We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, good breakfast, friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Bakersfield

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Bakersfield to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Bakersfield
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3801 Marriott Drive, Bakersfield, CA 93308   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #12 of 57 hotels in Bakersfield
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, good breakfast, friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We just returned from one night at the Bakersfield SpringHill Suites. We were pleasantly surprised by how good this hotel is! We had a room with two double beds, 2 closets, lots of storage, huge bathroom, separate sink area, separate sitting area with desk, sofa, chair, coffee table, lots of lights and a bar area, with sink, fridge, coffee maker and microwave.

The beds were super comfortable, we slept great!

The TV was an HD flatscreen that swiveled between the bedroom area and the living area. We watched TV in the living area, while drinking our wine and eating micowave popcorn we bought in the convenience store in the lobby.

The separation of the living area and sleep area makes it easier for parents to stay up and watch tv while the kids go to sleep, also the separation of the bathtub/shower/toilet area from the sink/hairdryer/makeup area is very helpful.
The shower had a lot of power, there is also a light above the tub/shower, making it easy to see if you want to shave your legs.

The breakfast buffet has everything you would want to start your day. We had so much to eat, we didn't need lunch! Coffee/tea, juices, sweet muffins, breads, english muffins, bagels, cream cheese, peanut butter, jelly, sausage, eggs, cheese, salsa, yogurt, fresh fruit, make your own waffle. Wow! We stuffed ourselves. It was all delicious! We took our breakfast up to our room to enjoy in the quiet of the room watching the Sunday talk shows on TV. The breakfast area was pretty crowded, we didn't even bother to look for a place to sit, we liked the room so much we wanted to spend as much time in there before we had to leave.

I can highly recommend this hotel for all the above reasons, as well as the cleanliness of the rooms and friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    56
    18
    5
    2
See reviews for
51
29
11
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, CA
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
137 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The SpringHill Suites is located along a "motel row" adjacent to highway 99, with a Costco nearby for cheap gas. The room had pleasant modern decor. There was a half-wall dividing the bedroom area from the sitting area.The sitting area was comfortable, with a small sofa and two chairs. The bed was comfortable as well, but our daughter said the sofa bed was not so great. The flatscreen TV swiveled between the bedroom area and the sitting room area, but we could not watch it from both places at the same time. We had a small microwave and a large mini-fridge with no freezer. The AC worked well. There was a small closet for the suitcase and hanging clothes, and also a couple of drawers. The sink area--very poorly lit--is separate from the toilet/shower room. The showerhead was good and placed high. We had plenty of hot water, but the towels were thin. In the morning we heard loud clomping noises above us. Luckily we did not have a problem in the middle of the night. We had a decent breakfast with hard-boiled eggs, cooked oatmeal, and processed egg patties and sausage patties. There was not sufficient seating. We had to eat breakfast in our room.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta Loma
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed in this hotel on our way to san Franciso. We liked it so well we stayed there on the way back as well. he rooms are very large with a separate sitting area with a desk and a microwave and refrigerator. Quiet and very clean. also free breakfast every morning.

Room Tip: we were locatd near an elevator and it was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We've stayed at this hotel a couple of times, and it is always a pleasant experience. The place is very clean, has very nice staff and wonderful beds.

The only thing I noted this time was the hallway carpet on the second floor needs mending and cleaning as it is shabby and full of spots.

The location of this hotel is handy to several restaurants. I recommend you give it a try.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, AZ
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Having stayed here before, our expectations maybe were a little high. The first assigned room did not look like it had been cleaned completely so we requested a change of room. The staff complied quickly with no questions asked. The room was a little smaller than I am used to in the SpringHill Suites line. The hallway carpet needed deep cleaning and vacuuming more often. The same litter was on the carpet from the time we check-in to the next day of checkout. The hotel was a little more "let go" than we are used to in the Marriott chain.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coalinga, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Clean and lovely hotel. Good bed, linens, and service. The breakfast was good including hot entrees and more. The desk help were thoughtful and they even adjusted my bill since the A/C unit decided to not work on our last night at the hotel. I will stay at this pristine hotel again when visiting Bakersfield.

Room Tip: Our room was quiet even though it was located right next to a major hi-way. I did a walk-in at 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Very clean, large guest rooms. Small kitchen area. Excellent included breakfast. We arrived very late on our way to San Fran from LA, and everything was in order and check in was a breeze. Great location, free ample parking. Pool is small, but it's not a resort.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SpringHill Suites Bakersfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Bakersfield

Address: 3801 Marriott Drive, Bakersfield, CA 93308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Bakersfield 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A refreshing break from the ordinary, our smartly designed suites cleverly contain well-defined spaces for recharging, connecting or enhancing personal productivity. A large desk, comfortable seating and pullout sofa offer flexibility for business travelers. Luxurious bedding, free Wi-Fi, and a pantry with mini-fridge, coffee maker and microwave make our suites feel like home. Each morning, visit our free Suite Seasons hot and healthy breakfast buffet, with grab-'n-go bags to keep you well-fed and on-schedule. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your SpringHill Suites Bakersfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Bakersfield Hotel Bakersfield
Bakersfield Springhill Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Bakersfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.