We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Indian” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zaika Indian Cuisine

Zaika Indian Cuisine
5123 Ming Avenue, Bakersfield, CA 93309
6618360100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 707 Restaurants in Bakersfield
Cuisines: Indian, Seafood, Vegan, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: SERVING LUNCH BUFFET ( ALL YOU CAN EAT ) EVERYDAY FROM 11AM TO 3PM.Open every day from 11Am to 9PM, Friday & Saturday till 10PM. We specialize in North Indian food and also make some special South Indian dishes like Dosa and Idli.
Raleigh NC
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Indian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I started coming here ]when it was called the Indian Palace but it changed over sometime back and I love the change. The decor is much better but the food is superb. Since I travel to many places every week, I am particular with my restaurants. This is a great experience. I took a new employee along with my wife this week. He had never tried Indian before. His first comments when he finished was "Wow-I am going to have to find an Indian restaurant near my town now because this was great." I told him they all my not be at the same level he was experiencing. Good grub.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    11
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This place serves the most delicious food! We asked for medium spicy, and it was actually medium spicy and not toned down. The Lamb Pasanda was especially good. The atmosphere is calm and cozy, and the staff was great. Highly recommended!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontheroad80
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Indian Food in Bakersfield”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We were traveling through Bakersfield and just spending the night. We are both fond of Indian food and hadn't had any on our road trip so decided to try Zaika since the reviews were good. We are picky Indian foodies and this place did not disappoint! The samosas were excellently spiced and the butter chicken was the best I have had in years! The garlic nan was also delicious. We away full and impressed. Service was excellent also.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Huge portions, small prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I did not try the northern Indian food I ordered from the small selection of south Indian food. I was impressed. I ordered Dosa masala expecting what I generally get in portions, meaning small portions. 1 Dosa masala from here easiy will feed a family of four. The portions are huge the prices are small. The south Indian food was true to taste. I ordered idly and sambar. This was served with 2 naan. I have eaten at many Indian restaurants specializing in south Indian cuisine and this really good. One of the better restaurants to serve south Indian cuisine.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Extensive menu, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Three of dined here recently and found the food to be awesome. The Lemon rice was the best rice dish I have ever had- any cuisine. The portions are generous, giving me a chance to enjoy the food he next day as well. The Mango Curry Chicken was a good choice. I want to go back for the buffet to perhaps sample new dishes. BTW, the medium heat was just right, not sure I could handle the really spicey; they give you a choice of heat. I'll be back and am glad it is only across town and not in LA where I usually find good Indian food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zaika Indian Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Zaika Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zaika Indian Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.