We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfortable Stay in Bakersfield: La Quinta North” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8858 Spectrum Pkwy, Bakersfield, CA 93308   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 57 hotels in Bakersfield
Eastern Sierra
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfortable Stay in Bakersfield: La Quinta North”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I've stayed here two times (Nov. '12 & Mar. '13) while attending dog agility competitions in Bakersfield.

Pro's: the motel has been clean, in good repair, and reasonably quiet, with friendly helpful staff. The free breakfast is good, we didn't have any concerns about feeling safe, and we love La Quinta's dog-friendly policy. Fridge and microwave in rooms. Nice areas to walk dogs. Overall, an above-average La Quinta.

Con's: even with La Quinta's no-extra-charge policy for dogs, this place is a bit expensive for me. It's not exorbitant, but it's around $100/night and I do travel on a strict budget. It's also a bit far away from the downtown area and fairgrounds, where our event was, although Bakersfield is not a huge town. These are inconveniences as opposed to major con's, and I understand that often you really do get what you pay for! Still, I might check out lower-priced options next time I stay in Bakersfield: all I'm looking for is a clean, safe, basic, pet-friendly and affordable place to get a decent sleep.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    70
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
56
38
16
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brookings OR
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel & thought it was great. The rooms were above board, clean, up to date, the staff was friendly & helpful. They also had a full breakfast not just continental. We would definitely stay here again & are usually always happy w LaQuinta.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I am in Bakersfield on business about once a month, and have stayed at the cheaper-but-less-desirable La Quinta South in the past. I decided to splurge this time and spend the extra $20 or so for the north location. It is located well away from Highway 99, fairly new, and definitely worth the extra money. Didn't have time to try the fitness center and indoor pool, but they looked nice.
RANT ALERT: My only gripe (which applies to nearly all hotels but was worse here) was the noisy jet-engine-decibel bathroom fan. To the hotel industry: can you PLEASE spring for an extra few bucks for quieter fans?? Or even provide an operable bathroom window? (It's been years since I've seen one of these).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I was extremely pleased with the room, especially since it had a large desk and a recliner. So nice to have somewhere to sit to watch TV that is comfortable and not the bed. I traveled with my dog and found that there were not specific dog rooms like some hotels, result was that the room was much cleaner and well kept. The biggest difficulty I had was the indoor corridors in taking the dog out, yet it made me feel more secure as a single woman traveling solo. The area around had good walking space as a lot of the land around is still undeveloped so no need to walk on busy streets. Close to Starbucks and Denny's but appears to be a still developing area. Bed was comfortable and room was quiet even though I was on the first floor not far from the front desk. Breakfast was as good as any I've had continental style.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North

Address: 8858 Spectrum Pkwy, Bakersfield, CA 93308
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bakersfield
#4 Family Hotel in Bakersfield
#9 Business Hotel in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield is a comfortable retreat, ideal for visitors to Sequoia National Park and other popular area attractions. From this convenient location, you can reach Buck Owens Crystal Palace, the Kern County Museum, California Living Museum, Mesa Marin Raceway, Famoso Raceway, and many other points of interest in minutes. There are eleven restaurants within a 5-mile radius of the hotel and shopping opportunities available at nearby Northwest Promenade. Take a refreshing swim in the indoor pool, or relax in the spa, after working out in the convenient on-site fitness center. Enjoy free high-speed Internet access, a coffee maker, hairdryer, and much more in each spacious guest room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, LaQuinta, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Bakersfield
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield Hotel Bakersfield
La Quinta Bakersfield
Bakersfield La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.