We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only problem the location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Padre Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Padre Hotel to your Saves list
Padre Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1702 18th Street, Bakersfield, CA 93301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 59 Hotels in Bakersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Only problem the location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We found this hotel by TA as usual and we were delighted by our choice
The hotel was excellent , the room nice and clean .
All the staff members were truly friendly and helpful with indication about were to go for dinner or other question

Only the location seemed to us not good , maybe was just out impression, as it seemed to be a not so sure zone
But it can be a wrong impression as we stayed only one night

The breakfast was not included in the rate , so we had one at the excellent 24th street cafe

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2014
Hi Sc2111! Thank you for the review. We hope you can visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    129
    35
    12
    15
See reviews for
60
240
31
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

From the time we checked in outstanding customer service was the norm. We had the best dinner at the Belvadere to drinks rooftop perfect sleep In the stylish clean beyond comfort rooms To all too soon check out and the valets Eli, Joe, and Hector. Thank you so much for making us feel special

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Hi Julia S, thank you for the review! I will be sure to share your compliments with our outstanding valet team. We hope you can visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

I travel weekly for business throughout the weird little towns in California, always on the lookout for an alternative to the Holiday Inn Express, often dissappointed by something like the Ione Hotel and happy when I can find something like the Mission Inn in Riverside or Harris Ranch in Coalinga. I had always assumed there would be nothing in Bakersfield. But I couldn't so another Hampton Inn or Clarion, so I ventured to downtown and found the Padre, what the hell. Quite a surprise: it was chic, the sheets had to be Egyptian, the service was great and every kind of eating experience was immediately available in the hotel. Wonderful work desk in the room and details throughout were flawless.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Hi Douglaskorpi, thank you for the review. I'm so happy you found us! We are looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Our visit began with a touch of heat stroke, that was dealt with by the staff in a unexpectedly professional & caring manner. Despite this hiccup, the remainder of our visit surpassed our expectations. The room , a "Head Honcho" suite on the 6th floor, was the biggest, plushest & best equipped of our 12-hotel California adventure. The high quality of this accommodation was amazing considering the remarkably low price we paid.
Admittedly, Bakersfield might not be first on your list of cities to visit but if for any reason you decide to go there, this is THE place to stay.

Room Tip: Head Honcho - end of.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Hi Dave S.

Thank you for this review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to California, despite the extreme heat! We hope you are well and enjoying the cooler weather across the pond. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

I don't leave reviews very often, not really my thing, but my recent stay with the Padre Hotel compelled me to do so. From the friendly staff who checked me in, to the great food and atmosphere of the bar, to the eventual slumber in one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in, my stay was excellent.

As a Bakersfield native, I know how desperately this city needed a venue like the Padre. I have been frequenting the hotel for a few years now, and I can't say enough good about the place. If my friends and I want to go out, the Padre is almost always the go-to choice. It really is hard to compare the Padre to any other hotel/bar in town - they are just on another level.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for the review, Robert! The Padre Team enjoys hearing from our guests. We hope you can visit again and enjoy all of our fun specials this summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

This hotel is really nice. The exterior and lobby deliver a very contemporary feel and the decor in my room was nice as well. Overall my stay at the Padre was a good one, there were a few caveats that were a little annoying but bearable. So this is my pros and cons list:

Pros:
- courteous and friendly staff. I scheduled a wake up call at 5:30 am but had woken up a little before then and was in the shower. When I failed to pick up the phone the front desk clerk actually came up to my room and knocked on my door...what service!
- nice decor, clean and comfortable. Beds and pillows are super soft and plush (this might be a con for some who like a firmer bed).

Cons:
- the temperature in my room never got cold. Even though it said 69, it definitely felt like 78.
- the gym in the basement is a joke. It's about as small as my room and was hot as an oven when I tried working out. Called it quits after 20 min.
- parking at this hotel is non-existent so be prepared to pay the $10 a day for valet service. There is street level parking around the hotel but they tow between 2am - 4am.

I might try out the food and have some drinks tonight so I'll keep you updated on what comes out of that.

Bakersfield maybe the armpit of California but staying at the Padre definitely makes it a little more bearable.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Hello Truong N, thank you for the helpful review. Your feedback regarding the room temperature and the fitness center will be addressed immediately. We appreciate the opportunity for improvement and are happy to hear the rest of your visit went well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised to find a 4 star hotel in Bakersfield when we were visiting for a wedding! This hotel exceeded expectations! From it's spectacular decor and comfort, to it's amazing service! We also loved that prices were not outrageous and everywhere you went you felt the value- whether that be in the value of the rooms themselves or the room service and dining options! The only items that were a bit on the higher end could be found at the bar. But room service certainly made up for that fact. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is willing to shell out just a bit more than the marriot that is also local with the intention of enjoying a high class luxurious stay! I'd also highly recommend it to any couples celebrating their wedding in Bakersfield as the suites are awesome! And there are some great photo ops to be had there! Any couples really will get a kick out of the massive bathrooms and huge and extremely comfortable beds. When checking in I highly recommend that you request a floor that is higher up as the night club is very noisy on the weekend.

Room Tip: At check in request a room higher up to avoid the noise from the weekend night club. Also see if any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Hi Christina! Thank you for the review and the awesome photos! We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to the Padre. We hope you can come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
5.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bakersfield
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill House
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill House
#13 of 59 in Bakersfield
4.0 of 5 stars 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
#9 of 59 in Bakersfield
4.0 of 5 stars 315 reviews
5.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Padre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Padre Hotel

Address: 1702 18th Street, Bakersfield, CA 93301
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 59 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Padre Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Padre Hotel is located in the heart of Downtown Bakersfield. We are very close to Rabo Bank Arena, the Fox Theater and the arts district. The Padre was built in 1928 and remodeled completely in 2010. The rooms are amazing; you will want to take one our beds home with you. We cannot wait to see you at the Padre! The Padre team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Padre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Padre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.