We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stuffy room with great survice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rosedale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Rosedale to your Saves list
Hotel Rosedale
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2400 Camino Del Rio Ct., Bakersfield, CA 93308 (Formerly Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 57 Hotels in Bakersfield
california
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“stuffy room with great survice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The room was a little stuffy and humid. The stuffy goes away once you open the window, the humid.. well, you adapt to that. cleanliness is a 3/5.. the sheets where clean- the bathroom was a little icky. There is a warning in the bathroom: if there is any missing towels you pay for it; including the little square towels that some of us are tempted to take.
The room seem to keep sound out better than most places ive stayed at. The maid still knocked on the door 1000 "housekeeping" with my do not disturb sign on the handle pocket ey ey!
the pool and jacuzzi is clean- the continental breakfast is fair, boiled eggs, toast, coffee, you can make waffles, sit down space is comfortable. service is nice. there is only one computer by the main lobby, and you can ask staff to print anything you might need. great bargain for the price, and the location is safe and comfortable.

Room Tip: a room with a balcony can go a long way
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    41
    32
    22
    21
See reviews for
42
40
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

On a 2 week USA trip we stayed in avariety of accomodation, and Hotel Rosedale was delighful. Great value for a very affordable amount. It was much better than other budget places we stayed at, and infact I could easily stay several days. The staff wee helpful and friendly, and the rooms large. the huge pool complex was gorgeous - lots of greenery and in the centre of the hotel so a lovely courtyard. generaour breakfast choices (waffles, biscuits etc as well as continental) and the Bar/Restaurant was very pleasant too. Next to the I5 but we ddin't notice any noise - very handy to get to

Room Tip: one overlooking the pool would be good (we diodn't have one but didn't mind as ours was huge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed here twice for 1 night to & from San Diego. Similar rooms each time, the first on the ground floor near the lobby; the 2nd on the opposite side from the lobby & on the 2d floor. Both rooms overlooked the central pool, jacuzzi, picnic areas, which are a pleasant view of greenery & water. And in August a definite plus!
The room amenities are some of the best I've encountered: small frig w/freezer section (great for blue ice packs,) microwave, coffee maker, free WiFi, flat screen TV and either patio or balcony with 2 chairs & a table. Found the rooms & bathrooms to be clean, well furnished with towels & bedding, as well as black-out drapes. Very comfortable beds. For someone who's been on the road for several hours & has several more hours on the road, the rooms provide a quiet & restful environment. Sampled the complimentary breakfast, which is described accurately in an earlier review. It was adequate for my needs. I've stayed at a chain motel previously in the same general area, but will stay here without hesitation. Another plus: multiple places to eat at all price levels within a 3-mile radius, and a Costco store + gasoline station about a block away.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Well...My fiance' and I stayed here after looking for a nice affordable room late night. The entrance is nice, the staff was friendly. The price we paid was decent (we were really tired). We asked for a non-smoking room, the room said non-smoking but did smell of smoke. The room was nicely apportioned, and the bed was very comfortable. The continental breakfast was okay, at least they did offer boiled eggs, and biscuits and gravy. This along with the standard pastries, toast, cereal (cold), yogurt, fruit (apples), juice, and milk. The breakfast is served in the bar/restaurant area, and has a very nice big screen TV. This ice machines are located outside, somewhat inconvenient. The rooms all have their own patios (table & 2 chairs), which open to the courtyard. The pool area and interior grounds are beautiful, especially this time of year. However...the hotel is under renovation. They are changing from the red lion, to their new name (Hotel Rosedale). So...with that being said, the room had some issues. It was clean, but some area were in need of attention. But, it wasn't anything to make me not stay again. Overall, not bad for the price.

Room Tip: Hum? I would ask for one that has been renovated already, and toward the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

The staff were very friendly and professional, the hotel pool was awesome and the Jacuzzi was even better. The room was very clean and spacious, overall just a great experience and great quality for the price

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avondale, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Never ever stay at this Hotel!!!! We had prepaid reseverations for two suites, when we arrived we were informed, by the rudiest receptionist I have ever met, that we had no reservations and they were booked thru the weekend and could not help us. I produced our reservations and she informed me that since they were made thur a 3rd party I would need to contact them to straighten it out. We went next door to the Marriott were we did not have reservations and they had no problem accommodating us.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Our experience was awful. We booked this hotel based on the experience from some of our friends. Turns out the hotel has 3 levels of rooms (unofficially). The one's at the entrance are the best rooms. The ones in the middle are poor, and the one's in the back are ghetto. If you read good reviews, the guests were problably in the rooms at the entrance. Our room was near the pool. The carpet was FILTHY - stains everywhere. I had to be on the kids to never take off their flip flops. The beds were clean. The worst part - We found 4 cockroaches! I can deal with dirty carpet, but draw the line at bugs! One of our friends got a room in the back (ghetto), problems included: roaches, filthy carpet, no air conditioning, bathroom door not closing, no fan in the bathroom, and pealing wall paper. I heard of one person complaining of mold on the ceiling. On the positive side, breakfast selection was good, and the pool is awesome. The beds were very comfortable, and the location is great.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the entrance of the hotel, and if they still have roaches before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rosedale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rosedale

Address: 2400 Camino Del Rio Ct., Bakersfield, CA 93308 (Formerly Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 57 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rosedale 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Rosedale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Bakersfield
Bakersfield Red Lion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rosedale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.