We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Pile of Amateur Dumbness” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Padre Hotel

Save Saved
You added Padre Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Padre Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1702 18th Street, Bakersfield, CA 93301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 57 hotels in Bakersfield
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Pile of Amateur Dumbness”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have never seen such a beautifully restored building, run by such a gaggle of dummies. The restoration of this hotel is really over-the-top. From custom designed wallpaper, fixtures, common areas, the aesthetic of the place is pure boutique. But make the mistake of hoping to be served in a timely manner, or with a modicum of politeness is something you can't expect here. On one night, they up-charged my whisky an extra $2.00 for ordering it neat! NEAT! When I highlighted the nuttiness to the bar manager, he argued with me, telling me "you specifically ordered it neat". Dumb-ness!
Also, when I booked the room, I reserved an upgraded "Maverick" room for an extra cost. As a repeating guest I asked if any upgrades may be available, they enthusiastically informed me that I had been upgraded to a Maverick room. Even though I had paid for the premium, they considered that to still be an upgrade. I could go on and on about their dumbness and poor service, but you get the gist. It's a remarkable property, with remarkably dumb attitudes and behaviours. Amateurs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmThePadre, General Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
I am sorry our amazing staff, as you have seen from all of our 5 star reviews, did not make your stay perfect. We do look forward to seeing you again soon.
Matthew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    317
    84
    29
    11
    11
See reviews for
48
178
26
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I don't know what kind of mattress that was but I sure slept like a newborn baby! That alone gives this hotel two thumbs up from me. But to go on about the perks, its right in the heart of downtown, so everything is in walking distance, dining, restaurants, clubs, bars, museums, tattoo, novelty shopping, boutiques, salon, you name it, you can walk to it! There's a cool hang out downstairs, Brimstone, they've got premium drinks, pool table, chill atmosphere. Back to the rooms...there was Aquatics brand toiletries that were exquisite, the glass shower wall looks out into the bedroom ( I thought that was super sexy) and you can watch the news while showering...Lol!

Overall 2 thumbs up!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmThePadre, General Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Every day is another opportunity for us to make every guest stay amazing, thank you for staying with us!
Matthew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I recently stayed at the Padre Hotel for business. This is a great hotel! The restaurant and the service was first rate! The hotel and the people there were very nice and made me feel like I was somewhere other than Bakersfield. My overall stay was GREAT!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmThePadre, General Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
We are #1 in Bakersfield, and thank you so much for staying with us.
Matthew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San DIego
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We came up for the Old Crow Medicine Show Concert at Buck Owens Palace - had a great time. Stayed at the hotel and it's very nice. We got back from the show and we surprised to find out our room, on the 4th floor, was right above a dance club and it was crazy loud. Mgt did switch rooms for us, but inconvenient at 11pm. Thus said, we enjoyed our time here. Our room was not ready when we got here. Had to wait half hour.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmThePadre, General Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
We look forward to seeing you again, thanks for staying at Padre.
Matthew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgecrest, California, USA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is remodeled hotel with nice updates. We were on the 7th floor which is a suite with a desperate seating area from the bedroom and bath. A very large shower and sink area, but poor lighting (low amount of light) which was the reason for the one star reduction along with the crowds in the downstairs bar on Sat. The bar/clubs in the Padre was very popular on a Sat night. Great if you are younger and looking for something to do, but can be overwhelming when you return late at night and the lobby has lines for the bars and elevator. Guess do have priority. BTW no parking close so valet parking is $10 and line can be long depending the time of the day. Our bed was soft, but that can be good for some and bad for others. It did have very nice bedding and pillows.
Bottom-line is it is a very nice property in downtown Bakersfield with a retro feel, but very updated. Something to consider as a nice change from the nearby Marriott.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmThePadre, General Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us, we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Matthew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nipomo, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Went there for a Bakersfield wedding, had no idea what to expect. When I lived in Bakersfield (fifteen years ago) this wasn't a popular area, but I wanted the hotel room to be in the same location as the wedding and the wedding party insisted the hotel was fabulous. They were right! The room was huge, we needed a cot and they were super quick in the delivery/set up of the cot. The room was very clean, and comfortable, the beds were comfortable. The service was stupendous! Valet service is only $10.00 per day if you stay at the hotel, inexpensive and well worth it because it's difficult finding parking surrounding the building. You can charge the valet to the room. We stayed two nights - the first night we had dinner in the Belvadere, and second night at the wedding. The breakfast after the second night was at the Farmacy. The Belvadere steak was delish! The Farmacy had a couch / coffee table set up we sat at for breakfast, and ordered a light breakfast before heading out. We didn't come across any ghosts (I insisted we not hear ghost stories until we got home so we (husband and I along with two young boys) weren't spooked!) Overall, a wonderful stay! One last note: the wedding location was also fabulous, on the second floor balcony. Check into this venue if you're planning your wedding!

Room Tip: Oops, I rated 'swimming pool' and it won't let me remove it... there is no swimming pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmThePadre, General Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for joining the Padre family, we look forward to seeing you soon!
Matthew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Apparently this older building was a derelict for several years before the city and a private hotelier worked out a plan to rehabilitate it in 2009. The results justify the effort; in terms of comfort, convenience, and downtown location this place is unbeatable. The entire staff seems to be genuinely concerned for the welfare of visitors. I'll post elsewhere about the hotel's excellent Belvedere restaurant, but it's consistent with the overall attention to detail. The thick old walls ensured us of a quiet Saturday night's sleep despite a "bachelorette's party" in the next room. The only negative was the "honor bar" stuffed with items like an $80 bottle of whiskey; the refrigerator was so full of expensive beverages we had to move several out (very carefully) to put our water bottles in to chill. But that was a small matter.

Room Tip: Not about rooms, but the $10 a night valet parking service stores your vehicle at a city lot across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmThePadre, General Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Padre is a wonderful rebirth of an amazing historic gem here in Bakersfield. Thank you!
Matthew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Padre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Padre Hotel

Address: 1702 18th Street, Bakersfield, CA 93301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 57 hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Padre Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Padre Hotel is located in the heart of Downtown Bakersfield. We are very close to Rabo Bank Arena, the Fox Theater and the arts district. The Padre was built in 1928 and remodeled completely in 2010. The rooms are amazing; you will want to take one our beds home with you. We cannot wait to see you at the Padre! The Padre team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Padre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Padre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.