We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This one's for Ripley's!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Best Economy Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bakersfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Best Economy Inn
5200 Olive Tree Court, Bakersfield, CA 93308 (Formerly Econo Lodge Bakersfield)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 57 hotels in Bakersfield
Northern California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“This one's for Ripley's!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I don't think I've ever stayed in a worse place! The smell was of feces and cigarettes and the broken AC had no cover. Roaches and fleas were visible and what I pray are spider bites ran up and down my lower legs after we left.
Gross, gross, gross, Red nail polish (I hope!) stains were all over the furniture and walls and I kept thinking how many stories the holes in the doors and walls could tell!
Just gross.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    1
    2
    10
See reviews for
4
2
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yuma
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

03/21/13

The Wife and I checked in and went to our room. What a shock. The room smells, the cover was off the AC unit. there was paint peeling off the ceiling, the bathtub did not look like it had been cleaned in a long time. There was only one pillow on the bed and not even a complete set of towels. We did not turn back the covers on the bed. Who knows what we would have found.

We went back to the office and asked for a refund. They willingly gave us a refund, NO QUESTIONS ASKED. I would assume this is common.

Cap & Virginia

Room Tip: Look at the room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Stayed January 2012.

We had driven from Hoover Dam on our way to San Fran and stopped here to overnight. We arrived late at night and it was a 'let's just pull in here, I can't go on any further' type of decision.

Big mistake. We had a room on the ground floor close to the office. It was small with two double beds, a/c, fridge and a small bathroom. We had two towels to share between the 4 of us (okay as we had our kids, not okay if I was travelling with other adults). The airconditioning didn't work very well and only seemed to have one temperature - very hot. I had to sleep with the door partly open with the security latch attached; needless to say I had very little sleep that night. I put the kids in the bed furthest from the door and hubby and I close to the door. We had to listen to screaming, cars revving, doors slamming, children crying and screaming, plus a woman crying all night. It was around 1am that I was at the point where I wanted to pack up my family and leave.

I've never felt more unsafe anywhere than I have here.

We left as early as possible in the morning, probably around 7.30am. We checked out the breakfast when we returned our key and decided bread and coffee wasn't going to cut it. We stopped at a McDonald's on our way out of town.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you can afford to stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bakersfield
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

my experience at this motel was terrible. the office staff was very nice but the room was horrible. the room stunk the bed was very uncomfortable they even had cockroaches running up the walls. and the people in the other rooms were very loud and i felt very unsafe . I do not recommend this motel to anybody. i dont care how cheap they rent for its still to much.

Room Tip: dont rent here ever.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We booked this hotel in the last minute as this was the cheapest in Bakersfield. But this turned to be a big mistake.

Pro's
1. Has lots of Parking Space available.
2. Is very cheap amongst nearby hotel.

Con's
1. The hotel rooms are very dirty and not maintained. We had spiders in blanket. Flies abound in the room. We had two rooms and both had the same conditions. The beds are not exactly clean.
2. Hotel Equipment did not work. The exhaust was broken and did not work and nor did multiple plug points. The AC has three settings and makea lot of noise.
3. Dont eat the breakfast. Although they serve only bread (along with butter and jams) and orage juice but you are bound to fall sick. All 5 of us fell sick after having just 1 bread and 1 glass of juice each.

So in case you have no options available then and only then book this hotel else stay away as much as possible.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

We were passing through Bakersfield and needed a place to stay the night. This was cheap, yes but also nasty! We didn’t really feel safe with all the people hanging around the motel at all hours. There were rooms full of people that obviously doubled as a place for the local workers and their families to live. We wanted to get an early start so left before the sun rose and found a strange man wandering around the car park, we definitely did not feel safe at any stage during our stay here. The only friendly person we came across was a man in the gas station who joked with my partner about coffee. Do not bother staying here! We felt very uncomfortable the whole time. I agree with previous comments about rooms being rented by the hour – there was ‘people’ coming and going at all times!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

I guess any single mistake is acceptable, but just too many things wrong with this place. I guess if your standards are low, it would be hard to beat the price and get the same. Here is what went wrong:

- Air conditioning didn't work. With 100+ weather, this is not okay. But that wasn't even the real problem. The real problem was when I mentioned it to the front desk, he tried to turn it around on me! He said, "well, you requested a first floor room. I had a air-conditioned room all picked out for you until you said that." Yeah, right.

- Wireless internet about 1.5 times the speed of dialup. In the year 2010?

- The ad says "Breakfast included" but doesn't mention that they only provide it on request. I think they count on you being in a hurry in the morning and won't ask. That is just not good enough. I was wondering when it would start and finally asked at 7:15. If I didn't ask, they would have just not served it at all.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Best Economy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Economy Inn

Address: 5200 Olive Tree Court, Bakersfield, CA 93308 (Formerly Econo Lodge Bakersfield)
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 57 hotels in Bakersfield
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hwy 99 Exit Olive Dr. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bakersfield Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Bakersfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Economy Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Best Economy Inn to your Saves list