We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Can Do Better, Trust me.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of America's Best Value Inn Bakersfield

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added America's Best Value Inn Bakersfield to your Saves list
America's Best Value Inn Bakersfield
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   8230 East Brundage Lane, Bakersfield, CA 93307 (Formerly Liberty Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 57 Hotels in Bakersfield
Prescott, AZ
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“You Can Do Better, Trust me.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

I was suckered in to this place by a high rating, and trust me, you can do better. I am not a complainer. But unless you REALLY have to save the extra $20 it might cost to stay elsewhere (Hampton Inn at same exit looked good), avoid this place. Its next to a truck stop so its very noisy and the room stunk. OK it was a smoking room cuz thats all they had left, but it was worse than cigarette smells. The AC is very loud. The water was OK but the towel situation was pitiful. Bedding not bad, but was not a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvilasvegas, Manager at America's Best Value Inn Bakersfield, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
Thank you for bringing to our attention the problems you encountered. We appreciate your comments as we constantly strive to improve. Please accept my apology for the inconveniences you experienced.
Sincerely,
Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    5
    4
    9
See reviews for
7
7
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011 via mobile

Room was clean at first glance but smelled extremely sternly of pest control chemicals. I don't even mind smokers and this was strong enough for it to be a problem for me to sleep. Looking for an outlet, I came upon a used condom behind the night stand... Nice! All night water was going on and off at regular intervals but I was not next to the laundry room. In addition, people above me sounded like they were moving furniture. I might have gotten 4 hours of sleep out of 7. The worst part is that this place could truly be excellent. The rooms are upgraded and the gentleman at the counter was genuinely friendly and helpful. Just a bad experience? Maybe.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

My husband and I were driving from SF to Vegas and decided to stop in Bakersfield for the night.. We were exhausted and decided to stay here after reading positive reviews. They were right - very clean, quiet and nice, no-frills motel room.
Bathroom and sink area were clean - only downside was that when you opened the door that went to the inside of the motel (where ice machine was located), the smell of cigarette smoke creeped in, but we kept that door closed, so it wasn't that bad.
It was definitely worth the great price they charged us, and we had a good night's rest before driving the rest of the way to Vegas.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bruno, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

It was around 9 at night, and we were hoping to find a hotel with a hot tub because our backs were aching from driving so long. We finally found this one. But when we went to book, the girl at the counter said that it would be an hour and a half to turn it on. We had looked through the window before we went to the desk, and it looked like it was on. She then said "Well, you could go to the Hampton down the street if you had the $90 for the night." She said it very snotty like too.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to America's Best Value Inn Bakersfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about America's Best Value Inn Bakersfield

Address: 8230 East Brundage Lane, Bakersfield, CA 93307 (Formerly Liberty Inn)
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 57 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — America's Best Value Inn Bakersfield 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your America's Best Value Inn Bakersfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage America's Best Value Inn Bakersfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.