We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for what we needed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vagabond Inn Buttonwillow I-5

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Vagabond Inn Buttonwillow I-5 to your Saves list
Vagabond Inn Buttonwillow I-5
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Trask Street, Bakersfield, CA 93312 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 59 Hotels in Bakersfield
Buckeye, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Okay for what we needed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

My daughter and I were traveling to the Bay area and needed a room for the night. I saw the sign for this place which said $39.95 a night. We decided to try it. When we went in the girl said they only had a smoking room available. We don't smoke but decided to take it anyway since we were only stopping for the one night. Our room faced the freeway so it was a little noisy with traffic noise. The room was equipped with a microwave and fridge. It was clean but dated. The chair was flimsy and felt like it would fall apart . The smell of smoke was there but it wasn't overbearing. We had the breakfast they offered. There were two cereal choices, donuts, make-them-yourself waffles, and beverages. Orange juice was really Sunny D. Our stay was perfect for what we needed but wouldn't stay for more than a night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    17
    13
    7
    8
See reviews for
18
12
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Arizona
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

The chain lock on the door was missing. There was a mysterious trap door in the ceiling that we weren't sure if it was secured or not. Lamp shade was tattered. Funny overly sweet smell in the room. Not enough towels. Seemed to be a place for workers to stay, not for families! Watch out for dog poop!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandon, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We rented two rooms. Desk clerk gave us a great deal, truckers rate. Son refused to sleep in room (he found horrible stains in unclean sheets. He slept in car. Continental breakfast was laughable. No coffee maker in room. Towels turned yellow when wet. Nothing could ruin our euphoria. Ducks won RoseBowl!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bakersfield
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

i feel that anyone traveling through bakersfield or just need a place to stay over night should check out the vagabond inn north.The employees are very friendly and make everybody who comes through feel at home.The rates are good and the rooms are clean with comfortable beds and they also have a very good complimentary breakfast. I highly recommend this motel where you'll feel safe and secure and the customer service is GREAT!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fallbrook, ca
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

Our visit to Bakerfield brought us through the I5 stretch this time. We decided to stop over off of the Stockdale exit for the night here at the Vagabond. It was a good stay, the property is well kept and appears to have gone through a change or renovation. An IHOP is next to the inn, enough parking, free continental breakfast. Inn has a nice pool, didn't have time to take a dip. Maybe next time~!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinetop-Lakeside, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

My primary objective when staying at this hotel was that I could bring in my cat. So as a pet friendly hotel, I kind of just overlooked the fact that the carpet was so desperately in need of a cleaning that I would not walk on the floor barefooted. It is old, not well cared for and on a major highway. If you need a pet friendly place in a hurry, this will do, but I have recently stayed in a fabulous place that was also pet friendly, so I guess you dont have to settle for the unclean ones at all. Dont be fooled. I primarily use the Choice hotels brand for the points and for the pet friendly hotels, but I will be a little pickier next time

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Vagabond Inn Buttonwillow I-5? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Buttonwillow I-5

Address: 200 Trask Street, Bakersfield, CA 93312 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 59 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn Buttonwillow I-5 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located near Interstate 5, guests will not only enjoy the fine amenities of the Vagabond Inn, but be minutes away from California State University. Clean spacious rooms, complimentary continental breakfast and high-speed Internet access come standard when staying at the Vagabond Inn. Other hotel amenities include an outdoor swimming pool. Ihop adjacent to property. Guests can take advantage of nearby outdoor recreational activities including boating, fishing, golfing and camping. Buena Vista Lake is seven miles from the hotel. Magic Mountain amusement park is 80 miles away. The hotel's close proximity to nearby California State University makes it the perfect choice when visiting family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Vagabond Inn Buttonwillow I-5 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Hotel Bakersfield
Rodeway Inn Bakersfield
Bakersfield Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vagabond Inn Buttonwillow I-5, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.