We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis In The Valley” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Padre Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Padre Hotel to your Saves list
Padre Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1702 18th Street, Bakersfield, CA 93301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
$10 in Belvedere Room
Ranked #2 of 59 Hotels in Bakersfield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boise, Idaho
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Oasis In The Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

This is the place to stay when visiting Bakersfield. The staff in the hotel were some of the most courteous personnel I have ever encountered. The chef was accommodating and allowed eating from the restaurant menu in the bar area. Emily took care of the table for our party, she assisted working with the chef. She also was able to find a special bottle of wine for us to enjoy with our great meal. Chris who works in the Farmacy Café Is one of the most pleasant people one could ever care to meet. Valet parking staff and room cleaning staff were phenoms.Music on Thursday night is great!!!!. One of the Valet attendants who I think Josh was his name. He had early shift on Saturday morning August16. I lost his name but great job. Beds are the best for sleeping. GREAT JOB ALL!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2014
Hi Alan F, thank you for the review. It's great to hear our team was able to make your visit so memorable. Your compliments have been shared with the team and we certainly enjoy the title "Oasis in the Valley"> Thank you, and we hope you can visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    112
    34
    11
    15
See reviews for
54
225
29
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Stopped here July 25, 2014 for a one night stay on 8th floor. Exterior is of course historic; but the interior has an upscale, modern and trendy feel. Best feature: the comfort of the beds and clean linens. I don't think I've slept in a more comfortable hotel bed!

Lively bar action on first floor, very popular with the local, working professionals.

The hotel is west of the highly rated Basque restaurant, "Wool Growers," and west of the line of antique stores (short drives). Check out the Kern County Museum if you have a chance, nice Pioneer Village.

Room Tip: Go a few levels higher than the nightclub for a good night's rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2014
Hi Mary W! Thank you for the review. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed yourself while visiting, and that our luxury beds left such a lasting impression. We hope you can visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We found this hotel by TA as usual and we were delighted by our choice
The hotel was excellent , the room nice and clean .
All the staff members were truly friendly and helpful with indication about were to go for dinner or other question

Only the location seemed to us not good , maybe was just out impression, as it seemed to be a not so sure zone
But it can be a wrong impression as we stayed only one night

The breakfast was not included in the rate , so we had one at the excellent 24th street cafe

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2014
Hi Sc2111! Thank you for the review. We hope you can visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

From the time we checked in outstanding customer service was the norm. We had the best dinner at the Belvadere to drinks rooftop perfect sleep In the stylish clean beyond comfort rooms To all too soon check out and the valets Eli, Joe, and Hector. Thank you so much for making us feel special

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Hi Julia S, thank you for the review! I will be sure to share your compliments with our outstanding valet team. We hope you can visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

I travel weekly for business throughout the weird little towns in California, always on the lookout for an alternative to the Holiday Inn Express, often dissappointed by something like the Ione Hotel and happy when I can find something like the Mission Inn in Riverside or Harris Ranch in Coalinga. I had always assumed there would be nothing in Bakersfield. But I couldn't so another Hampton Inn or Clarion, so I ventured to downtown and found the Padre, what the hell. Quite a surprise: it was chic, the sheets had to be Egyptian, the service was great and every kind of eating experience was immediately available in the hotel. Wonderful work desk in the room and details throughout were flawless.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Hi Douglaskorpi, thank you for the review. I'm so happy you found us! We are looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Our visit began with a touch of heat stroke, that was dealt with by the staff in a unexpectedly professional & caring manner. Despite this hiccup, the remainder of our visit surpassed our expectations. The room , a "Head Honcho" suite on the 6th floor, was the biggest, plushest & best equipped of our 12-hotel California adventure. The high quality of this accommodation was amazing considering the remarkably low price we paid.
Admittedly, Bakersfield might not be first on your list of cities to visit but if for any reason you decide to go there, this is THE place to stay.

Room Tip: Head Honcho - end of.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Hi Dave S.

Thank you for this review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to California, despite the extreme heat! We hope you are well and enjoying the cooler weather across the pond. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

I don't leave reviews very often, not really my thing, but my recent stay with the Padre Hotel compelled me to do so. From the friendly staff who checked me in, to the great food and atmosphere of the bar, to the eventual slumber in one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in, my stay was excellent.

As a Bakersfield native, I know how desperately this city needed a venue like the Padre. I have been frequenting the hotel for a few years now, and I can't say enough good about the place. If my friends and I want to go out, the Padre is almost always the go-to choice. It really is hard to compare the Padre to any other hotel/bar in town - they are just on another level.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for the review, Robert! The Padre Team enjoys hearing from our guests. We hope you can visit again and enjoy all of our fun specials this summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Padre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Padre Hotel

Address: 1702 18th Street, Bakersfield, CA 93301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 59 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Padre Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Padre Hotel is located in the heart of Downtown Bakersfield. We are very close to Rabo Bank Arena, the Fox Theater and the arts district. The Padre was built in 1928 and remodeled completely in 2010. The rooms are amazing; you will want to take one our beds home with you. We cannot wait to see you at the Padre! The Padre team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Padre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Padre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.