We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thrown out on the street.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield/Hwy 58, CA

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield/Hwy 58, CA to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield/Hwy 58, CA
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7941 East Brundage Lane, Bakersfield, CA 93307   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #11 of 57 hotels in Bakersfield
Northern California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Thrown out on the street.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

I had a confirmed reservation with this hotel, which was made far in advance. On the day of my stay, just prior to check-in time, I received a voicemail measage from the General Manager stating 'I am calling to notify you that your reservation has been canceled; we no longer have a reservation for you. We are over sold by 15 rooms and the owner wants 15 reservations canceled, so your was canceled'.
The message was apathetic. There was no sincere apology, no offer to put us up somewhere else nor any offering for the inconvenience created by their inept and unsatisfactory handling of their business.
This cancellation, at the last minute, on a busy, sold-out weekend in Bakersfield created hardship to my family as this reservation was made for my parents, who are senior citizens, and who traveled several hours for their get-away weekend.
What a stressful time! Thankfully, my parents were not out on the street as I was finally able to secure a room elsewhere, after several hours of calling around and waiting for potential cancellations at other hotels. Of course my new reservation was at more than double the early, advanced reservation rate I originally had, but I am very thankful my parents had a place. And, they were treated superbly by the hotel staff at the Holiday Inn Express on Hughes Lane!!

Someday maybe this apathetic staff will learn how to properly handle their business and their customers.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guadalupe a, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield/Hwy 58, CA, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
I’m sorry we were unable to accommodate you during your recent visit to our hotel. We strive to accommodate 100% of our guests but overbooking situations can happen. Please accept our apology for the unfortunate circumstances. I hope the next time you are in the area you will give us a chance to provide accommodations for you This is absolutely not the service we strive to provide here at the Hampton inn & suites Please accept our sincere apologies.

Guadalupe Asencio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    70
    27
    4
    9
See reviews for
58
61
13
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This Hampton is generally consistent and true to the brand. I stayed here for one night using Hilton Honors points. I had a top floor King Studio Suite on the west side nearest the freeway. A couple of things I didn't like - towels were fewer than usual, hot water took a long time to get when running the faucet, and the smart a/c shut off when I was out resulting in a very warm room when I returned. Nevertheless, the room was clean, spacious, and in good condition. The bed was very comfortable, though perhaps a little on the soft side for my taste. The TV was proportionately too small for the room and the channel selection was very average. The internet was unacceptably slow, I mean AOL dial-up slow. Hilton needs to pay attention to this, ditch AT&T, and do better than speeds 1/50th of what I get at home. I had no chance of streaming anything from Hulu or Netflix. Basic e-mail is about all the internet connection was good for. Freeway noise was pronounced, especially during morning rush hour. Train horns and track noise could be heard all night. Light sleepers will need a little white noise or earplugs. There is no shopping or dining right nearby except a Dennys. The plus for this hotel is that it is a good value with easy freeway access on the east side of Bakersfield.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

3 days after my vacation ended and I am STILL flabbergasted at how i was treated at this hotel. I booked a room months in advance at a special rate and on the day of check in at check in time (3pm) I was called and told i had no reservation, the hotel was oversold and the owner said "cancel 15 reservations", so mine was cancelled. I was told by the front desk that "I had no reservation at their hotel at this time". I was never asked if i wanted to pay full rate, was not offered a "walk", not even offered to be relocated at HILTONS expense to another hotel...just KICKED TO THE CURB. Hilton works really hard to maintain an exceptional rapport with their clientele and other "special" guests which is why this is such a disappointment. I guess the word "guaranteed" in the statement "Your room is guaranteed" is a complete lie. This hotel owner and his employees should be utterly ashamed of themselves for the way they handled this situation. Thank God the Holiday Inn Express was there to assist me with finding another room otherwise My wife and I would have been on the street for the weekend.

Room Tip: Be aware, what looks good on the outside, does not necessarily reflect what it is like on the inside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City West, Az
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I had already booked a room and been charged for two rooms; Easytobook credited me for the extra room but re-booked for the wrong date. When I arrived, I found I had been charged as a no-show several days earlier. The clerk offered a room at a higher rate which I declined. No more easytobook.com unless I'm credited for its error.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guadalupe a, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield/Hwy 58, CA, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing this quick feedback on your recent experience with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input and apologize for any confusion or frustration experienced with the original bookings. We do our best to flawlessly align our reservations systems with online outlets but occasionally there are mistakes. We will keep your experience in mind as we constantly look for new ways to improve our complete guest experience and we hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in town so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction. If we may be of any additional assistance please do not hesitate to contact our offices directly.

Guadalupe Asencio
6613219424
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The room was pretty nice, but the check-in staff was rude and the bathroom reeked of mildew. Asked to speak to management about the smell and was told no manager on site. The breakfast was really thin and not replaced very often. The sausage tray was empty for half an hour, and the fresh fruit was never refilled while I was there so all you could get was the "you-make-it" waffle or some stale pastries and yogurt. Expected more from a Hampton Inn. Usually have good experiences at them on my stays on the east coast. Maybe Hamptons are only bad in California?

Room Tip: Don't expect much more than coffee and a Danish and you'll be okay with the "breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guadalupe a, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield/Hwy 58, CA, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
On behalf of Hampton inn &suites, please accept my apology for your unpleasant stay at our hotel
We strive to ensure our patrons experience the best visits possible during their travels and we fell short of our goal this time. please be assured all complaints will be addressed we take every complaint seriously,

We hope you will see the improvement and enjoy your time with us in your next visit. Please feel free to contact me if you have any further questions or comments concerning your stay. Thank you.

Sincerely,
Guadalupe Asencio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Very nice hotel with great amenities. It was like an oasis in the desert! The Fitness center had a great choice of equipment to round out a workout. Super clean an nice room. Complementary breakfast was was great (Eggs a little dry). Staff was great!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo P, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield/Hwy 58, CA, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank You so much for all your kind words on our Hotel and staff. It is our goal to satisfy each guest to best of our ability. So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us in Bakersfield. We love having you here and hope to see you again in the future.
Thank You
Sandie Carwtright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

My husband and I were on our way to the Sequoia National Park and we wanted to stop for the evening. We booked on line, and drove to the hotel. The check in was quick , the staff was very nice, and the Lobby, Elevator, hallways and our room sparkled. We wanted supper and all we had to do is to go out the door and walk a few yards to Denny's. We walked back to the hotel and settled in for a peaceful nights rest. The next morning we had a nice hot breakfast, checked out and the staff told us to take a complimentary breakfast bag for a snack during our travels. This hotel is a gem in Bakersfield CA.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo P, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield/Hwy 58, CA, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your great response to your stay here with us. We are glad you enjoed your stay and hope to see you again.
Thank You
sandie Cartwright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield/Hwy 58, CA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield/Hwy 58, CA

Address: 7941 East Brundage Lane, Bakersfield, CA 93307
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Bakersfield
#10 Business Hotel in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield/Hwy 58, CA 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brand new Hampton Inn and Suites Bakersfield is a upgraded property with outstanding service and superior accomodations. The moment you walk into the friendly open lobby of this property, you sense the unique ambiance and quality. With 64 traditional rooms and 30 spacious suites, the inn provides high-end amenities, complete with friendly staff. Our famous Cloud Nine bedding provides ultimate in comfort for a restful sleep. We are minutes from downtown and great shopping opportunities. The Hampton Inn and Suites Bakersfield prides itself on the many dining options within walking distance, including Denny's directly adjacent to the property. All suites feature a wet bar with a microwave, and refrigerator. Our Suites are enticing to families traveling or other business travelers seeking high quality. An in-room desk and complimentary high-speed Internet access are standard. The Hampton Inn and Suites Bakersfield serves a "Hot on the House" complimentary breakfast from 6 to 10 AM daily and provides on the go breakfast bags during the week. A large meeting room with space for up to 65 suitable for corporate retreats or small meetings. Of special interest are the large outdoor heated pool and spa providing a welcome break from your long day. We also feature a fitness room, a 24-hour Business Center, a 24-hour suite shop. The Hampton Inn and Suites Bakersfield is directly off the freeway providing excellent location to downtown or other exciting stopping points in Bakersfield. We look forward to seeing you at the all new Hampton Inn and Suites Bakersfield...we love having you here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield/Hwy 58, CA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield/Hwy 58, Ca Hotel Bakersfield
Hampton Inn And Suites Bakersfield/Hwy 58, Ca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield/Hwy 58, CA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.