We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Deal in Bakersfield” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Quality Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   4500 Buck Owens Blvd., Bakersfield, CA 93308 (Formerly Hotel California)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #30 of 57 Hotels in Bakersfield
So Cal
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Best Deal in Bakersfield”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2009

Our entire team stayed at the Quality Inn and Suites for a soccer tournament. The management/owner made us feel like we were truly their guest. The staff went out of their way to make sure all of our needs were met and that we were happy with our stay. An excellent breakfast was provided from 6 - 9 and there was plenty of food despite our clan and several other teams. The rooms looked brand new, the beds were very comfortable and there was a nice flat screen plasma TVs. The courtyard is beautiful and provides a great hang out location for the parents and kids during the day and in the evening. Free newspapers and internet were provided in the lobby every day. There is easy freeway access and is just a short drive to the main area of restaurants and entertainment. A restaurant/sports bar is adjacent to the hotel so you do not need to drive to eat if you don't want to. Although there are numerous hotels in the area. Our families were in agreement that this is where we will stay everytime. If staying during the winter, the pool is not heated but the spa is large enough for an entire team.

  • Liked — Staff, rooms, breakfast
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    29
    49
    13
    9
See reviews for
28
48
7
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Troon, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2008

We stopped the night here after driving all day. Check in was good, clean lobby, efficient staff. We were allocated a room round the back of the hotel away from the road. As soon as we approached the front door we noticed boots lined up outside the next room, its door open and loud music coming out of it. A few guys were going in and out. In the room, which was clean, we could hear the noise through the walls. As we didn't want to put up with this plus the prospect of being kept awake all night, we contacted the front desk and asked to be moved. The manager appeared quickly, explained that they were workers that were living there long term and moved us to a room upstairs where we had no noise problems. We have to ask why we were allocated the room in the first place when other rooms were vacant - some check in staff just don't seem to think!

  • Liked — Good clean rooms
  • Disliked — Possibly noisy neighbours
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2008

The room was fairly small compared to some other motel rooms we've used, but very clean and comfortable so we were happy enough. The decor was nice and looked new, but I can't wax quite as lyrical as the other reviewers! We didn't have a plasma TV, and I was disappointed that they could not provide a fridge in the room when we asked for one. Apparently only the suites can have a fridge and not the standard rooms, and they would not allow us to change rooms. The courtyard and pool area was nice, with a charming cat! Breakfast was adequate but not so much to chose from. A large team of sports girls turned up for breakfast at the same time and hit it like locusts so there was not much left for anyone else.

  • Liked — Clean comfortable room for the money
  • Disliked — No fridge
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2008

This hotel was one of those surprises that you always hope to find on a long road trip! Based on the single review (at the time) on Trip Advisor, the excellent room rate and the location, we made the reservations and hoped for the best. The best is just what we got! This 3-story hotel is very attractive from the outside, a great CA retro look with stone and stucco, archways and palms. The rooms, however, were even better. The hotel has been completely remodeled and each large room is 100% brand new. There were granite counter tops, great shower/tub combos, new comfy beds, the works, and everything was so bright, fresh and clean. When we opened the door, I felt like we might be the first people to have stayed in this room since the remodeling, and maybe we were. The hotel is built around an interior courtyard, and that courtyard was also very nice with great landscaping, a small fountain, and of course, the pool, all very relaxing and serene. We will definitely be staying at this hotel again when we are in the area. It was a excellent stay!!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2008

A Friend recommended this hotel to me. What a great find!! Everything is new and upgraded in the rooms, new beds and bedding with plasma tv's. The hotel staff is friendly and effcient. The continental breakfast is better than most. Then grounds and courtyad are beautiful and relaxing. Will defiently be back the next time I stay in Bakersfield.

  • Liked — The whole place has been re-modled
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Address: 4500 Buck Owens Blvd., Bakersfield, CA 93308 (Formerly Hotel California)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 57 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn & Suites hotel would like to invite you to stay with us on your next visit to Bakersfield, CA. We take great pride in providing clean and comfortable rooms, along with friendly customer service at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Bakersfield
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Inn Bakersfield
Bakersfield Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.