We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Catering not good” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Camino Real Restaurante

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Camino Real Restaurante
4501 Stine Road, Bakersfield, CA, Bakersfield, CA 93313
6618520493
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #248 of 707 Restaurants in Bakersfield
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
bekersfield ca
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Catering not good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Too much seasoning on chips. Old oil taste. Corn tortillas old and broken. Desert like plastic. Fajitas way too spicy. Do not order catering from her. Go fresh mex. This is old school bad Mexican food

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    0
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Caught the chef on a bad day!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

The concept was great.....shrimp, lobster, and fish on a bed of vegetables with tortillas. However, the veggies under the fish were burnt and the tortillas had mold on them. I heard great things about the owner and think he would be appalled at the chef's laziness. For $22 I expect better.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield, Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great for a weary traveler”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I was working in Bakersfield and visited the first day there after many long hours of driving and calling on accounts. I wasn't sure what to try and was thrilled with the suggestion made by my competent and unobtrusive waitress. When I returned two days later, I was welcomed as an old friend. This time I also had the Mango Margarita which was yummy (the memory stays with me!). Excellent food, marvelous service, and reasonable prices for a quality meal. I will be back!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“I heard they are closed, but I hope it's not true!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The chilaquiles are the best I have ever had!! Their dessert was delicious and the Sunday brunch is one of the best Mexican brunches I have visited!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Love, love, love!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We have been there a few times and every time, it was just as delish as the last! The food is fresh, hot and a has a very cool California twist to your Mexican favorites. The chilaquiles are the BEST!!! The dessert is a party for your taste buds!!! Can't wait to come back to Sunday brunch!!! L-O-V-E!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camino Real Restaurante also viewed

 

Been to Camino Real Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camino Real Restaurante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.