We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Early June stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Bakersfield

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Express Inn - Bakersfield to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Bakersfield
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2700 White Lane, Bakersfield, CA 93304   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Ranked #31 of 59 Hotels in Bakersfield
Titusville, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Early June stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I enjoyed my 5 night stay here and was treated kindly on check-in and check-out. We were just chagrined that the hot tub did not work. The Internet connection was poor.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojobakersfield, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Bakersfield, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Howard Johnson Inn Bakersfield and for taking the time to share your experience. We are happy that our customer service met or exceed your expectations. Thank you for the great score on value, cleanliness, customer service, rooms, location and sleep quality. We do apologize that the pool and spa was down for about a week during renovations. They are both up and running now. We hope to see you again soon.

Ariana Sanchez, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    46
    57
    40
    41
See reviews for
76
37
26
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Union City, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Near the Freeway but very easy to overshoot the entrance which is not clearly marked and find yourself back on 99. Exterior grounds are unkempt and 'off putting' but the rooms are clean and the reception staff helpful. Buffet breakfast minimal and reflects the price as good value

Room Tip: Avoid room fronting the Freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojobakersfield, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Bakersfield, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Howard Johnson Inn Bakersfield and for recognizing us as a good value. We appreciate your tip regarding getting a room away from the street for a quieter room. Next time that you are, please ask for me and I will set you up in such a room. Thank you for pointing out the cleanliness of our room and the helpful staff. It means a lot to us. We will do a better job with our exterior. We hope to see you again soon.

Ariana Sanchez, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Checked in, no problem : nice lady gives us our two rooms as planned !
1:30 AM we are woken up by one of our sons (sharing room 163 : toilets are overflowing and have flooded have the bedroom carpet..
Night watchperson gives us key to room 179... the room is already occupied by a nice big roach family !
We left a note for the manager who has not even written any apolgies after 8 days : We advise you to stay away from this disgusting place !

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojobakersfield, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Bakersfield, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. We apologize for the overflowing toilet in one of your rooms and definitely understand your frustration. We are so sorry for that and would like the opportunity to show you that your experience was an exception. If you do book with us again, please contact me personally and I will make sure you have a better experience.

Ariana Sanchez, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - Bakersfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Bakersfield

Address: 2700 White Lane, Bakersfield, CA 93304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 59 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Bakersfield 2*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Wyndham, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Bakersfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Bakersfield Hotel Bakersfield
Howard Johnson Bakersfield
Bakersfield Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Express Inn - Bakersfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.