We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! What a joint!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Padre Hotel

Save Saved
You added Padre Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Padre Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1702 18th Street, Bakersfield, CA 93301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Weekend Room Upgrade
Ranked #2 of 57 hotels in Bakersfield
Kernville, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wow! What a joint!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My wife and I have heard such great things about the Padre, we finally got an opportunity to stay there And I can tell you everything we heard was absolutely true. We did little Internet research and found the deluxe king suite on booking.com for less than $100 on Sunday. The hotel is very modern and trendy and this is easily a $300 a night room just down the road Hollywood. The entire hotel has a hip young atmosphere, the rooms are outfitted in beautiful furniture the bed was incredibly comfortable, the view from the 7th floor overlooking downtown Bakersfield was nice, and the staff was friendly and helpful. There is only one downside and that is parking. You pretty much have to valet because there is no affiliated parking lot and street parking has late night restrictions. STAY HERE!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for the review, Mike! The Padre is a popular destination for those traveling through the area, but it's always wonderful to hear from the locals as well! We hope you get to come visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    319
    83
    28
    11
    11
See reviews for
48
177
26
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Loveland, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has beautiful newly designed modern rooms, feather bedding, great food and friendly, courteous staff. There is a great outdoor roof top bar on second floor and coffee shop on main floor.
I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Hello! Thanks for the 5 star review! We certainly do enjoy hearing about all of the different aspects of the Padre our guests enjoy. Prairie Fire and Farmacy are definitely some of the most popular spots in Downtown Bakersfield for both visitors and locals, so we are happy you got to experience them. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I stayed here in May last year but have only just registered and had to write a review about this hotel. I hadn't been to Bakersfield before and researched hotels on here first - the Padre came out tops and it is well deserved.

I am used to staying in over-priced and decidedly average hotels in the US on business but this place is a real gem. A real boutique hotel with great rooms, great food, a nice bar and great service.

Highly recommended for business or pleasure and if I find myself back in Bakersfield there is not doubt as to where I will be staying.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Wow, thanks so much for taking the time to write this review! We love that you had such a great time, even on a business trip. We hope you can come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

On arrival impressive hotel deco is stunning and modern but still keeping the charm.
Food amazing, good service from waiter, but when settling the bill it's was a farce, slow and ignored had to prompt them twice to get the bill from host desk. Shame as the meal was so good. Bar was busy and full if life. Being in the 8th floor didn't hear the music or people that we were warned about. Only problem for me was memory foam mattress I hate them and so had a poor nights sleep. All in all great place to stay for a bit of luxury on a road trip.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for the review! Your feedback is much appreciated. On your next visit let us know your bed preference and we will be happy to remove the memory foam bedtopper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had a fantastic welcome when we arrived at the hotel - greatly appreciated after an 8-hour car journey! The rooms were gorgeous - spacious, comfortable, lovely bed and bed linen. The hotel is a lively spot and there's a great buzz in the bar, where food is tasty and reasonably priced. A water cooler in the lobby would be a welcome addition. Overall, we'd highly recommend the Padre Hotel to travellers. What was supposed to be a stopover en route to the coast became a highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for the 5 star review! It makes the Padre team very happy to hear that our guests enjoy their stay; it's especially great to hear that it was the highlight of a trip! We hope you enjoyed the rest of your visit to the states and hope that you can make a return visit. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed here a couple times. NIce hotel. Comfortable rooms, clean easy to get to and street and self parking is plentiful. Good bar. However, the rate you pay does not justify these amenities in comparison to other hotels in town. I started staying at the Marriott Convention Center where the rooms are much bigger (The Padre Rooms are much like European which could reflect the SRO it once was---or has the feel of). I'd stay here again but only if the Marriott were full. The value just isn't there

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for the review. We hope that you can return to the Padre and enjoy the variety of food venues and activities in the area. The Padre takes pride in being unique to Bakersfield, as well as a historical of downtown. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Excellent hotel! Gorgeous rooms, helpful staff, great vibe. Would definitely stay again. They booked us a table at Buck Owen's Crystal Palace too - unmissable. Good location for gas, food, freeways. Only spent one night as on a 1800 mile road trip but pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for the 5 star review. I'm glad the hotel was a highlight of your trip, we only wish you could have stayed more than one night!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Padre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Padre Hotel

Address: 1702 18th Street, Bakersfield, CA 93301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 57 hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Padre Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Padre Hotel is located in the heart of Downtown Bakersfield. We are very close to Rabo Bank Arena, the Fox Theater and the arts district. The Padre was built in 1928 and remodeled completely in 2010. The rooms are amazing; you will want to take one our beds home with you. We cannot wait to see you at the Padre! The Padre team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Padre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Padre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.