We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The dumps” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Rodeway Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3400 Chester Lane, Bakersfield, CA 93309   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #27 of 57 Hotels in Bakersfield
Newark, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The dumps”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stayed in room 219 2/28 and 3/1/13.
Let me start with the only positive. The woman that took my reservation was very nice and helpful, as was the woman at check in. I think they are the same person.
#1 The website shows an updated property. This is NOT, other than the lobby.
#2 The elevator was old and felt unsafe,
#3 The hallways carpets were disgusting
#4 The pool water was freezing and the "hot tub" just a few degrees above that
#5 Now for the room: the shower was unclean with ashes and dirt in the bottom, I have pictures. Mold around the tub, and walls.
#6 Carpet in the room was sticky, and so badly stained we never took our shoes off. #7 The mini firdge was so broken the ice part was rusted and dangling, making keeping our food and ice safe was impossible.
#8 Hand towels stained and probably not washed before our visit.
#9 The room to the right of our, the last on the floor was occupied by extremely loud children who were running the hallways, screaming and slamming doors from 11pm until 2:30 when I threw a fit, yelling at them and the room several down that they seemed to be travelling with. I called the front desk twice, and received no assistance, security guard seemed more occupied B/Sing with his friends that helpful at all.
#10 Wi-Fi password never worked. We called the front desk many times to make sure we had the info correct, but we were given incorrect password errors. No one to help or fix this, we were just out of luck. Plainly stated, we left at 9pm on 3/1/13 to make a 6 hour drive, rather than stay another night in this TERRIBLE hotel. We really feel like you pulled the bait and switch. DO NOT STAY HERE... FOR ANY REASON!

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    23
    24
    3
    6
See reviews for
20
25
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The building itself and room is nice. Clean, has all the amenities.
The area can be a little bit shady at night. There were some teenagers who were loud in the evening, but this didn't last long.
Overall a very good value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We got this room at 50$ without tax for a kingsize bed and were very pleased.

Pros:
- Everything was spotless
- Fast internet
- Breakfast was good. Not as extensive as some of the other hotels, but decent enough to get your day started right
- Staff was friendly and efficient. The laundry room was a bit dirty when we entered, I mentioned it and by the time our laundry was done everything was cleaned.
- Plenty of amenities, big tv, lots of channels, fridge and microwave. Pool and hot tub were clean

Cons:
- Hot tub could have been warmer

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed here for one night when we were travelling from Las Vegas to Sequoia/Yosemite National Parks. It was perfect for what we needed and a great deal! It was a little tricky to find, as it is behind a restaurant and they share the same driveway. The room was VERY clean, as well as all other areas we saw. Every staff member we saw was smiling and friendly. We got a very reasonable rate which helped to balance out what we were about to spend in the National Parks!

I will say that at one point I was looking out the window which faced a parking lot next door and there was a vagrant making his was across the lot towards the hotel. He had a beverage in a paper bag and appeared to have already had a few based on his walking abilities. This wasn't a big deal for us, but I can see how it would make the previous reviewer (single female travelling on business) a little nervous.

We did not partake in the continental breakfast, so I can't comment on that.

If you need a decent overnight place to stay that's clean and a good value, don't hesitate to stay here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I would like to rate this property 'very good' except the parking lot is pretty scary. (single business woman traveling) I arrived late about 11pm after driving from the Burbank airport. I felt unsafe in the parking lot. The lot is accessible to anyone walking by. They do have security cameras but after meeting the front desk people I highly doubt anyone pays attention to the cameras.

I walked in the front office and was not acknowledged at all. I had to wait for about 3-5 mins while they counted money. That is a long time to wait after a long drive. I asked if I could use the ladies room before I checked in by was told it would take just as long to use the one by the pool as it would for me to get a key to my room. I had to ask where my room was and where to park. Again I felt vulnerable in the parking lot while unloading my car.

After my first impression of this motel I was weary of what my room was going to be like. I was SO surprised that it was very nice inside. I was actually shocked and my room exceeded my expectations.

The room was super clean, and pretty big. It had a separate counter with a coffee maker, microwave and even a little sink. The vanity was spacious and the bath was clean. The main room had a little couch (no stains) and coffee table. The desk had a new thick cushy office chair. It had a clean, quiet refrigerator. The bed was large and was very comfy.

In this case you can't judge a book by its cover.

Room Tip: be aware of leaving anything of value in your cars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stopped off here for two reasons, one was that we were on route to San Jose from Las Vegas the other was that we were heading to a gig in Bakersfield.

With the above said, we didn't spend much time in the room other than a few hours sleep.

The hotel looked clean which is always top of the list, the reception lady was very friendly and had us checked in quickly, there were plenty of parking spaces although it did take us a while to find the entrance (we may blame the long Vegas drive for that though).

The accommodation had an elevator which was very much appreciated considering the amount of shopping we'd managed to do the previous few days.

The room was a good size, there was a fridge and microwave in the room plus a sofa and double bed. The bed was comfy, bathroom was clean.

I'd have no trouble staying here again should I find myself in Bakersfield in the future :)

*The hotel also has a continental breakfast but we left before trying it so can't comment on quality other than that it does exist.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Stopped here for a night as part of a cross-country trip with a total of 7 college students. Arrived pretty late, receptionist was okay, check-in process was a bit different...

There was a garbage smell outside the hotel and right outside the inner hallways they've got cigarette dumps so of course right outside the door and halfway into the hallway there was a lingering smoke smell, the rooms, however, were fine. Hotel rooms were fine, especially for the price, the only thing lacking was a bigger breakfast but the money saved on the rooms was enough to make up for that.

Not sure if I would stay here again, it's a solid choice if you need something good and cheap but I think next time we'll opt for the next step up.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites

Address: 3400 Chester Lane, Bakersfield, CA 93309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Bakersfield
Bakersfield Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.