We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not return to this HGI” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3625 Marriott Drive, Bakersfield, CA 93308   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2X Points!
Ranked #10 of 59 Hotels in Bakersfield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gouda, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
925 helpful votes 925 helpful votes
“Would not return to this HGI”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

At check-in I mentioned my limited mobility (walking on crutches), but despite that the lady at the front desk assigned me a room the furthest away from the lobby. When I asked her how far the room was, her reply was: just around the corner...............I was too tired to go back and complain. But I am glad I spend most of my business stays in Accor and HGI hotels, both loyalty programs where I am a Platinum member. Missed opportunity Hilton!!!
Breakfast was OK, for the money spent. Parking space insufficient, had to park at the hotel next door. Overall, I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pbonner, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and reviewing our hotel! Please accept my apologies for your experience during your stay. This will be discussed with the staff that made this grave error and we will work to correct them going forward. Our goal is always to provide the best, most accommodating service possible, and I regret that we failed to do so in your case. I hope you'll come back and give our hotel a second chance if your travels bring you back to our area. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    90
    41
    15
    7
See reviews for
88
69
13
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Paula, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We were celebrating our 46th wedding anniversary, and the staff at the Bakersfield Hilton Garden Inn made our trip special. As for accommodations, we could not have asked for more. A definite five-star experience!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The Hilton Garden Inn in Bakersfield is located near Costco. The accommodations are very comfortable. There is an indoor pool and spa and there are great places to eat nearby. The staff is very welcoming and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stay here this place is nice, comfortable and an awesome front desk staff that cares. Ana and Christina are great and know the area quite well. They made sure everything was handled. Thanks again guys!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

My quilt group arranged to use this hotel for our annual quilt retreat. Our price included guest room, use of conference rooms and several meals in the restaurant. We had 19 attendees and every one agrees that this hotel was the best venue we've used, by far. The guest rooms are really nice. The beds are comfortable. The conference rooms worked very well for our needs. The food was good. The service was excellent across the board. Arturo, in the restaurant, is a superstar. He provided us with impeccable service and his sense of humor had us rolling on the floor. We'll definitely be back to this hotel for our next retreat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pbonner, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your review and for being a loyal group with us since 2004 (build). We always enjoy our Quilting Retreat Group of guest and appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Springs Nevada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The staff were all very friendly and efficient. The room was very nice and very clean. Great value for the money. Will stay here again. pool and spa were inside and very clean, with towel service. The check in and check out process was extremely quick. We were allowed to check in 1 1/2 hour early for our stay. We stayed 2 nights and were very pleased with this facility.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benicia, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

A standard and personal evaluation of an ongoing experience (away from home lodging) of substantial significance incidental to my post-working (retirement)lifestyle I believe that the event that I encountered was most likely a rare occurrence but at the same disconcerting and will ensure that I do a more cautious examination in the future. Please also be advised that the water reservoir for the coffee makers in rooms typicaly have mold in them which can be attributed to the fact that room service personnel are not trained in food safety as are food service employees. I have ten years working ffod service management. v/r john

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pbonner, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you your review. I just wanted to drop a quick reply and insure you and any of our future guest that my hotel follows California Law and therefore all my food servers have all had their Safeserv training. This is repeatedly done every few years and all new hires. We would never want to put any of our guest in harms way. I hope you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield

Address: 3625 Marriott Drive, Bakersfield, CA 93308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bakersfield
#7 Family Hotel in Bakersfield
#9 Business Hotel in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield hotel is only minutes from downtown Bakersfield, California and the Bakersfield Airport, near the intersection of California Highway 99 and Rosedale Highway. Buck Owens Crystal Palace, golf courses, tennis, jogging and hiking trails are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield Hotel Bakersfield
Bakersfield Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Bakersfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.