We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super tender....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fabious' Corner BEST BBQ - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Fabious' Corner BEST BBQ
829 Chester Avenue, Bakersfield, CA 93314
661-631-0225
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Description: Quaint family friendly barbecue restaurant. Dine in or take out. Catering for any occasion. Special desserts. Southern cooking. Soul food. Catering food truck available for routes.
Bakersfield, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“super tender....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

the best bbq that I have ever tasted in life.... the meat was soooo tender that it literally fell off the bone....my kids are picky eaters and the ate every thing that was on their plate with no problems, they even asked for more.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    2
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Bait & Switch”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We had seen Fabious' Corner BBQ many times and decided to stop in. The staff was friendly and courteous. We were given a menu and asked what they (staff) recommended. That is when we met Fabious. He signaled to the kitchen and they brought out a little sample plate of pork, chicken & beans. My wife tried them, looked at me and said it was good. I didn't taste, so she ordered the BBQ sampler plate and I ordered the seafood gumbo ( which Fabious recommended as the "best"!) The food came out and the chicken & were smothered in BBQ sauce which was ok, but the beans which swayed my wife were not the same. The seafood gumbo was terrible, it had chicken, krab (pollock) and a couple of small bay shrimp, the roux was white and similar to a flour dumpling consistency. I was not impressed. In my conversation with Fabious, he said he was closing the restaurant soon, now I know why. We won't be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“awesome food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

everything on the menu was great!!!! there were so many options to choose from, my boyfriend and I ordered 2 plates which were so huge we ate 2 times, we made sure we ordered two different plates that way we could taste more of what they had to offer. When we got there they gave us a sample.....and alll i could say is i cant wait to go back so that i could go and have dinner here again.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caliente, CA
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Really gooooooooooooooood BBQ..........”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

If you like BBQ you'll love Fabious'. Eat in or take out. The food is great. The BBQ sauce is excellent. Now the location is a little different as it is in an old house. You can't go wrong with the food though.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

BBQ chicken sandwich was large pieces of chicken on a dried out bun. BBQ sauce was unremarkable. Chicken had been overcooked and was really dry and stringy. Not worth a second visit. My husband did like the dirty rice but complained that the place felt "dirty" .

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fabious' Corner BEST BBQ also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fabious' Corner BEST BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.