We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn And Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn And Suites to your Saves list
Sleep Inn And Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6257 Knudsen Drive, Bakersfield, CA 93308   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #32 of 59 Hotels in Bakersfield
Elk Grove, California
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Inexpensive. Good bed. Very good free breakfast. Hot tub didn't work. It's not a bad location, close to the freeway. The fresh waffles were nice. The front desk tried to give direction to a restaurant. Glad I had GPS.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori J, Public Relations Manager at Sleep Inn And Suites, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear valued guest, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We truly appreciate it and hope you consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    20
    19
    10
    11
See reviews for
17
23
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sedalia, Missouri
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Usually the Sleep Inns are a little lower than the better of the Choice Hotel Chain. We try to get Comfort Inns or Comfort Suites. The Suites have a couch, which, if clean, is best. But we only had the choice of this Sleep Inn when going through Bakersfield. We should have had an inkling when the first room was a little smelly. We asked for a room on the top floor, which we prefer anyway and they took us up to see another room which appeared to be alright. The beds and walls looked newer. the curtins were kinda drawn, so we could not see the room in very good light. But we checked in and unloaded and were anxious to find a place ot eat and rest for the night. Finally pulled the curtains, as it was still a little light outside, not nearly dark yet. The carpet had big splotches of stain all over it. It just looked and felt dirty. We went to eat and came back and sat in bed to watch t.v. for the evening. We felt like we did not want to walk on the carpet barefoot, it looked so grimey and dirty. So we took newspapers and laid them on the pathway between the beds and on into the bathroom and walked that way after undressing and getting up next morning. I don't know how long it had been since that hotel had cleaned carpets. And as we went down the hallway to go eat, near the elevator, there was a closet door that stayed open the whole time. It appeared to be a housekeeping closet of some kind, with a few brooms and piles of what looked like towels and dirty sheets all piled up. It stayed open from the time we went to eat until we left next morning. Just more of what seemed like sloppy housekeeping and cleaning. In our two weeks of travel, this was the only inn that was one we would not go back to. All of our other 13 nights were just fine or above. I will say that the beds seemed good. I would be afraid to pull the sheets off and look at the mattresses though! After that carpet appearance, I might have had to leave. We went out to eat breakfast! Not much there and didn't feel clean after the rest of it! Others rating these rooms must know the management, if they give a review of a clean room!

Room Tip: Top floor, less noise from above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori J, Public Relations Manager at Sleep Inn And Suites, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear valued guest, we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience and hope you will reconsider and stay with us again the next time you are in our area. We truly appreciate your feedback and will be using it to make future improvements. Thank you and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yucca Valley, CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

The facility is fairly new, but showing its wear. There were stains on the hallway carpets and in the room. The room was small, but the bathroom is huge. The hot tub was lukewarm and unusable. They had a breakfast with waffles, sausage, fruit and cereal. The price was good and the is pet friendly for an extra fee.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori J, Public Relations Manager at Sleep Inn And Suites, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Hello and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We do appreciate your comments and hope you give us another opportunity in the future to have you as our guest. Thank you again and wishing you safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

The place itself wasn't bad. However, I didn't get a real clean feeling from this place. Price isn't really an issue for me. The room was big enough. However, there were stains on the carpet. Two of the bath towels had stains, and the bathroom smelled of strong cleaning chemicals (that might be a good thing...)

If budget was tight, I would stay here again if it was $60 or less. Otherwise, I won't be back for my normal travel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori J, Public Relations Manager at Sleep Inn And Suites, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear valued guest, we apologize for any inconvenience you encountered while staying at our hotel. I have shared your comments with our executive housekeeper and hope you give us another opportunity in the future to have you as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Monte, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I've come back to this Sleep Inn several times now and not once have I been disappointed. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the breakfast is pretty good and the service is friendly. Beats the other motels in the area and well worth the price.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori J, Public Relations Manager at Sleep Inn And Suites, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Hello and thank you for your kind feedback! We truly appreciate you returning as our guest and look forward to having you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

This is a great place to stay. Despite being very close to the highway, it's not at all noisy. Plenty of parking, inside corridors. Housekeeping & front desk very helpful. Laundry on site. Breakfast is tasty & plentiful. Just down the road from 2 great places to eat, also.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori J, Public Relations Manager at Sleep Inn And Suites, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear valued guest, thank you for taking the time to share with others your recent experience at our hotel. We do truly appreciate it and hope to see you again the next time you are in our area, safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moses Lake, WA
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We were tired and took this Sleep Inn before reading reviews. Big mistake as we rely heavily on Trip Advisor. Our carpet was worn and dirty - especially in the entryway. The toilet seat was old and was stained and chipped. (I hope it was all stain and not just dirty). The rest of the bathroom was clean and the room was large with two queen beds which were comfortable.
The elevator permit posted was for 2012 so that makes one feel pretty safe :-).
No, I would not stay there again given other choices.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llynnjones, Public Relations Manager at Sleep Inn And Suites, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Hello and thank you for taking the time to share your comments with other valued travelers. We sincerely apologize you did not enjoy your stay and hope you give us another chance in the future to have you as our guest. In response to the elevator certification, all certifications are up to date and the hotel is in compliance. Again, we do hope you give us another opportunity in the future and we wish you safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn And Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn And Suites

Address: 6257 Knudsen Drive, Bakersfield, CA 93308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 59 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn And Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Sleep Inn And Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Bakersfield
Bakersfield Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn And Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.