We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a very pleasant stay.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Quality Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   4500 Buck Owens Blvd., Bakersfield, CA 93308 (Formerly Hotel California)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #37 of 57 hotels in Bakersfield
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not a very pleasant stay.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

When we checked in, we were given a key. When we arrived at the room door, there was a do not disturb sign on the door. We called the office and a staff member came up, opened the door and found the room was still occupied. We were given another room. In the evening, after showering, the door opened by another guest. Obviously, another guest was given the key to our room. Around 9:00 PM, the power went out. We could not see anything for about 5 minutes. After the power came on, we had to reset the alarm clock which took a while to figure out. All-in-all, not a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    26
    40
    11
    9
See reviews for
22
42
6
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yucaipa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed overnight while attending a concert at the Crystal Palace which is very close. We used our Choice points. I was hesitant about staying because the regular rates are pretty low for the area. It's an older property that could use some sprucing up of the grounds but the room was very clean with comfortable beds. The breakfast was very good. Excellent Wifi.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

In our 3-week touring US holiday (a dozen or so hotels and motels) this was the worse experience we had. It certainly did not live up to its name… A guy behind the desk, had no clue about anything much. We ordered two rooms one double, one twin for the sons but, both rooms had small double beds (more like a queen size) thus totally unsuitable for our sons (both in their twenties) to share. We were offered an extra folding bed for one of the rooms (for $10), which we had to push along the path ourselves! However, it did not did not fit the very small room, so we pushed it back to the lobby (in pouring rain). Surely the desk guy should have known this before even suggesting it. Furthermore the “view” from one of the room (No 125) was that of the wall of a pool pump room with the associated noise filling the room all night. The bedroom’s heating was very noisy too, so we had to switch it off, the door did not lock properly which was especially bad as it was on the ground floor of this motel-style inn. The free breakfast is off the premises so requires a short walk (dodging cleaning staff and their carts blocking the narrow walkway), which for us was in pouring rain again.. Breakfast (rather poor) is served in a bizarre nightclub/abandoned restaurant looking very dimly lit building. If this is not weird…. Never again!

Room Tip: not 125! Avoid Rooms 101 etc which face the pool (or look into walls, stairs) and and "enjoy&qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Was at the check in desk for 15 minutes while they tried to find, and then confirm my booking. Lucky i had the printout reservation confirmation or I don't think they would have let me stay without paying again. Room was clean, bed comfortable w/ nice sheets, nice shower with good pressure. This might have been because my room was (seemingly) next to the hotel's hot water system so I had the pleasure of hearing pipe noise all night. Food at the hotel's restaurant was excellent, and not too expensive. Would probably stay again; not bad for the price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We had a quick overnight in Bakersfield as part of a road trip, and we weren't expecting too much out of this place. But we were surprised that we had such a nice stay here! Very comfy bed, nice clean room, good TV, and the wifi was fast and consistent. Breakfast in the Replay Lounge was tasty, although a little more variety would have been nice, but all in all, we had an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My stay at the Quality Inn & Suites was very pleasant. It is clean, quiet and affordable. They have a hot tub and pool which i very much enjoyed after a long day of traveling. I ate at Replay Lounge and Grill, which is just next door, and the food there is absolutely amazing.
Back in my room with a very comfortable bed there is a sign i have never seen before, and I travel quite a bit. the sign says (Forget Something? We want to make sure you're comfortable. If you've forgotten or are in need of any essential toiletry item, please come to our front desk for a complimentary replacement.) It's not a 5 star hotel, if it were you would have to pay 5 star prices.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Checked in early evening on the 19th. A guy was working behind the desk, acted as if he had no clue bout anything. Something was wrong with making Cards for Suites as well. Took him for ever............ to check in Lady before me. He co worker arrived only moved the mouse on the other Computer he claimed was not working.. I stood there for over 10-14 minutes not word spoken to me or we will be right with you zip Zero nade. I booked a room with frig and micro. Got None. The lock on the door did not work very well, it was POUR down rain so daughter and I dealt with it.. Breakfast was a joke, only positive Thing was the mattress on the beds, very comfortable. Two bad experiences with Choice Hotels chain in two weeks, other in Escondido Comfort Inn.. NEVER again.. The two working the desk that evening Need a refresher course on greeting customers.. Especially since we.. paid their checks!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Also Known As:
Quality Hotel
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Hotel Bakersfield
Quality Inn Bakersfield
Bakersfield Quality Inn
Address: 4500 Buck Owens Blvd., Bakersfield, CA 93308 (Formerly Hotel California)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 57 hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn & Suites hotel would like to invite you to stay with us on your next visit to Bakersfield, CA. We take great pride in providing clean and comfortable rooms, along with friendly customer service at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.