We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful old hotel with a very modern look now.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Padre Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Padre Hotel to your Saves list
Padre Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1702 18th Street, Bakersfield, CA 93301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
$10 in Belvedere Room
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Bakersfield
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful old hotel with a very modern look now.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

The building is original but the rooms are very contemporary. I would stay there again in a heartbeat. I left something in the hotel room by mistake when I checked out. They called that afternoon to let me know and arranged to mail it immediately. Friendly staff, valet parking.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Hi Talleyhooo,

Thanks for choosing to stay at the Padre and for the review. The friendly front desk agents are always going above and beyond to ensure our guests are having a great time, even after they've left! We hope you can visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    106
    32
    11
    15
See reviews for
53
211
29
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

It's not health food but I highly recommend the chicken and waffles and the bottomless mimosas. The chilaquiles and the biscuits and gravy are the best in town. The food is fabulous. The service is mediocre when it comes to attentiveness. The hotel has beautiful rooms if you have an excuse to stay.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Hi EngineerTiffany, thank you for the review. Bakersfield really has some stiff competition when it comes to brunch, but the Padre brunch is one of a kind. The chilaquiles are my favorite, but with such a dynamic menu it is really hard to choose! We hope you can come back soon for a full visit in our rooms. It's a great staycation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California Desert, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We recently booked a large block of rooms at the Padre for out of town guests attending our daughters wedding. While I have eaten at the restaurants many times, I had never been in the rooms since we live in the area. I was impressed with the quality of the furnishings, decor and amenities. Our guests that stayed there came from New York, Washington DC and all over California. Everyone that we talked to raved about their stay and several said it was the best boutique hotel that they had stayed in anywhere. It is truly a gem. In addition to the Padre's fine restaurants and bar, it is conveniently located close to several great restaurants, bars and boutique shopping.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Hello Jltho,

Thank you so much for the review and the compliments. I hope everyone enjoyed themselves at the wedding celebration! We hope you can celebrate another great time at the Padre soon. Don't be a stranger!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, USA
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We visit Bakersfield once a month and we always stay at the Marriott, but this time the hotel was fully booked and we decided to stay at the Padre. We had been to the Belvedere restaurant, but we had never stayed at the hotel, so we were looking forward to it since the reviews are great and guests were happy w/ their staying.
The hotel is very charming. It's beautifully decorated, clean, the staff were very cordial and professional. It has a nightclub, a bar, the Belvedere restaurant has great food and it's a "hip" location to hang out. There is also a tiny gym in the basement. However, there is no parking unless you valet or find a spot on the streets. We went up to our room which was spacious, clean with a modern bathroom. We started unpacking and inside the closet there was a used robe on the closet floor. OK, maybe the housekeeping staff forgot to check the closet. In the bathroom there was only ONE towel... Hmm... After a long drive, I was tired and started to get annoyed. We called downstairs, they apologized, sent us clean robes and towels, and also gave us complementary drinks which we appreciated. Our room faced this outdoor bar on the second floor which gets sort of loud (we were on the 7th floor), but I figured, this is a nice, hip hotel and people come here (locals or not) to have a good time. Saturday comes and we come back to the room after spending the whole day out. The music at the outdoor bar was blasting! It was really loud! I thought maybe it would stop at 10 PM, but no, at 11 PM I called the front desk to ask how long this party would last and they informed me it was a fundraising event and it would go until 11:30 PM. Seriously?? And they could not have informed us when we checked in?? Or given us an option of a room towards the opposite side of the building?? By then I was very unhappy! I was leaving early the next day and I couldn't even sleep at a decent hour because of the music blasting downstairs! Maybe it was just an unlucky stay, but I definitely won't come back. I will come back to have dinner at the Belvedere, but not as a guest at the hotel.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms facing the outdoor bar on the second floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Hello Daba2010, thank you for your review! We appreciate your feedback and are using it as a learning tool for our team. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the Belvedere fine dining restaurant and our luxury rooms. The housekeeping issues have been brought to the attention of the housekeeping manager, who is working to ensure it does not happen again. It sounds like you visited during the Tigerfight Fundraising event, which was a private event raising funds for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society. The event had the hotel sold out and partying well into the evening. We are very sorry your first experience at the Padre was not what you expected. I invite you to stay with us again and I will personally make sure your visit is the best experience you will ever have at a hotel. Please feel free to contact me when you wish to visit the area again.

Jennifer Johnson
Hotel Manager
661-427-4900
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

In the void of nice hotels here, The Padre Hotel is quite nice. Very much like a W, it's got a very cool vibe. The bar area is cool, a throwback to a saloon back in the day. The rooms are nice and spacious and decorated nicely. The bed is phenomenal; one of the most comfortable beds I've slept in! If I'm in the area, I will stay again.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor on the side street side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Hi Matts2869, thank you for the review! It's great that you were able to enjoy the fun and delicious restaurants during your visit. Our beds are easily the most luxurious beds you will find, and we hope you return to us soon for another great experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

My wife and I usually stop at The Padre enroute to Las Vegas. Rooms are very nice and clean. Restaurant and bar serves great food and have a decent wine list that we have enjoyed. We have stayed in other hotel in Bakersfield and there is no comparison. Period.

Room Tip: We like the corner rooms. Its large and comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
AllenT411, thank you for taking the time to write a review! We love hearing from all of our guests. Our variety of dining options is a great way to experience the best of Bakersfield. We hope you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This is one of the nicest hotels on our trip so far. Although we booked at discounted rate via Hotwire, we got a corner room on the highest floor. Very spacy, nice views, good (Tempura) beds. The hotel itself was recently built and it shows... It has a hip coffee bar (where you can have breakfast as well), a nice restaurant, and the rooms and overall interior is nicely designed for once. Not the typical "default" wallpaper, carpeting, lobby, ... you see in almost all hotels, but geniously original and nice. Staff was extremy friendly without being pushy, we felt at home immediately. Very fast internet too by the way.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Frankandsophie, thank you so much for the review! The Padre team goes above and beyond to make everyone feel welcome at their 'home away from home'. It's hard not to fall in love with the beds, and the rich history of the Padre and it's recent renovation lend a unique backdrop to every visit. We hope you can find your way to the Padre again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Padre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Padre Hotel

Address: 1702 18th Street, Bakersfield, CA 93301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Padre Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Padre Hotel is located in the heart of Downtown Bakersfield. We are very close to Rabo Bank Arena, the Fox Theater and the arts district. The Padre was built in 1928 and remodeled completely in 2010. The rooms are amazing; you will want to take one our beds home with you. We cannot wait to see you at the Padre! The Padre team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Padre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Padre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.