We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Urban chic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Padre Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Padre Hotel to your Saves list
Padre Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1702 18th Street, Bakersfield, CA 93301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Bakersfield
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Urban chic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

On arrival impressive hotel deco is stunning and modern but still keeping the charm.
Food amazing, good service from waiter, but when settling the bill it's was a farce, slow and ignored had to prompt them twice to get the bill from host desk. Shame as the meal was so good. Bar was busy and full if life. Being in the 8th floor didn't hear the music or people that we were warned about. Only problem for me was memory foam mattress I hate them and so had a poor nights sleep. All in all great place to stay for a bit of luxury on a road trip.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for the review! Your feedback is much appreciated. On your next visit let us know your bed preference and we will be happy to remove the memory foam bedtopper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    105
    32
    11
    15
See reviews for
53
204
29
131
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had a fantastic welcome when we arrived at the hotel - greatly appreciated after an 8-hour car journey! The rooms were gorgeous - spacious, comfortable, lovely bed and bed linen. The hotel is a lively spot and there's a great buzz in the bar, where food is tasty and reasonably priced. A water cooler in the lobby would be a welcome addition. Overall, we'd highly recommend the Padre Hotel to travellers. What was supposed to be a stopover en route to the coast became a highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for the 5 star review! It makes the Padre team very happy to hear that our guests enjoy their stay; it's especially great to hear that it was the highlight of a trip! We hope you enjoyed the rest of your visit to the states and hope that you can make a return visit. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed here a couple times. NIce hotel. Comfortable rooms, clean easy to get to and street and self parking is plentiful. Good bar. However, the rate you pay does not justify these amenities in comparison to other hotels in town. I started staying at the Marriott Convention Center where the rooms are much bigger (The Padre Rooms are much like European which could reflect the SRO it once was---or has the feel of). I'd stay here again but only if the Marriott were full. The value just isn't there

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for the review. We hope that you can return to the Padre and enjoy the variety of food venues and activities in the area. The Padre takes pride in being unique to Bakersfield, as well as a historical of downtown. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Excellent hotel! Gorgeous rooms, helpful staff, great vibe. Would definitely stay again. They booked us a table at Buck Owen's Crystal Palace too - unmissable. Good location for gas, food, freeways. Only spent one night as on a 1800 mile road trip but pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for the 5 star review. I'm glad the hotel was a highlight of your trip, we only wish you could have stayed more than one night!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised to find such a wonderfully remodeled historic hotel in downtown Bakersfield. My friends and I arrived mid-week for a graduation, so it wasn't until our last night that we saw how busy the bar was with locals on weekends. That evening I did hear a lot of loud talking and laughing in the hallway, but thankfully it didn't last long. The rooms are very nice and modern, with a unique bathroom, at least in the smaller rooms. My only complaint is that the lighting in the bathroom is very, very dim, and even the addition of a lighted magnifying mirror didn't help my older eyes. The restaurant had a good variety of bar food and happy hour started at noon, which is unusual but appreciated. Overall, it was a very good visit, but being with my friends probably had a lot to do with that opinion. Oh, and be prepared to get a new room/elevator card often.

Room Tip: Get a room on the highest floor you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Sounds like you got to experience all of what the Padre has to offer! So glad you enjoyed your time here. Thank you for the kind words- hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berthoud
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

A trip to Bakersfield is no thrill, but the Padre Hotel makes it into a pleasure. What a magnificent remodel of a historical property! The rooms are spacious, beautifully furnished, and have a modern vibe. The architects and designers really thought this one out, down to the color of the tiles and curtains. The hotel has three restaurants and an excellent coffee bar, making the lobby a lively, inviting place, an oasis in a rather lifeless downtown. The beds and pillows are extremely comfortable, and my mid-week stay was undisturbed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
So good to hear you had a blast on your way through Bakersfield! Thank you for the kind words and we all hope you get to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed here on a road trip. Hotel has been beautifully remodelled. Decor is funky and modern. Room was comfortable, clean and quiet (we were on the 7th floor). There is a small but adequate fitness centre which we used twice. Bar area is very lively and was packed with what seemed like locals on the night we visited. There is a popular pool table in the bar area! We ate from the bar menu and the food was great. Service was friendly and efficient. The Padre hotel was a nice surprise and is good value for the standard of accommodation that you get.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for the 5 Star review! Our property is continually trying to outdo itself and we are so glad that you enjoyed your visit! Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Padre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Padre Hotel

Address: 1702 18th Street, Bakersfield, CA 93301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Padre Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Padre Hotel is located in the heart of Downtown Bakersfield. We are very close to Rabo Bank Arena, the Fox Theater and the arts district. The Padre was built in 1928 and remodeled completely in 2010. The rooms are amazing; you will want to take one our beds home with you. We cannot wait to see you at the Padre! The Padre team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Padre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Padre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.