We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place But...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Padre Hotel

Save Saved
You added Padre Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Padre Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1702 18th Street, Bakersfield, CA 93301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 57 hotels in Bakersfield
Los Angeles
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice Place But...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed here a couple times. NIce hotel. Comfortable rooms, clean easy to get to and street and self parking is plentiful. Good bar. However, the rate you pay does not justify these amenities in comparison to other hotels in town. I started staying at the Marriott Convention Center where the rooms are much bigger (The Padre Rooms are much like European which could reflect the SRO it once was---or has the feel of). I'd stay here again but only if the Marriott were full. The value just isn't there

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for the review. We hope that you can return to the Padre and enjoy the variety of food venues and activities in the area. The Padre takes pride in being unique to Bakersfield, as well as a historical of downtown. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    326
    91
    30
    11
    11
See reviews for
49
185
26
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Deal, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Excellent hotel! Gorgeous rooms, helpful staff, great vibe. Would definitely stay again. They booked us a table at Buck Owen's Crystal Palace too - unmissable. Good location for gas, food, freeways. Only spent one night as on a 1800 mile road trip but pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for the 5 star review. I'm glad the hotel was a highlight of your trip, we only wish you could have stayed more than one night!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised to find such a wonderfully remodeled historic hotel in downtown Bakersfield. My friends and I arrived mid-week for a graduation, so it wasn't until our last night that we saw how busy the bar was with locals on weekends. That evening I did hear a lot of loud talking and laughing in the hallway, but thankfully it didn't last long. The rooms are very nice and modern, with a unique bathroom, at least in the smaller rooms. My only complaint is that the lighting in the bathroom is very, very dim, and even the addition of a lighted magnifying mirror didn't help my older eyes. The restaurant had a good variety of bar food and happy hour started at noon, which is unusual but appreciated. Overall, it was a very good visit, but being with my friends probably had a lot to do with that opinion. Oh, and be prepared to get a new room/elevator card often.

Room Tip: Get a room on the highest floor you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Sounds like you got to experience all of what the Padre has to offer! So glad you enjoyed your time here. Thank you for the kind words- hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berthoud
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

A trip to Bakersfield is no thrill, but the Padre Hotel makes it into a pleasure. What a magnificent remodel of a historical property! The rooms are spacious, beautifully furnished, and have a modern vibe. The architects and designers really thought this one out, down to the color of the tiles and curtains. The hotel has three restaurants and an excellent coffee bar, making the lobby a lively, inviting place, an oasis in a rather lifeless downtown. The beds and pillows are extremely comfortable, and my mid-week stay was undisturbed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
So good to hear you had a blast on your way through Bakersfield! Thank you for the kind words and we all hope you get to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed here on a road trip. Hotel has been beautifully remodelled. Decor is funky and modern. Room was comfortable, clean and quiet (we were on the 7th floor). There is a small but adequate fitness centre which we used twice. Bar area is very lively and was packed with what seemed like locals on the night we visited. There is a popular pool table in the bar area! We ate from the bar menu and the food was great. Service was friendly and efficient. The Padre hotel was a nice surprise and is good value for the standard of accommodation that you get.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for the 5 Star review! Our property is continually trying to outdo itself and we are so glad that you enjoyed your visit! Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guezou
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

OK i start with the one thing I didn't like : the A/C was noisy.

But on the other hand, the Padre was a divine surprise. Beautiful rooms; confortable beds, great bar on the patio, and the remodelling they did is clean, impressive and fun.

I will stay here again as we were very nicely accomodated and the staff was very helpful and nice. It worked for us as a family and I am positive it would be nice for singles as the bar in the lobby was crowded with happy shinny people and it seemed to me like a nice pick up place.

Then congratulations again for this great place in the middle of nowhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thanks for the review! It's great to hear your family enjoyed the Padre. We have a lot to offer for everyone. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great place to stay, and enjoy the night life, lots of local downtown bars available the hotel itself offers several bars, and places to eat.
After a night hitting the local bars we came back to a very busy, bar scene - night club as we entered the lobby, it wasn't our scene since it was mainly a younger crowd, everyone seemed to be enjoining themselfs. I sure if you booked the lower floors, you could have enjoyed the music until closing time. As for my wife and I we chose the higher floors & we had no problem with those enjoying the nightlife (since they do tell you the bottom 2 floors of rooms will be noisy until closing time).
As a building inspector I have seen many remodels, and this was one of the best I have ever seen, what a great concept.

Room Tip: We will be back
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for the review! We are so happy you enjoyed your time here and hope you get to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Padre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Padre Hotel

Address: 1702 18th Street, Bakersfield, CA 93301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 57 hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Padre Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Padre Hotel is located in the heart of Downtown Bakersfield. We are very close to Rabo Bank Arena, the Fox Theater and the arts district. The Padre was built in 1928 and remodeled completely in 2010. The rooms are amazing; you will want to take one our beds home with you. We cannot wait to see you at the Padre! The Padre team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Padre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Padre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.