests to enjoy themselves, while also maintaining an agreeable tone of decorum in the lobby and hallways. Yet, hearing Disney's latest hit song seemingly caterwauled at all hours of the day/night by a gaggle of pitchy tweenagers, did indeed grate on this traveler's nerves.

I found the "re-imagined lobby" to be a bit loud in color and physically confining. The rooms were in an interesting configuration, though the luggage cart was oversized and had a difficult time navigating the smaller halls and elevators. The in-room kitchenette was well placed and very convenient. I don't think they should have skimped on the toilet paper budget (it's as paper thin as it gets here folks), nor should they opt for the smaller brand of trash can liners: ill-fitting and truly wasteful in the end. I think it would behoove hotels to review the amount/location of convenient wall sockets (a lack here that's easy to remedy) and always provide extra blankets in a room with a pull-out. Because who here wants to hassle with blanket delivery when you are ready to hit the sack? Believe it or not, I missed not having a hand cream sample, but we did say "value hotel" after all. Parking is hassle free, as is the included breakfast---though my daughter pointed out that the pictures displayed in the hotel don't match the fare offered. Again, we get the "value" end of that stick too.

Room Tip: The view is prettier in the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy S, Front Desk at SpringHill Suites Bakersfield, responded to this review, October 4, 2014
Hello pbs555,
Thank you for taking the time to review my hotel and provide feedback. Thank you also for your feedback about the friendly staff, we work hard to provide a memorable experience with every guest.

I regret that not every aspect of your stay with us met your complete satisfaction. Please know that we take your comments very seriously and take action through training and product improvements to ensure that your next stay with us will exceed your expectations.

We hope that we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future and show you just how much we care about delivering an above average experience.

Best Regards,

Mandy S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We stayed here for one night and were very impressed with the rooms. We had a separate living area which was an unexpected surprise. The staff were friendly and efficient. Good laundry facikities and an indoor heated pool. Lovely complimentary breakfast. We would definitely stay here agsain. Great value and there is a terrific steakhouse within walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
#9 of 59 in Bakersfield
4.0 of 5 stars 314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Bakersfield
Comfort Suites Bakersfield
#8 of 59 in Bakersfield
4.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Bakersfield
3.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bakersfield
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Bakersfield
Courtyard Bakersfield
#17 of 59 in Bakersfield
4.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Bakersfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Bakersfield

Address: 3801 Marriott Drive, Bakersfield, CA 93308
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 59 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Bakersfield 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A refreshing break from the ordinary, our smartly designed suites cleverly contain well-defined spaces for recharging, connecting or enhancing personal productivity. A large desk, comfortable seating and pullout sofa offer flexibility for business travelers. Luxurious bedding, free Wi-Fi, and a pantry with mini-fridge, coffee maker and microwave make our suites feel like home. Each morning, visit our free Suite Seasons hot and healthy breakfast buffet, with grab-'n-go bags to keep you well-fed and on-schedule. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your SpringHill Suites Bakersfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Bakersfield Hotel Bakersfield
Bakersfield Springhill Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Bakersfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.